We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place for the whole world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Moshi, Tanzania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool place for the whole world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Hotel is situated in such a vast area with such a beautiful gardens!

The blocks nearer the boiler are good for quick supply of hot water.

There are more than ten restaurants to cater for the whole world.

The staffs are very welcoming and ready to support whenever necessary.

The place can sometimes be very cold and therefore prepare for warm clothes as there is no heating system inside the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    134
    62
    20
    11
See reviews for
26
80
22
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I recently spent four days at the Safari Park Hotel in Nairobi, Kenya.

Giving a star rating is very difficult for this hotel because there are many lovely features counterbalanced by some big management problems.

First, the positives. The grounds are beautiful, with expansive, well-kept lawns, wonderful manicured trees, and delightful waterfalls. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed in colonial style, opening on to shaded verandahs. Security seems tight. The conference facilities are good. An excellent small tour office arranges individual or small group trips to local sights.
However, there were some negatives that were hard to ignore:
We arrived at night after the hotel car had taken us on a dangerous, two-hour trip through settlements to the east and north of Nairobi, hoping to avoid the traffic through the center of town and on Thika Road. Make sure your hotel-car driver doesn’t do this, especially if you are arriving at night.
On arrival, we provided a printout of our confirmed reservation from the hotel website, and a printed copy of the email the hotel had sent to confirm the booking—both containing the “confirmation number”. As the hotel requires, a deposit of half the cost of our reservation had been charged to our credit card six weeks before arrival, but we had not been sent a receipt. The hotel staff denied the validity of our documents saying they were “just from the internet”. The only thing they claimed they would accept was an email from a member of their staff—they didn’t know which member—a few days before our arrival, containing a “reference number” completely different from our “confirmation number”. The hotel staff informed us that that they did not have a room for us and we would have to find another hotel. Since the wifi in the lobby did not work to allow us to check emails, we spent the next hour and a half in frustrating argument at the front desk before the staff relented, called an off-site manager and found us a room. The next day, we provided the email from the staff member—which had been sent a month before arrival--and the manager conceded that there had been a mix-up, but there was no apology.
If you come here, be sure to look for an email some time before arrival from someone you’ve never heard of, containing a “reference number” and be able to quote that number. We’d also recommend checking your credit card account in advance to find and be able to quote the details of the deposit payment which, in our case, was only credited to us after we raised the issue. A key question is why on earth any hotel would have such a disastrously-managed reservation system—especially when the result is customers with confirmed and paid-up reservations being dispatched onto the streets of Nairobi in the middle of the night?
Although the rooms are attractive, they are poorly maintained. In our room, a long-term leak under the bathroom sink resulted in a wet floor and permanent water damage to the adjoining wall. I reported the problem but no one came to fix it while we were there.
Finally, the food in the restaurants - both a la carte and buffet-- is expensive and poor quality- tough meats, poorly cooked and unappetizing side dishes. Unfortunately the hotel is fairly remote and first time visitors aren’t likely to be in a position to find alternative restaurants.

Could be great but badly needs changes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with beautiful gardens amazing staff rooms are spacious but bathrooms are pathetic the water was cold and having cold showers 3 days in winter is not nice. The gardens in the hotel is good. The pool is area is really nice. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good and open to a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our first night before we started our safari and this was a great hotel to stay at it has a great outdoor bar to have drinks at and the choise of spots to eat at in the hotel .
The staff were friendly and a bit of fun and the grounds are nice so overall not to bad .
The rooms were all ok and had nice views over the grounds

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was expecting the same level of experience that we get from 4 & 5 star hotels in Dubai (thats where I live) but this was not the same. The room I share with my brother was spacious, comfortable but quite basic. It had turndown service and basics in toiletries but nothing more. The staff were a bit slow to react but quite pleasant - it was hard to lose your temper.

The grounds are stunning; the food mediocre.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the reception or you might get a lot of walking to get to reception or any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I cannot give a full review of the safari park hotel as I arrived at 23:00 in an evening and checked out at 07:00 the following morning. It was realistically only somewhere to sleep before I commenced the 'Kenya classic safari' tour. The hotel was in several large grounds and it would probably have been nice to stay an extra day or two to recover from the flights and a long day traveling. As it was, my experience was limited to the room which was very well appointed. I was extremely happy with the accommodation and would have had no problems to stay there longer. The breakfast I would say was average to good. Check in and check out was efficient. My only criticism of the little bit that I saw of the hotel is that there are a lot of steps and they are not always well lit. Walking to breakfast in the early dawn light, I had to be very careful were I was placing my feet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent a week at this scenic and neat hotel.I loved the service and enjoyed the vibe and hospitality.We stayed and did our workshops here but it still felt like we were on a holiday.Not bad value for money, worth the visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.