We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini-safari - great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Nairobi National Park tour, David Sheldrick...
Ranked #5 of 92 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mini-safari - great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Its a great park where you see many wild animals in a relatively small area. Best to go first thing in the morning and last thing at night where animals are most active. There are no elephants and it is not Masai Mara - but its close to Nairobi convenient to get to and a great taster of what Kenya has to offer.

Visited December 2012
Thank lebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a place for animal lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Although we had only a short stop over in Nairobi we decidet to spend what little time we had on the Nairobi National Park. And didn't reget that decision. Whereelse do you find a National Park that close to a city centre (about 10 km). We let the hotel make arrangements and therefore probably payed more than neccessary but had a very friendly driver and an excellent guide who patiently answered all our questions. The orphanage unfortunately was closed for the public but we saw lions, the Black Rhinos and lots of the amazingly colourful African birds. All together a great experiece.

Visited August 2012
Thank Judith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was amazed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had the most amazing day in the park and saw Lions (3 males & 1 female), two types of Rhinos (Black & White), water buffalo, giraffes, zebras, Thompson gazelle, baboons, impalas, Hartebeest (kongoni). We did not have the budget or the time to go on a Safari so I was pleasantly surprised and happy with our experience. Well worth it - especially if you have an experienced guide. Negotiate well for the cost of the van and driver. Do NOT pay hotel prices.

Visited November 2012
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good guide and many animals sighted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We took the Nairobi National Park bus from the center of Nairobi, in front of the Development House on Moi Street going to the park every Sunday at 1.30 PM and were given a excellent game drive lasting more than 2 hours seeing many animals all for the fee of $50.-person for non-residents. The bus returned us to the city center after the game drive.

Visited November 2012
2 Thank Rudolf und Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“African safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Inside the park you can only move by the means of wheels, because Nairobi National Park is a big territory with wildife. We've been lucky to see lions, zebras, rhinos, giraffes, and lots of african birds.

Visited May 2012
Thank bahadirrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing