We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, old rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, old rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I spent a week in this hotel for business and have good and bad memories. On the positive side, the overall property is beautiful, the gardens are well maintained and it looks very nice and relaxing.
On the not so positive, the rooms look very old, bathroom fixtures in bad shape, door did not close and furniture was falling apart. You could see stains on the bathroom floor from leakings, the toilet did not have a proper flush and all faucets needed some turns to finally produce water.
Check out was slow and a bit rude, my group needed a specific invoice and the front desk ladies did not hide how annoyed they were with the request. The duty manager, however was very polite and solved the case.
There is no A/c in the rooms and some power cuts dureing the day left us in the dark until the generator kicked in. The wi-fi in my bedroom was non existent and unrelieable in several areas.
Food was ok, there are several restaurants inside the property and prices are ok compared to other places in Nairobi.
Could be much better with a little more of care.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    134
    58
    19
    10
See reviews for
25
77
21
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at Safari Park Hotel in late February for a work-related training. The good: It is a beautiful hotel with outstanding landscaping and pools. The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and most have decks or balconies that look out on the lagoons. There is a great sushi restaurant there but we ended up most nights at the Italian restaurant because a) the food was great and b) the staff so much fun (thanks Elias!). The breakfast buffet is extensive and in a good location. The not-so-good: the front desk is a bit clueless, or perhaps it was a language issue. On Sunday morning I asked where was the closest ATM and was told ATMs were not operating on Sundays (they were). I asked where was a good movie theater and the only one they could recommend was not a real cinema (later a taxi driver showed me where an excellent 6-screen theater was located). They have a fantastic gym but you must pay to go (which seems strange - why have a huge state-of-the-art gym if it isn't available to your guests?). The rooms do not have air conditioners and can get warm during the night. And - perhaps a minor thing - the lagoons are beautiful and are habitats for some amazing birds. Beautiful to look at - not so relaxing to listen to all night. The problem is that while some of the room's windows are glass and can be closed, others are just screens and it can get noisy. My first night I never slept soundly because of the birds. This is part of the "safari" experience; which is great when you are on safari but challenging when you are there to work and need a good night sleep because you are in meetings the entire day. In short - I would definitely go back, preferably when I don't have to work!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lagoons are beautiful with great decks and balconies. The trade-off can be a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Safari Park is a lovely setting--I was there for work, and regretted not having more time to wander the grounds, just to take it in. It's really beautiful. And the room was nice, the staff were solicitious, the food was tasy etc. There's a reason they host so many functions here

But it feels as though they haven't quite caught onto this new internet thing. Making a reservation via email involved waiting days between replies, each reply from a different employee, none of whom are the stated owner of the account. And then when I arrived I was told I'd have to pay 2000 KSH a day extra to use the internet. Fortunately for me, it turned out that internet was included with the conference I was attending, but it struck me as ridiculous. And then wireless doesn't cover the whole room, was down one night, etc. etc. Speed was ok, though.

It's really a pleasant spot, and if they wanted to make a point of not offering internet, I could see that--you shouldn't vacation to Kenya to surf the web anyway. But for someone in my situation, traveling for work, I value a good connection, apparently rather more than the average Safari Park guest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked a 6 day stay to play golf in the Nairobi area prior to going on safari. Unfortunately we arrived on a Saturday and there were 4 weddings taking place and it was chaos with people everywhere.
We were shown to our room or maybe cave would be a better description, dark, small with outdated bathroom fittings. Room was rejected. Next room we were shown was bigger but also dark and in need of upgrading. By now we were getting angry and were offered an "Executive Suite" to passify us. It was large and airy but like an oven, even with an overhead fan and a floor standing unit it was difficult ro keep the room cool. There was no pressure from the shower and luke warm water.
After playing golf we thought we might go for a dip in the pool or have a jacuzzi. We didnt do either.You couldnt even see the bottom in the pool and the Jacuzzi probably hasnt worked in the past 5 years!!! On Monday the first of the Conference parties arrived and averaged 2 or 3 a day.
The best part of the stay was the meat feast/maasai show, an excellent evening.
The Hotel is badly in need of an upgrade.
WIFI is KSH 2000 a day which is an insult as the signal is poor and intermittent, quite apart from the regular power cuts we experienced.

Room Tip: Avoid if you plan to stay more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed at the Safari Park hotel several times. It is always restful and pleasant. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The large colonial style rooms are cool and shaded. Good mosquito protection is provided.
The hotel grounds are particularly well kept, and attract a range of colourful and interesting bird life. Sitting on the balcony of your room and admiring the bird life is very enjoyable, especially if you happen to awake in the early morning.

The pool is well kept, but on the cooler side (a factor of the Nairobi climate). I would not plan a tropical holiday by the pool here.

The breakfast and meals are adequate and reasonably priced. I would rate the Breakfast 6-7/10. As with most hotel buffet meals, the food is sometimes not at optimum temperature.

The Italian style restaurant within the grounds is usually my choice of evening meal. The pizza is usually a good standard....certainly when compared to pizza elsewhere in Nairobi!

The security of the hotel grounds is to a fairly good standard....something that all travelers need to be aware of when looking at accommodation in Nairobi.

Internet connection and speed is unreliable. I suspect this is an issue at a national level rather than being wholly attributable to the hotel.

The staff make this hotel. It excels in few areas, but presents a good standard throughout. The staff are to be congratulated at the Safari Park. Without exception, I have found them to be helpful, cheerful and reliable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

For a week this lovely hotel was my home just out of Nairobi. You get the feeling that you are living in the park for the huge greenery areas and the wooden buildings within.

Two huge elephants statues are the first thing that you will see at the reception and the journey begins. The rooms are real African with wooden floors and nice balcony. no AC in the room but you have a big ceiling fan to keep air moving in the room and to keep mosquitos away.

Food verities are plenty, but the best is the ranch with all types of meat from all the animals the continent is offering. The casino is a good spot as well.

Will come back again with family for more enjoyment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is located 20 mins north of Nairobi (travelling to the city in rush hours makes the travel distance much longer!). The hotel is excellent by itself, the location does not matter as you will, for sure, decide not to walk in the surroundings streets.
The hotel has a lot of facilities, lots of green areas, pools, night shows.
Room is more than cozy.
It was really above my expectations for a hotel in Nairobi. It you are not travelling on business but on vacations, really consider this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.