We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A NIGHT AT SAFARI PARK HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A NIGHT AT SAFARI PARK HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Hotel is well roofed in a more traditional way hence making it look very natural and appealing. It's located on the biggest Super Highway in the country and driving to the Airport or City centre is at ease. The food is good and especially you get much value for money on lunch buffet. The rooms i stayed are nice looking and spacious and the green gardens outside with flowers adds alot of beauty to the surroundings. There is WiFi in all the facility and the Hemingway bar is a most fabulous for a cold drink.

Room Tip: All the rooms and especially the once away from the Super Highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    145
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
27
85
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

As mentioned by others, we were booked here with SmarTours Kenya/Tanzania Wildlife Safari. We were originally supposed to be there two nights in the beginning and one night before our trip to Tanzania. We ended up with just one night in the beginning of our journey and one night on our return.

The hotel grounds are lovely and the hotel is really quite large. We found the breakfast buffet and the lunch buffet to be adequate and good (typical buffet fare really, but a lot of choices). On our return visit we had dinner at the Italian restaurant, which we enjoyed and found the food and service quite good.

Honestly, we were in the rooms for such a short period, that it's hard to be too judgmental. Both rooms were fine for the amount of time we were there.

We enjoyed a Tusker or three, sitting outside at the Hemingway Bar, which was nice and the service was prompt and friendly.

My average rating comes from their wifi charge. It just seems ridiculous to charge $25 for 24 hours. We weren't even there 24 hours either time. I don't really need wifi, so I didn't bother with it, it just annoyed me that there was this kind of charge. As another review noted, we stayed in 8 different hotels when we were on this trip, and there was not another hotel that ever charged for wifi.

I wouldn't be upset if we stayed there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent 3 days at the Safari Park Hotel at the beginning of a safari. The grounds are beautiful and we spent much time walking around to enjoy the landscaping. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the gardens. The acrobatic show at the Nyama Choma restaurant was wonderful. The food was entirely focused on the meat dishes including skewers of camel, crocodile,lamb, etc. The portions of potato and vegetables accompanying the meat were very small. We found the food at the Italian restaurant and at Cafe Kigwa to be of very good quality. The beds were very hard but we used the duvet as a mattress cover and that worked well! My only complaint about this hotel is the exorbitant cost of the wi-fi ($25.00/night) and the reception was very poor. Often you could not get on the internet at all. We stayed in 8 different hotels in Kenya and Tanzania and the Safari Park was the only one to charge for internet and it had the poorest internet reception.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked a safari and this was the hotel that was booked for us on arrival to Nairobi, unfortunately we arrived late at night and had to leave early morning.
The grounds seemed well looked after very lush in appearance and as you walk in the main lobby there is a huge elephant statue in the middle, the whole place was very eye catching. Had breakfast in the morning and it was plentiful and delicious lots to choose from. Wished we could have stayed there for a full day to experience this hotel it is very appealing. Large rooms with netting around bed rustic looking rooms very cool.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I spent a week in this hotel for business and have good and bad memories. On the positive side, the overall property is beautiful, the gardens are well maintained and it looks very nice and relaxing.
On the not so positive, the rooms look very old, bathroom fixtures in bad shape, door did not close and furniture was falling apart. You could see stains on the bathroom floor from leakings, the toilet did not have a proper flush and all faucets needed some turns to finally produce water.
Check out was slow and a bit rude, my group needed a specific invoice and the front desk ladies did not hide how annoyed they were with the request. The duty manager, however was very polite and solved the case.
There is no A/c in the rooms and some power cuts dureing the day left us in the dark until the generator kicked in. The wi-fi in my bedroom was non existent and unrelieable in several areas.
Food was ok, there are several restaurants inside the property and prices are ok compared to other places in Nairobi.
Could be much better with a little more of care.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at Safari Park Hotel in late February for a work-related training. The good: It is a beautiful hotel with outstanding landscaping and pools. The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and most have decks or balconies that look out on the lagoons. There is a great sushi restaurant there but we ended up most nights at the Italian restaurant because a) the food was great and b) the staff so much fun (thanks Elias!). The breakfast buffet is extensive and in a good location. The not-so-good: the front desk is a bit clueless, or perhaps it was a language issue. On Sunday morning I asked where was the closest ATM and was told ATMs were not operating on Sundays (they were). I asked where was a good movie theater and the only one they could recommend was not a real cinema (later a taxi driver showed me where an excellent 6-screen theater was located). They have a fantastic gym but you must pay to go (which seems strange - why have a huge state-of-the-art gym if it isn't available to your guests?). The rooms do not have air conditioners and can get warm during the night. And - perhaps a minor thing - the lagoons are beautiful and are habitats for some amazing birds. Beautiful to look at - not so relaxing to listen to all night. The problem is that while some of the room's windows are glass and can be closed, others are just screens and it can get noisy. My first night I never slept soundly because of the birds. This is part of the "safari" experience; which is great when you are on safari but challenging when you are there to work and need a good night sleep because you are in meetings the entire day. In short - I would definitely go back, preferably when I don't have to work!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lagoons are beautiful with great decks and balconies. The trade-off can be a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Safari Park is a lovely setting--I was there for work, and regretted not having more time to wander the grounds, just to take it in. It's really beautiful. And the room was nice, the staff were solicitious, the food was tasy etc. There's a reason they host so many functions here

But it feels as though they haven't quite caught onto this new internet thing. Making a reservation via email involved waiting days between replies, each reply from a different employee, none of whom are the stated owner of the account. And then when I arrived I was told I'd have to pay 2000 KSH a day extra to use the internet. Fortunately for me, it turned out that internet was included with the conference I was attending, but it struck me as ridiculous. And then wireless doesn't cover the whole room, was down one night, etc. etc. Speed was ok, though.

It's really a pleasant spot, and if they wanted to make a point of not offering internet, I could see that--you shouldn't vacation to Kenya to surf the web anyway. But for someone in my situation, traveling for work, I value a good connection, apparently rather more than the average Safari Park guest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.