We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only park in a capital city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #5 of 86 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The only park in a capital city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Its such a lovely place, animals to see are plenty from zebra's,giraffes and lions if you live around Nairobi its a good place for a weekend gate away with the family or friends and also a place to have your picnics

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    420
    109
    26
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Surprise Connection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

What you are about to see in the photo happened so quickly that my reaction was one of surprise and not of fear. For an instant, I knew that I was not afraid and I believe she sensed that I was not afraid of her. She was very affectionate and allowed me to be close as she very gently licked my arm. After several minutes, I stood up and she proceeded to wrap her body and long tail around my legs. Then as quickly as she had run up to me she loped away. I visited the park in 2007.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This park is an excellent place to start a Safari. Being that close to the city ads to what makes this place different than the other national parks. I saw more lions on this park than on the Serengeti and the Ngorongoro parks which could be a factor of just luck. I would say that the park is an excellent choice for a one day safari.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walk in the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent to walk around safely and easy for the disabled. Read about all the animals and watch from shelters that blend in.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nairobi National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's remarkable that within 20 minutes of being downtown, you can be photographing a black rhino or serval cat or even a herd of buffaloes.

It's not a lot of money ($40 for tourists) and you can go for the day or half day, with a picnic (there are places to stop and leave vehicles) you can see most animals bar Ele's. today I saw a Serval Cat and 5 black rhino as well as all the usual antelope, zebra, giraffe, birds, hippos, crocs and aliens (actually lied about about the last one....... ;) It's a good place and quite bizarre looking across the plain with city buildings in the background. We ought to support it............

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.