We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Upon arrival on the first afternoon, after I checked in, I was tempted to write my review immediately, because the hotel's grounds were so beautiful and really made me wish this stay was for relaxation rather than to attend a work-related event. But I'm glad I held on until I checked out:
The GOOD: beautiful grounds. I'm not sure it is like this year-round, but while I was there (last week of Nov 2012), the gardens made me ache for an outdoor lifestyle, where I would spend my days around that pool, or walking leisurely by the ponds. The room itself was decorated with tropical stuff, and the mosquito nets (although they serve a distinct purpose) gave it that added exotic style (see pictures).
The BAD: the service left a lot to be desired. At dinner time, (1st evening) hen I ordered room service, I asked for a glass with ice cubes, and pepper/chili sauce (Tabasco or whatever brand they had in stock). Then having been through enough hotels in Africa to know that they tend to forget whatever is not the dishes ordered, I called the kitchen again (spoke to the VERY same person who had taken my order initially) and told her NOT to forget my chili sauce and the ice. Guess what? They brought the Tabasco, but forgot the ice. The waiter who delivered the tray had to go again, come back, and of course, I had to open the door again, increasing the opportunities for mosquitoes to get in. (The mosquito nets in my room had a few holes big enough to slip my thumb through, which of course defuses the purpose of keeping mosquitos away). Second night room service went OK, because I called twice after the initial order, and had the attendant repeat to me what I had ordered.
The UGLY: The 2nd night (and my last in the hotel), after dinner I went into the bathroom and HORROR: I had a visitor: 2 cockroaches playing one in the tub, the other on the wall. (see pictures). Last, the next morning, when I was checking out, they couldn't produce a bill, though they ran my credit card. After some 40 minutes, (and other people leaving to the airport on same shuttle as me were getting nervous/angry) I left without getting a receipt. Had to call them twice to finally get a bill that I could produce to get reimbursed by my employer.
So, all in all, not impressed, though they have a natural comparative advantage over other hotels, given their superb physical infrastructure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    146
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
27
86
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

the lunch was nice but the buffet menu is quite limited compared with the other top hotels in nairobi. but the grounds and hotel is beautiful!! good for family outings especially if you have children. they have quite a lot of activities and a menu to fit all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel itself is very pretty located in a tropical setting. However, the service and staff were frustrating compared to all the other hotels I've stayed at in Kenya. At breakfast I requested coffee before sitting down and finally received it after completing my breakfast 15 minutes late. There were 5 other people in breakfast area so it was not an issue of being busy.

The wifi in the room didn't work and when I called the reception they pretended they couldn't hear me on the phone, calling 3x. Then they said they would call back in minutes with the answer - I never received the call.

The internet prices are absolutely outrageous. Would I stay there again - definately not. I booked at the Hilton when I returned to Nairobi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great gardens with well kept grounds. The staff is helpful and very accommodating. We went there for lunch and had a lunch buffet. The food was ok and the kids loved the milkshakes. The pool is a great attraction especially for the kids. I have not tried the night experience and it seems worth trying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Perhaps the best gardens in all of East Africa. Simply magnificent. Worth a visit even if you are not staying overnight. The food: not that great. Hotel now owned by Koreans, so most of the food, the gym, and the strange sauna with weird massage ladies walking around, are all to East Asian tastes. Nonetheless, even for non-Koreans, the hotel is a must see and must stay in Nairobi. The road getting to the hotel, Thika Road, used to be a nightmare. However, the road is now an 8 lane highway and times to and from the city center are minimal. Great location. Finally, great evening traditional African show performances after dinner. Ask your waiter about where to go because there are no signs directing you where to see the show.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Decent, that's all I can say. The lobby is nicely appointed, after arriving from a 18 hour flight from Los Angeles, and leaving the cruddy little airport in Nairobi, I arrived here to find a lobby filled with the pre-recorded sounds of frogs and crocs coming from the attractive water feature out front. The rooms were halfway decent, that's the best I can say. The rooms were nicely appointed in dark wood all over, with an African decor motif. However, the plumbing in the bathrooms was the worst that I had ever seen in a modern hotel. The faucets were old and leaky, and barely any water came out, the bath faucets were equally old and leaky. the toilet was ancient, possibly from the 1950's. This place really needs a complete plumbing do-over to get it up to par with modern standards. After seeing many hotels in Africa, I can say that plumbing is not Africa's strong point.
The location is not the best either, the roads leading away from the hotel are rutted dirt roads teaming with people and donkey carts, Very rough and bouncy. The surrounding neighbourhood is not exactly teaming with wildlife as they promised, instead it's teaming with thugs and hooligans. Lock your car doors, you're in Nairobi now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Safari Park is a good hotel. For Africa, its great. Things the average person needs to know...

Good:
-) Large, even when full hotel seems empty
-) Great bar and good restaurants with plenty of variety. In particular the Sunday buffet & teppanyaki are worth a mention.
-) Nice pool environment, good steam room and baths
-) Freindly staff all around all the time
-) Hotel feels secure in what is not the best part of town
-) Nice room ambience, nice service touches like preparation of the room for you to sleep
-) The show provides good light entertainment

Bad:
-) Prices are very high in restaurants and bars
-) Prices for laundry are extortion
-) Slow check in/check out (note this when you're trying to leave in a hurry!)
-) Bathrooms could be updated & modernised in most rooms
-) Many rooms have a door linking two rooms which lets through a lot of sound, you can be unlucky...
-) Bed quality varies from room to room, you can strike it lucky and get a great one.... or not
-) Saturday night there can be noise until quite late from wedding parties

There have been a couple of points about air conditioning in reviews. It is not needed in Nairobi climate. Unless you are particularly sensitive, you will be fine the room is temperate at night and does not warm up much during the day.

Room Tip: 800's are closest to breakfast and facilties, but are more noisy whilst 500's are furthest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.