We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place if the location suits you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 hotels in Nairobi
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Awesome place if the location suits you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Its a great hotel with good food, great rooms, entertainment and casino. The hotel is far from the airport and the city centre. But, if the location suits you, it's awesome. Windsor is not far from here but is costlier. The best parts about this hotel are
1) casino in the house
2) safari cats dinner (for meat lovers) with safari cats dance performance
3) their breakfast starts at 5 am. Great for ppl who have to catch an early flight.

Their Italian restaurant la pizziata is good. Locals also frequent here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    134
    61
    20
    11
See reviews for
25
80
22
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had our wedding and honeymoon night here. The wedding was fabulous and very well organized. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the honeymoon suite was well done. was a good place to stay and would surely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in the Safari Park Hotel for 5 days on a work trip. I've stayed in several hotels in Nairobi and none have grounds to compare with the ones here. It is fantastic to be able to walk, jog, swim, relax and birdwatch in such beautiful and spacious park-like gardens while still close to the centre of the city. And these grounds are undoubtedly the main selling point of the hotel.

I had a first floor room in block 100 with twin beds. The room could have done with a lick of paint and one or two fittings (like the towel rail) needed replacing or fixing, but it was comfortable and spacious, had a nice balacony and view, and a well stocked mini bar and a TV with several foreign channels (though not all had clear reception).

All staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful.

The buffet lunches were excellent. I also tried the Italian restaurant which had good pizza, and the nyama choma place offered veggie options for those not taking the non-stop meat option. The dance troop put on quite a show!

I would agree with complaints made by other reviewers about the caged birds - keeping parrots in a small bare cage by reception is NOT an appropriate image for an international hotel. Putting huge elephant tusks on the lobby wall also needs an explanation - why? where did they come from? why is it not illegal?

By international standards this hotel still needs a few improvements, but overall it is definitely a great place to stay (primarily because of the fantastic grounds) and one of the better options if you are coming to Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel sits om a large site, which is really good maintained. The room has an "Out of Africa"-feeling. No airco, but the fan is actually satisfactory. Nice balcony too. Breakfast is nice, with the opportunity to get a fresh omlet or eggs. You can sit inside or outside by the pool.
The grounds are full of plants, trees and sculpted landscapes. One thing was a real shame though......just outside the reception-area, there is a cage with 3 gray parrots inside; with nothing but a bowl of food and water. It's like showing a child a great cake every day, just outside his reach. That's how I saw the parrots; a beautiful garden, which is just outside their reach. But in front on them evey day. I do not believe that such a fancy hotel needs caged animals to entertain it's guests........

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have nice views over the garden, but no evelator (suitcases have to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

" an ECO hotel" ...
Yes the grounds and gardens are really gorgeous (all year)...
Yes the staff is very friendly and helpful ...
Yes the restaurant has great bbq evenings...
Yes the show can be very entertaining.....
Yes the rooms are okay....
Yes the bathroom could use an upgrade...
Yes it can be noisy at times especially when they have a party or a show....
Yes check in and check out is kinda slow...

And YES in the summer months it can be very hot in the rooms as there is no air con available...just a fan!
Well not exactly as I learned upon check out that IF you want they can provide you with a mobile unit...(would have been handy to know upon check in)...
It is very personal; some people do not like airconditioning when they sleep , me I like to have the choice to turn it on or not. The problem here is that 'bugs' do go into the room because it is not cold...
I liked it - did not love it...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here for a friends wedding May 2011. the rooms are very nice. fans and mosquito nets are in the room if needed. The hotel's grounds were so beautiful and really made for some lovely pictures, both of nature and the wedding party.
The arrangements for taxi's are not very organized or timely, so you are better off doing this yourself and not waiting on them to help you. This hotel is pretty close to town, but give yourself e tea travel time since there is so much construction. Don't forget to only drink bottled water and don't forget to also use for brushing your teeth. My husband became very ill during our stay and had to forgo the safari, which was very sad.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Upon arrival on the first afternoon, after I checked in, I was tempted to write my review immediately, because the hotel's grounds were so beautiful and really made me wish this stay was for relaxation rather than to attend a work-related event. But I'm glad I held on until I checked out:
The GOOD: beautiful grounds. I'm not sure it is like this year-round, but while I was there (last week of Nov 2012), the gardens made me ache for an outdoor lifestyle, where I would spend my days around that pool, or walking leisurely by the ponds. The room itself was decorated with tropical stuff, and the mosquito nets (although they serve a distinct purpose) gave it that added exotic style (see pictures).
The BAD: the service left a lot to be desired. At dinner time, (1st evening) hen I ordered room service, I asked for a glass with ice cubes, and pepper/chili sauce (Tabasco or whatever brand they had in stock). Then having been through enough hotels in Africa to know that they tend to forget whatever is not the dishes ordered, I called the kitchen again (spoke to the VERY same person who had taken my order initially) and told her NOT to forget my chili sauce and the ice. Guess what? They brought the Tabasco, but forgot the ice. The waiter who delivered the tray had to go again, come back, and of course, I had to open the door again, increasing the opportunities for mosquitoes to get in. (The mosquito nets in my room had a few holes big enough to slip my thumb through, which of course defuses the purpose of keeping mosquitos away). Second night room service went OK, because I called twice after the initial order, and had the attendant repeat to me what I had ordered.
The UGLY: The 2nd night (and my last in the hotel), after dinner I went into the bathroom and HORROR: I had a visitor: 2 cockroaches playing one in the tub, the other on the wall. (see pictures). Last, the next morning, when I was checking out, they couldn't produce a bill, though they ran my credit card. After some 40 minutes, (and other people leaving to the airport on same shuttle as me were getting nervous/angry) I left without getting a receipt. Had to call them twice to finally get a bill that I could produce to get reimbursed by my employer.
So, all in all, not impressed, though they have a natural comparative advantage over other hotels, given their superb physical infrastructure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.