We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nairobi National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$184*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #4 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Ascot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nairobi National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's remarkable that within 20 minutes of being downtown, you can be photographing a black rhino or serval cat or even a herd of buffaloes.

It's not a lot of money ($40 for tourists) and you can go for the day or half day, with a picnic (there are places to stop and leave vehicles) you can see most animals bar Ele's. today I saw a Serval Cat and 5 black rhino as well as all the usual antelope, zebra, giraffe, birds, hippos, crocs and aliens (actually lied about about the last one....... ;) It's a good place and quite bizarre looking across the plain with city buildings in the background. We ought to support it............

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    322
    77
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herrenberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic visit with a great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We toured NNP in November 2012. With only one day available to enjoy Kenya's beautiful parks and natural attractions, we arranged a full day tour with Will Knocker. On short notice we also were able to stay at Silole Sanctuary cottage, connected directly to the park so an early start was all the more possible. Our day in the park was fantastic. We started early and saw Rhinos, a Lion, Hippo, Giraffe, Zebra and so many more. Our guide Will was very knowledgeable and extremely hospitable, arranging meals and taxis for us as well as providing an unforgettable park tour. I will certainly visit again. Silole Sanctuary and Cottage was serene, listening to the park Lions roaring right on our (very safe) doorstep. Thanks to Will and all others involved in keeping the park and area protected and accessible. Good on you. I highly recommend visiting this park and if you can, the Silole Sanctuary and Cottage as well. You will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was there for a very short time but loved the variety and state of health of the animals. The tour guides are great too.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You don't always have to get there early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My visit to Nairobi National Park was in 2009, on the last day of my holiday. The perceived wisdom is that one has to be there in the early morning to have a chance of seeing anything worthwhile. However, after a "heavy" night at the Norfolk Hotel, a 5 o'clock start was not an option, so we set off with our driver at 10.30! The park contains all the major animals, except elephants, and the setting is amazing - in the distance you can see the high rise buildings! About 5 minutes into our tour, we met a white Kenyan lady who spoke to our driver in Swahili and told him where to see a pride of lions. It was an amazing sight. They had obviously just fed and were dozing in the sun. I got so excited, I almost got out of the car to take photos!! We also saw herds of zebra, various antelope, 3 different kinds of giraffe, but the hippos remained elusive. In fact it was like a mini-safari, at a fraction of the cost! But perhaps we were just lucky!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The only National Park set within City limits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

For those with a paucity of time or 4 hours to kill, a visit to the Nairobi national park is an excellent option. I have been to this place a few times and with the exception of the Leopard, I have spotted the 4 big ones (Lion, Elephant, Rhino and Hippo).

You can visit the animal orphanage at the entrance to the park as well.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.