We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel outside Nairobi, great for relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Rosario, Argentina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel outside Nairobi, great for relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is located 20 mins north of Nairobi (travelling to the city in rush hours makes the travel distance much longer!). The hotel is excellent by itself, the location does not matter as you will, for sure, decide not to walk in the surroundings streets.
The hotel has a lot of facilities, lots of green areas, pools, night shows.
Room is more than cozy.
It was really above my expectations for a hotel in Nairobi. It you are not travelling on business but on vacations, really consider this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    145
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
27
85
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at the Safari Park Hotel from 11-18th of January. The staff were always smiling and helpful. The receptionist was always ready to provide useful tips about where to go and when. There was a lovely tour operator called Catherine who was always ready to tell us what to do everyday.
The grounds are beautiful. The view from the rooms is amazing and very peaceful. The hotel has a variety of restaurants. Even if you don't go out at night, you can still have dinner at one of their many fine restaurants.
They also have very beautiful pools if you're in the mood for a swim.
The bathrooms are in need of some maintenance.
The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from TRM ( a shopping mall with a supermarket)
You can also enjoy a coffee at the famous Java House which is located at the TRM.

All in all, it was a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

we stayed here for 1 night only in november at the start of a 7 day safari - i actually thought id done the review for this!! stayed in lovely room up stairs with balcony - big netted 4 poster bed, bathroom, safe, balcony, real wooden floors. staff carried everything for you. main reception was lovely - huge elephant in centre (stone i think it was). bars & restaurants all over. lots of swimming pools. upstairs in main reception lovely bar with large tv. bed comfy & bedding superb. there is an arboretum and a full running track here also so its a huge hotel. breakfast buffet style and lovely all you could ask for. would go again definately!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is one of the best in Nairobi, the location is great, the design is original and the rooms are comfortable. The big plus is the large choice of restaurants onsite, my favorite is the African restaurant for dinner. The personnel is extremely helpful and professional, great great people!!! On the cons side are the night club, the cleanliness that can be improved. Also, this hotel is a favorite for weddings so be prepared to the noise coming from hundred of people coming at those weddings mostly during weekends .

Room Tip: A dinner at the African restaurant with a nice show is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Like many people, we stayed here at the start of a safari for just one night. We arrived in the evening and left early in the morning so we didn't really get a chance to use most of the facilities.

It wasn't going well when we arrived. We had hired a car and driver for the day but they were over an hour late picking us up from our previous hotel. This meant we missed the lunchtime session at the elephant orphanage so we were pretty disappointed. On check-in we brought this up but it took a long time to get it sorted between the receptionist and the car company with no-one taking ownership of the problem.

Lobby was pretty grand with the elephant model etc. We had dinner in the italian restaurant, it was quiet but food was ok, fairly good value at around 1200KS for a pizza. Pool area etc looked pretty good but we didn't have time to use any of the facilities.

Our room was huge, not much smaller than our 2 bed flat. Floor was polished so much it was slippery and it didn't get much better from there. The hot tap in the bath/shower didn't work, just kept spinning and the bed was hard too. Didn't really have time to report it until checkout as we just went for dinner on arriving and it was too late when we got back. Didn't have time to use the wifi either, but did note that it was 2000KS a day (around £14) which seemed a bit much.
Could have done with double glazing to keep out the noise from the nearby motorway as well (to a lesser extent) as all the birds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

checked it out as a possible location to bring clients from Europe to relax away from the city, but to be told wifi access would cost 1000 ksh for one hour and was not inclusive in the already overpriced room tariff is a definite " no " from myself and will take my money elsewhere,shame because its grounds and decor are a good introduction to the safari/kenyan vibe that so many people hear about. Need to get with the the times and not rip people off for internet access,thats all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is set at the begining on the new road called the Thika superhighway, there are still alot of road works in the area so it doesn;t look marvelous as you arrive, and ask your driver to use the new by pass instead of driving across town if you are arriving in rush hour from the international airport.
The gardens of the hotel are very well kept and attractive and its nice to be able to wander around and look in the hotel shops or choose a diining venue which is unlike the hotels in the centre of the city. That being said if you have just one night transit or you are on business in the city this is not the most suitable hotel to choose because of its location in the suburbs.
For tourists and those with more time to relax it is ideal: off the beaten track & peaceful.
Even though the hotel is built in the 80's it was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast buffet had a a large variety of choices more than expected.
In the evening we attended a big event for 800 people on the hotel lawns, it was superbly organised, good service, well presented tasty food. The hotel coped very well, they can certainly be recomended for that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.