We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Belford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We arrived here for an overnight stay before starting our safari, it takes an hour to get to from the airport and getting there in one piece is an acheivement they drive like crazy people and the roads arent the best but all made the experience, when you arrive you are met by friendly staff hot towel and fruit drink, you then get showed to your rooms we were in the impala block and left to explore the grounds its very quiet for being in the city. The hotel grounds are massive and every corner there is something new to look at. When staying here, if you are only here for one night then make sure you go to the show and have the grill it was amazing, the show was an hour long of non stop dancing and entertainment and the food is a 3 course meal served/ carved at your table straight from the bbq and you get to try different things like crocodile and camel. If you stay here make sure you go to the elephabt orphanage also.

The rooms where nice and clean with view of gardens with nice bathroom and have a fridge for diabetics! beware snacks that are left on the side arent free they look like they are complimentary but arent

would recommend if you have to stay in nairobi stay here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    144
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
26
85
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arab Times - Kuwait
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in Safari Park Hotel. Lovely property, nice and clean place. Italian restaurant La Piazzetta was nice. The other which serves BBQ Nyama Choma Ranch has limited crowd, not like Carnivore although they serve same thing. Since i had dinned at Carnivore BBQ area looked much smaller.
Staff is very nice who realy care about you. When we came here there were too many conferences lobby looked crowded. If staff & management coordination is better then billings will have no problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We held a conference here and I stayed for six nights. The grounds are lovely, with some impressive trees, the staff are pleasant, the food is good (except the Chinese!) and the beds are high and wide and firm, as I like them (though dreadful pillows and shabby bathrooms).

But BUT there are some big BUTS... Mainly that the hotel sees fit to charge exorbitant extras for everything, on top of already high nightly rates. For the internet, which is exceptionally slow, they charge a whopping Sh1,000 per hour or Sh11,000 per week - what you'd pay for a year as a private subscriber in Nairobi, or six months in London for top-speed broadband. They are not interested in waiving this charge for conference groups of business people - an amazingly uncompetitive attitude for which they deserve to lose business. Likewise, as several reviewers have mentioned, there is a daily charge for guests to use the (poor) gym (Sh1000 per time) and the meals and drinks charges are also extortionate.

The other huge BUT is the noise. Most nights and most rooms are quiet. But woe betide you if you have one of the rooms with an interleading door - the soundproofing is dreadful and it will not be fun if you have loud TV watchers or early morning shouters as I did next door. Then there are the parties - the hotel makes most of its revenue from conferences and weddings. The weddings are BIG and LOUD and can go on till past two in the morning. A couple of hours before the wedding, the hotel puts letters under the doors of residents to excuse themselves, but certainly will not move you to another room, take money off the bill or even give a little token of appreciation such as drinks coupons or suchlike. There were two weddings in the six days I was there, plus other events at the Nyama Choma, Cat's Night Club, gym disco and so on.

Take all of this into account if you are thinking of holding a conference at this venue.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Not the first time I was staying at the Safari Park Hotel, but enough to see
how I witnessed a slow degradation in all terms.
This hotel organizes local parties and weddings and as a consequence
hotel residents have to endure music and noises problems of all kinds.
This time it was a big local party with very loud gangsta rap music all
that is front of the hotel rooms. When you mention and claim at the reception
they look at you like if they don't care or even understand.
The only thing they can say is "what's your room number ?". They don't care
at all when it comes to handle guests'complaints. No follow-up at all.
I must also say that there was no hot water during my whole stay. This wasn't
the first time moreover. Their answer: "we know about it, we can't do anything"

Restaurants are overpriced and prices have kept increasing but not the quality.
Definitely, this place isn't the lovely hotel it used to be anymore. A pitty.
There are better places around Nairobi to invest 220 US$ a night. At that price
they even dare charging you 30 US$ a day for their slow so called wifi connection
and the small gym is also at an extra charge...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed at the Safari Park for 2 nights on my way out of Kenya. Overall I really enjoyed it, but I think it's appeal depends on what you're looking for. It's not a luxury hotel, but it is very nice.

Pros:
-Beautiful grounds - trees, birds, etc, and a nice walking/jogging path
-Clean, well-kept rooms - I felt like mine had a fading glory - great four poster bed, but creaky floors, etc.
-Good breakfast by the pool
-Very quiet
-Friendly staff (at the front desk and main cafe)

Cons:
-Very, very far from the airport - 1.5 hours in moderate traffic!
-The gym and internet both come with a hefty fee

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I visited here when staying at another hotel and instantly preferred this resort!

The first impression - entering the lobby to the huge elephant - was excellent and I was greeted by warm reception staff.

As I was shown around the property I was offered sugar cane to try, which was expertly prepared in front of me. This was a lovely touch.

The rooms were clean, bright, and each has a balcony. The beds had white sheets and the ones that I saw had four posted beds and adequate bathrooms. The rooms were not big, but they were clean and airy.

I was told there was wifi property wide and there were numerous different restaurant options to cater for different tastes!

It is a large property with good potential for business conferences, and I was most impressed by the service and attention of the staff here during my short visit.

I hope to go back again.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel grounds are fantastic with the best swimming pool I have seen for a long time. We had a meal in the Italian restaurant which was very good. I can’t comment on the rest of the hotel facilities as it was just an overnight with an early start for airport in the morning.

The hotel is some distance from the airport especially as you need to go into the town centre first then out, at rush hours this can be a trip of several hours. Luckily our transfer driver took us around the back streets and we made it to the airport just in time. But if this is the last hotel before you fly home leave plenty early enough. On the subject of the airport at Nairobi, there is very little waiting areas (seated) before you get to the gate and before you get there they will take all liquids off you greater than 100ml and there is no way to get a drink once in the gate.

Back to the hotel, the downside was the bathroom whilst clean it badly needs refurbishing. The surface was coming off the toilet and basin. The shower was only just warm enough. Finally despite it being a triple (three bed) room there were only two chairs on the balcony.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.