We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel amidst a chaotic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
“Quiet hotel amidst a chaotic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We loved the Safari Park Hotel. It's beautiful grounds and quiet atmosphere were a striking contrast to the chaos of Nairobi. We were in Nairobi twice - once on the way to our Safari and once on the return. The city itself is constant traffic and people and dust everywhere. It's a great city to visit, but if you're struggling with jet lag, it's not the place to get a hotel. The Safari Park hotel is on the outskirts of town and is quiet, peaceful with well designed and kept grounds and clean/dust free rooms. The birds that visit the grounds each morning and throughout the day were beautiful. We were glad we stayed at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    133
    57
    19
    10
See reviews for
25
76
20
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We spent a night here before catching a flight to Zanzibar. After a week of camping we were so happy to see this hotel was of a very high standard. It is a large hotel with 5 retaurants and many rooms but is in a nice setting considering it is in a city centre with plenty of facilities and space. We ate at the African restaurant which was excellent. During out meal there was an African show which was equally impressive. If you are looking for a large hotel, I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed two nights before taking a safari. It was included in the cost of the safari. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Rooms had Safe which was easy to programme.Bathroom bit outdated but OK. Atleast three different restaurents which includes a chinese and an italian. Breakfast was very good. Full buffett. At night a free dance and acrobatic show which very good. A travel desk which can arrange for trips etc. Nice gardens with water falls. About 40minutes drive from the airport at night without trafic. Staff and service was excellent. Taxi to attractions, city center and airport was expensive due to its distance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield england
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stopped at the Sarai Park for two separate nights, one prior to our safari and one after. The first night the room was very large with a double bed. Breakfast was plentiful as it was a serve yourself buffet with a large selection. The room also had tea making facilites. On our return from safari the room had two queen sized beds, fine for singles but not if you want to sleep together and no tea making facilities only water. During the day there were virtually no guests visible and the extensive grounds were ours to enjoy. The lady in the hotel shop went to some trouble to contact us to let us know she had overcharged and owed us money! The Italian restaurant served two excellent meals and overall the time there was incredibly relaxing. There is entertainment at one of the restaurants but my wife wanted Italian, although we caught the show on the way back to our room. If, from there, you are travelling to the airport it is not a good choice. The journey to the airport took us 1hour and 45 minutes through incredible crowded roads where, at traffic lights, street hawkers appear.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

first of all, the hotel is not as bad as some of the reviews imply it to be. especially considering that it is over 20 years old, privately owned and not part of a chain. on arrival we were greeted with smiles and passion juice after a long, scary plane ride. the rooms are spacious with a separate lounge area. linen - clean, water - hot, tv - works, internet - high speed broadband. what more do you need? now on to service...  room service - SLOOOOOOOOW. staff at the reception and porter service downstairs is pretty efficient. if you're a light sleeper, this is not the place for you as you can hear the sounds of the city around you.. nothing a good pair of ear plugs can't fix! overall not a bad place to crash.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

My only purpose to go to this “5 star hotel”, was to relax and have a problem free day and night, and pamper my self a little bit after a long safari.

Do NOT spend your money at this hotel, go to Holiday Inn, Serena or Hilton instead. They are real 5 star hotels.

This hotel could only get 5 stars if they bought them on E-bay. A real 5 star hotel would not have:
- Spent 1 hour finding your reservation pre paid by MasterCard
- Treated you like a con man as they searched, and offered no excuse afterwards
- Given you a room with a not working toilet
- Remembered your wake up call and the pre ordered breakfast to your room.
- The “superior” room was not close to 5 star standard.

By all means, this is not a dirty and bad hotel, but choose one with real quality when spending 200 USD.

The hotel covers a great area and is green and fresh, but you will have to spend 2 hours in traffic coming from the airport. It also has a lot of different restaurants, I just cant figure out why they had to play 90’s disco music dead loud in them?

Please stay elsewhere, this is bogus.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We spent two nights at the start and at the end of our two weeks stay in Kenia. First night we had an efficient checkin and nice room. Second night we arrived about lunchtime. Checkin lasted about an hour; the room was not really clean, bathroom falling apart. Lunch a salad at Café Kigwa: it took about an hour to get the food on the table. Diner at Cafe Kigwa: service extreemly slow and frustrating. Food just okay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.