We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I spent one night here upon arrival in Kenya for safari. The room was very large and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and grounds beautiful. I found the staff to be quite helpful, but after reading about all the services and activities on property I realize that none of these things were explained upon check-in. I was told where breakfast was and that was it.

The hotel told each member of our group different meeting times so I only had 5 minutes for breakfast because I saw the group was already assembled when I was passing through the lobby. The staff in the restaurant were so helpful and got me a to-go box so I could grab some croissants for the road. I really appreciated that, although the meeting time confusion was unfortunate. Some people were told 7, some 7:30, and some 8. The real departure time was actually 8:30.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    141
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
26
85
22
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swift33
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here two nights before joining a safari, so, after a very long journey from the UK we were glad to have a bath and sleep. Awaking next morning we could see the beautiful gardens, flowers trees, and pools. The grounds are massive and we did visit the shopping village, there are many small shops selling local hand craft work. There are also different restaurants on site. We tried the African that evening and were not disappointed. Started with soup, We had about 8 - 10 different meats to choose from with salad and roast pots, then a choice of sweets with coffee. The highlight of the evening was the show, which started with 4 ladies ( Twins) singing classical and opera- they were wonderful. Following there was a magnificent show of dancing / circus acts - I've never seen better anywhere.
Do try Hemmingway's bar - above reception where early evening you can be serenaded by a pianist.
Our bedroom and bathroom were a little dated but it included everything we needed including a sauna!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our room was large and very modern and the service in the hotel was second-to-none. Breakfast was extensive with plenty of choice. We used the pool regularly and often had it to ourselves, was a great place to relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I actually love the Safari Park, because I can count on good service and they also respond to my needs of extra body lotion, an iron and other miscellaneous requests. The food is quite tasty and it's a big property so you can walk around safely and get a bit of exercise.

BUT, I have now stayed here 5 times and I never knew there was a shopping village on the property with lots of lovely little shops and folks desperate for business (especially the lovely ladies at shop 5 named Pauline and Stella and the lovely proprietor of shop 4). The market shop be bustling but instead it's a ghost town. There is no need to visit the Masai Market, nor trek to the Mall, because these shops have it all.

SO my recommendation to management is keep up the good work, but TELL people about the market.

Cheers,

Room Tip: Block 800 is the best on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were exhausted when we got there, having traveled over 24 hours from California. The grounds here are extraordinarily beautiful and peaceful. Jacaranda trees, clipped lawns and flower beds. Great free-form swimming pool and many restaurants on the premises. Rooms all have quiet terraces overlooking the grounds. A lovely place. My only complaint was, as in all places we stayed in Kenya, the beds are bone-crushingly hard.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Safari Park Hotel Oct 2-4 2013. The hotel was included with our Safari Package from Odyssey Safaris.
They obviously have researched their hotels and tented camps.
From arriving @ Safari Park Hotel to departing it was very enjoyable. The property is gorgeous, beautiful flowers & trees and well looked after. They have a nice gym, a walking trail around the grounds, the rooms were large, we did receive an upgraded room. No a/c, ceiling fan was all that was needed. Bottled water everyday in the room. The food was good, the staff very friendly. We didn't go to the Casino. We did a tour of Downtown Nairobi and saw some of the other popular named hotels and would rather the Safari Park by far. I also noticed some flight crews stay there. That too is a good sign. Thank You Safari Park for a wonderful stay. Hope to stay with you again .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was at Safari Park Hotel for a two day (not overnight) conference in September 2013 and I was a tad bit disappointed. The conference room was OK but there was no wifi, not even for the facilitators. The quality of food (buffet) was below par and for anyone who wishes to print something at their business center...be ye warned...they charge a premium that is way too exorbitant...who in this day and age charges Kes 935 for a 17 page document? However, I must commend them for maintaining impeccably beautiful grounds and landscapes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.