We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$184*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #4 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Worth a visit but it's a bit on the expensive side and no guarantee of seeing any animals.
Getting in to the Park is a bit of an ordeal as you have to buy Safari Cards in the booking office which you then present to get into the Park & unlucky if the booking office has made a mistake; it takes ages to sort out!

There are few ways you can take a tour. You can book through one of the many travel companies or drive yourself (you will need a 4x4) or turn up at the gate and take the safari bus.

The park is well sign posted & everyone stops to ask you what animals you have seen, where they were & how long ago.

We visited at a time when there had been heavy rain so many of the animals were still hiding out but we did see the giraffes, impala, swimming hippos, balck rhino, buffalo, many birds and lions. No zebras for us but I was happy to see the lions as they were being particularly elusive on this day! It's a bit of a surreal experience seeing these wild animals against a city skyline but it's abslotely worth the 6am start!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    326
    77
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only Park that is located in a city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

20 min away from nairobi city. very very affordable entry fees and the place is very beautiful. seeing the girraffes so close was breath taking.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Big game beside a big city? NNP proves it's possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I visited Nairobi National Park with my girlfriend and her best buddy on the 8th of January 2013. I couldn't believe it! The camp is well-ordered with good trails and way posts, it is also patrolled by friendly and helpful rangers of the Kenya Wildlife Service.
The best bit is seeing big game such as Cape Buffalo and Rhino (white and black) against the backdrop of Nairobi city. The amount and variety of game is simply amazing, the fact that it is literally on the edge of a large densely populated city makes it stunning.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Urban Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Viewing antelopes grazing on the savannah with the city skyline in the background is certainly something else. The convenience of the location means Nairobi National Park is the easiest and most accessible safari experience for visitors to Kenya. It's unlikely you would see as many animals as in other parks however.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited the park after 15 years. Saw 54 mammmal and bird species. The game was scatterred due to the heavy rains and drinking pools all around. However every few minutes we would spot something. We saw lions three times and also saw a group of seven rhinos. This place is unique with animals and the city skyline in the backdrop. There is a bit of variety in scenery from dense forest to open grassland. There is a view point near the main gate where you can see the savannah for miles. We even saw a crocodile and hippo at Hippo Pool. We enjoyed a meal at Rangers Restaurant. I did not mind the park fee here as I paid 40 USD. However other parks like the Mara ($80 p.p per day) are very pricey compared to Kruger or other world class parks in the world.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.