We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are in Nairobi and can get a free afternoon, this place is simply not to be missed. Arrange a on open rooftop car from some of the companies Around 30min drive from the city, you enter superb park. Monkeys, buffalos, lions, rhinos, birds, all is there if you are lucky (late afternoon is the best time to visit). Amazing and absolute must!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    272
    72
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nakuru, Rift Valley, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nairobi national park game drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

took a game drive in the afternoon and it was a wonderful experience. the guide is well informed and very helpful. the drive takes an hour or so which allows for perfect viewing.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was incredible to see such an amazing safari right in the middle of the city! I was in Nairobi for work and my boss arranged for a few colleagues and I to have a day of safari the day before our conference. He hired a great driver/guide to take us through and we couldn't believe that there was such incredible wildlife so accessible in the city.

To be fair, it'll be a bit difficult for you to see the 'big five' (lions, elephants, buffalo, rhinos and leopards). If you are set on seeing all five, your best bet would be to head to Masai Mara (the Kenyan half of the more popularly known 'Serengeti'). But that's a distant and comparatively expensive trip that requires a flight and at least one overnight stay. If that's out of your time/price range, fear not. At Nairobi National Park, you will definitely see some of the five and, if you're lucky and in the right place at the right time you may see most.

At the opening of the park you are greeted by Masai warriors, in full dress, jumping and singing. Then you drive in and realize that the park is HUGE. Seriously, this is not Central Park. It's a world unto itself. During my tour, I saw elephants, buffalo and rhinos, as well as a ton of gorgeous giraffes, zebras, ostriches, antelope, wild deer, wild boars, alligators, and tons more. Note, this is not the zoo! You see these animals up close and personal from your guide's jeep. Amazing pictures and an unforgettable experience.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

we had a super time passing through the game park en route to our next destination, there was loads of game and birds, we never saw any big cats but saw loads of impala hearty beast and many many more, also had a wee trip to the hippo pool, what a super place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avarage.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Average is exactly what it is, if you are a non- resident, this experience is completely overpriced. The service is slow and annoying, their is no decent places to buy refreshments. The roads is horrible and have not been fixed in years. There is also limited animals to see.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nairobi National Park to your Saves list