We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but spacious grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Rustic but spacious grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I love the large grounds of this hotel with extensive conferencing facilities which was fine for me as I was there on business but I'm not sure how the holiday people sunbathing felt with many business people walking around. The rooms are comfortable all spread in separate blocks around the grounds so you may need a Torch on an evening. A great selection of restaurants and a bar and casino. a nice little set of shops selling local handmade items.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    150
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
28
87
23
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One of my friends flew to Kenya but the flight was delayed, so I called the hotel to rearrange the pick up. The staff was very helpful and gave us discount on the room.

It was a pleasant experience with the hotel and fast respond from the customer service centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Came here for 4 days while visiting Nairobi on business. Its quite a distance from the airport during rush hour - took at least one hour. The grounds are great - beautiful trees and plants, with paths through to the different restaurants & pools. The rooms are ok, slightly worn but its sort of a rustic type place anyway! No air con but fans in the room and while I was here it didn't get too hot. (April)

Its not in the centre of Nairobi so unless you want a long taxi ride, you pretty much need to stay at the hotel for restaurants etc. There are quite a few, including an Italian and a great Brazilian style African meat restaurant. This restaurant is amazing, you feel like you've eaten a zoo after you walk away! Meats include crocodile, zebra, ostrich etc. Plus there is a show put on, great dancing and music and the acrobats at the end are amazing.

There is a nightclub (Cats club) which gets busy at the weekend.

A couple negative points - no cash machine at the hotel. I needed cash and had to get a taxi (2000 shillings roundtrip) to the nearest cash machine (I was told by the hotel management that they were installing one in this year...) It is expensive, but then the grounds are stunning.

Next time I stay in Nairobi I will stay somewhere more central. But that doesn't mean I will never come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight before an early morning flight out. The hotel was booked for us by a travel agent, and it is too far out from the airport, over an hour in peak traffic, and not somewhere we would have chosen. The grounds are meticulous, almost too much as the hotel is situated in a very poor area of Nairobi. There are armed guards patrolling within the very large security gates. We had a 5.00 pickup and a breakfast box was provided. The bed was the hardest I have ever encountered, slept on top of the quilt for some softness. The staff were friendly and accommodating but I couldn't reccomend this as an overnight stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed in Safari Park several times on business trips in the past year. The hotels is a bit out of town, but close to the office so a good choice from that respect. The hotel grounds are secure and the landscaping is wonderful. Every car going in and out has to pass a gate with guards, making the hotel grounds very safe. The gardens with many plants and big trees are beautiful and also the African Dance show in the Nyama Choma restaurant is highly recommend.
On the down side, the distances between the rooms, reception and restaurants can be quite a long way. The mobile internet (which is recently gone from paid to free) does not have a good signal in all the rooms and can be very slow. Housekeeping is slipping, I stayed for 4 days, and one of the days, I found my room back at 22:00 in the same state I had left it at 7:30 in the morning. No cleaning, bed not made up and no clean towels. On an other night, my mini-bar had not been refilled. One of my colleagues had a big discussion on check in about his taxi (which had been arranged by the hotel). They insisted on a cash payment and would not charge it to the hotel bill. I have also had an experience with no taxi being there to meet me at the airport as agreed. Not major issues but for a hotel of this standing, this is not what you expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor,not too far away from the reception and the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with my family while on a business trip. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are worn. The main restaurant service is excrutiating slow. We ate at the Italian place most nights. We spent one night at the meat restarurant that had a FANTASTIC show -- one of the best performance shows I have ever seen in Africa, New York City or otherwise. It was a breath-taking performance. The prices on everything are silly high -- because we are a captive audience. Do note that you can go to the new Nakumatt grocery store just a few blocks from the hotel to stock up on water and other basics. Beds are firm to hard.

Room Tip: If you get an external facing room (like out to the grounds), you may hear loud music from the parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel, but I did eat at the restaurant Nyama Choma Ranch which is on the ground and would highly recommend that you check it out. It was many years ago but I remember it like it was yesterday. I ate all sorts of exotic meats that I had never dreamed of eating and was well entertained by a band and some dancers that were entertaining that day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.