We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property - good hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great property - good hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for a regional level meeting from 28-31 October 2013. Rooms have no airconditioning - although expect for about two hours each afternoon: one really doesn't need it in Nairobi. Staff polite, friendly and helpful. Owned by Koreans, the property is quite immaculately kept with really green lawns, a profusion of blooming flower beds and a water body/swimming pool that is quite nice. Breakfast was quite the vast spread with interactive cooking. Took in the show and supper at the Nyuma Chuma Ranch (a meat buffet restaurant) in the premises: be warned folks - you need serious appetite to do justice to the lamb, goat, beef, pork, chicken, turkey, ostrich, crocodile as well as salsas, soup and dessert! The show is really good: I am not too keen to see 'traditional' or 'indigenous people' putting on shows - but the music here is modern and the men and women are amazing and quite enjoy themselves. This restaurant also has a 5-piece combo band - who play decent mellow music after the show is over and one is replete with roasted meats. I would love to come back to this hotel...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    144
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
26
85
23
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The area of the hotel is huge, so there are a lot of green space for relaxing or various events. The location is nicely situated in the outskirt of Nairobi city centre which is a nice option for relaxing. The room is very comfortable and give me some sense of safari elegant as all the furniture is dark wood. The service is very nice and friendly indeed. The only thing that I found unimpressive is the food at the hotel. However, the great service and environment of the hotel can conpensate the tasteless food.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Safari Park the first night after arriving in Nairobi. We arrived from the airport very late and only stayed the one night at the start of our vacation. Staff courteous, helpful, made us feel welcome. Rooms had everything that we required. Breakfast avail. nice and early, very good selection. Grounds very gorgeously landscaped. Walked around and took many pictures. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I went there to attend the World Travel Awards event and it was really colorful. I enjoyed the gardens and even they had good professional services. The waiters and waitresses were all smartly dressed. Their meals were really tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only spent one night in this hotel--upon arrival to Nairobi after our international flight--staying here as part of a tour. The hotel is outside of town, about half an hour away from the city's center.

The hotel is on a gigantic compound with casinos, restaurants, pools, conference areas and I think also a grounds with animals. As we arrived late, we didn't really get to explore.

We were assigned room 208 with 3 single beds. The ground floor room was spacious but not well lit. In the room are amenities like fridge, coffee/tea maker, a safe, hair dryer and 3 complimentary bottles of 500mL Dasani water. The room also provided some robes and slippers. In the bathroom are the usual soap and shampoo amenities and plenty of counter space. There is also a bidet. Thankfully the bathroom was pretty well-lit. There was some mold on the ceilings.

The fridge drones quite loudly at night.

Breakfast was served in Cafe Kigwa, a building overlooking the pool and it was decent. The annoying thing is asking for coffee/tea and they take forever to get to you and when you want a refill, you need to ask again. Would've been more efficient to leave a small pot on the table. The best part about the breakfast is the (smaller) bottles of Dasani water you can take.

While taking some pictures and video of the lobby shortly after arrival, I was told by a female security that there is no videotaping in the lobby. WTF? Really, in a tourist-frequented lobby? Give me a break. I videotaped to my heart's content the next morning and the male security didn't say anything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at this hotel. Beautiful grounds and quiet despite being next to the highway. The room was large but desperately needed a refresh. The walls had many marks and the furniture out dated. No air con and the ceiling fan was very noisy. Took about 1 hour from the airport due to the traffic.

We were at a conference so had a buffet in the evening after some great entertainment. All the food was only just warm, good choice but virtually cold. This theme continued the following day at lunch. Breakfast was good and the chef at the egg station was lovely. Had to chase to get coffee served though.

I had room service on the final night which was expensive. I ordered pizza as it was the only dish I thought would be ok if if arrived cold. Luckily it was hot!! Wi fi had to be paid for which my colleague did and then couldn't make it work!!

Overall lovely setting but I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is an oasis next to a highway. The gardens are it greatest asset and great for birdwatching (though it would be nice if the hotel provided a birdlist). The staff was always nice and helpful. So a great escape from the bustle of Nairobi.

The rooms are large, but a little dated. Be prepared to walk a lot (and do not forget things in your room). Restaurants are nice and good variety.

But it is an expensive place and they charge for internet (always a big negative for me).

Also the hotel should invest in more sustainable practices : they could offer a better experience at a lower price that way!

Though distance wise it looks relatively close to the airport, most times it will take you an hour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.