We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hideaway from nairoberry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a nice hideaway from nairoberry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Aside from a casino, this huge theme hotel has many restaurants, bars, a large pool area , stages for performances which is just as well as it is miles from the centre of Nairobi and at least 1500 ksh to the airport...but having stayed at the in the centre and travelled around Kenya it was nice to get away from the city centre. We also appreciated the fact we could dress up and wear our watches etc around the hotel. A word of warning drinks and food are extremely expensive with lots of taxes added to everything. Surrounded by mostly European travellers I must it was nice to escape from African stress. Don't miss nice shops for holiday gifts its not as expensive as other tourist traps around Kenya and you can even barter. I wish I had done all my shopping here.

The grounds were impressively landscaped and for African standards the hotel and rooms were great complete with TV and mossie nets. All rooms also had a generous sized patio you can use to relax Good facilities, friendly staff, a variety of places to eat, clean, and most importantly safe. Great to relax after a long trip around kenyabut dont stay here forever explore, safari and do the beach. A great hotel here for business and pleasure and prob ideal for kids

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    146
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
27
86
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

I had an opportunity to stay at the hotel for 5 days recently and the compound (all 64 acres of it I'm told) is massive. It's obviously a theme hotel and quite well done with great consistency. The Safari Park has 5 restaurants, multiple bars, a fairly large pool area that has a lazy river and slide, a couple of stages for performances, and yes a casino. Good thing since the hotel isn't quite in downtown Nairobi.

The grounds were impressively landscaped and well maintained but I wish I could say the same for the rooms. They're clean but definitely showing age with the bathroom fixtures and paint peeling walls. No AC in my room but the weather was fantastic and all I needed was an open window. All rooms also had a generous sized patio you can use to relax (or dry your laundry).

All in all, a decent hotel. Good facilities, friendly staff, a variety of places to eat, clean, and most importantly safe.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This hotel is situated in the outskirts of the city center,Though to make it to the hotel is crazy due to Construction of the adjacent road,I must admit that the hotel has a very big advantage of variety of meeting places and difference restaurants, The breakfast place was always packed waiters serving the best coffee you know!The service was exceptional. since i like the Italian meals,i had a date all the evening with the Hotels Italian restaurant.the manager always met us on arrival everyday and helped us in placing our orders,.
The food was always fresh ,staff friendly and helpful.The service at the Restaurant was super.
As i appreciate the co-ordination i saw in the restaurant, i recommend this hotel to all business travelers.

Though the rooms were not to the standard i appreciate the best services offered by the staff.
Whenever you visit safari park always make a date with the variety of the restaurants and your stay will never be the same again.
Something need to be done the internet is expeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesive.
Van Rosh.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed for 7 nights. I find that the location is the greatest disadvantage of the hotel for those who want to go to town for nice food, shopping and sightseeing. For those who stay for a night in transit to safari, it is a relaxing place with a nice garden and lots of birds.

Here are details of my experience.
1. The hotel is located 30 min. (or longer) drive away from the city/shopping centres. There are nothing but petrol stations in the vicinity. It cost me 1200-1300sh by taxi, or 40-50sh by Matatu to the city centre.
2. The gym facility was available at 1000sh per day. Tennis court was available at a fee as well.
3. Swimming pools were free. One of the two swimming pools was ‘temporarily out of order’ during my stay.
4. A LAN cable for internet was available in my room, and internet cost 1000sh per hour.
5. There was an electric kettle, complementary Nescafe and tea bags, a fridge and a mosquito net in the room. One gets a bottle of water each day for free.
6. The garden is nice with lots of different types of trees. Many birds (such as bulbuls, robins, and mouse birds). The ‘jogging track’ is rather a footpath for walk around the garden. The walk is enjoyable.
7. Food is unfairly expensive, and one has no choice but to eat there unless catching a taxi to town. A bottle of Kenyan beer was 330sh, egg fried rice in the Chinese restaurant was 800sh. In the Italian restaurant, a pizza was 900-1000sh, two slices of tomato bruschetta were 680sh. The information sheet provided in the room said room service breakfast cost more than 600sh for just two farm eggs, and full breakfast cost 1400sh. Be ready to spend a lot of money for simple food.
8. The management and the staff looked indifferent in providing good services. Some examples: A cleaner was brushing a corridor between 3 and 6 pm while I was in my room and the water flooded inside my room. A waiter served canapé to a client with a full knowledge that a bird (or a few birds sometimes) had a few bites on it earlier. The carpet of the casino smelled soggy and the chairs of the bar were sticky. The hotel does not have a map of Nairobi town to help a tourist who wants to visit the town.
9. There is a ‘complementary shuttle’ to town on request. It leaves the hotel at 1000 and 1300. I used it a few times… It gave me only 3 hours to stay in town so after a few tries I took matatu instead. Taking matanu after dark is not recommended though.
10. Foreign currency exchange rate of the hotel did not seem competitive, and there was no ATM in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

mmm, this hotel was ok, but I've stayed in much better places in Africa. They had a major water problem, which made you feel sorry for them, but they claim to be 5 star..and so, should at least keep guests up to date on the water situation, compensating them if necessary. Literally, nothing was coming out of the taps on a few occasions. I had no towels in my room when I arrived, due to water problem and issues with laundry..but again - no explanation or apology. Pleasant buildings and surroundings but there is better in Nairobi!

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We had a 3 nights stay and glad that we chosed this hotel instead of the hotel in the city. The hotel has many to offer, good food and good entertainment. Loved the spa massage by the lady masseur Agnes. Room is good size and clean. Travel to airport took us 30 min in the morning, it was ok or maybe we were lucky ! The only disappointment for us was the water in the pool was too cool to swim. Will stay with this hotel again if we come back to Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We had 2 nights in the Safari Park - one on arrival in Nairobi, and the second at the end of our time in Kenya, just before departure. The first night we were given a nice room which had a nice outlook. Checking in was easy, and the reception staff and the porter were excellent. Our breakfast was very nice, with very good staff and an excellent selection of food. Our concern was with the cleanliness of the room, and in particular the floor. My cream socks were black on the soles within a few minutes! It was filthy. Our second stay also hightlighted the dirty floor, with our bare feet black, and the sheets consequently were dirty when we put our feet up into bed. The room was right near the boundary of the hotel grounds, and near the noisy road.
It is a very long and tiring drive to the hotel from the airport. The traffic in Nairobi is worse than Cairo!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.