We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good starting point for Safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good starting point for Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night before our Safari started. It's a nice hotel, but not so much it's surroundings. Luckily we didn't have to leave the hotel grounds for anything as they have everything (restaurants, bars, ...). The room was good, the bed was a bit hard. Staff was friendly.

We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    134
    58
    19
    10
See reviews for
25
77
21
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a totally amazing hotel, with suites in Hemingway style! Hotel has enormous park territory to walk and have fun. Staff is very hospitable. For gamblers - it has casino as well.
Swimming pools are great! Gym is very professional, it has all the needful equipment, and the fee is affordable. Gym also has hammam and sauna.
This was unforgettable

Room Tip: Ask for a room not far from breakfast restaurant, because territory is really vast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel was my first taste of Africa. Set in beautiful grounds with so many restaurants, bars and a casino you really didnt need to go any place else. Our room was really comfortable and I wished we could have stayed more then 2 nights. We had dinner the first night in the bbq restaurant which we really enjoyed. It is very similar to the famous Carnivore restaurant in Nairobi but half the price and you also get the see a live show with some fanatstic dancers. The hotel reception helped us organise a private taxi to do a tour around the city the next day as well.
I would definately stay here again if I was lucky enough to go back to Kenya

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel has beautiful, extensive and very well taken care grounds. It is also in a good location for touring Nairobi. The rooms and bathrooms could use some refurbishing, nonetheless, are spacious and comfortable. Ours had a romantic four poster bed and a comfortable balcony, where you could sit and enjoy a glass of wine, while enjoying the greenery.
Rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, safety deposit boxes, robes, slippers, tv, phone and a desk. The bathrooms are comfortable, with a marble counter top, and bathtub.
The hotel is very large and offers several excellent restaurants. We ate breakfast and lunch at Cafe Kigwa, which offers buffet style meals and a made to order station for eggs, pancakes, omelets, etc. We also tried the Nyama Choma Ranch for Kenyan roasted barbecued meats, which had good entertainment of the Safari Cats Dancers & Acrobats and on our last evening we enjoyed the Italian Restaurant La Piazzetta, with tasty pasta and pizzas in a nice atmosphere.
There is a shopping arcade at the back of the hotel with several shops. There was one, immediately as you enter to the right hand side, where we bought a few items. The owner and his wife are very friendly and the merchandise is well priced.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable experience at the Safari Park.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have balconies. Top level rooms have a better view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here both before and after our safari and found the hotel to be excellent. We were travelling on a beach holiday after the safari and were able to leave our luggage at the hotel during our safari which was great.

Whilst Nairobi may have a reputation as unsafe you did not get that vibe at all at this hotel, the grounds and hotel itself were lovely, both rooms we stayed in were great quality and very clean, and the staff were all very polite, friendly and helpful.

We ate at the international restaurant and the african restaurant, we would recommend them both as the food quality was excellent and the show at the african restaurant is really good.

The upstairs bar is also worth a visit as its a lovely area and the bar prices are very reasonable.

Overall a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This beautiful place is about 20 km away from Nairobi,with well-maintained gardens and grounds.People prefer to stay at the hotel after or before the safari trips just like we did.It has like 4-5 A la Carte restaurants with different concepts and a very rich breakfast buffet.We had dinner at the African Restaurant,which was easily compatible with the one inside the town.They had a very nice local dance show and we loved it.After a very early Turkish Airlines landing,we were allowed to check-in at 4 am and it was a generous and lovely gesture.I would like to thank Stephen,the FOM on behalf of the hotel once again.Absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms close to reception area,though didn't matter to us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Location of hotel very inconvenient, and rooms are old, run-down and in bad shape.

However there are lost of restaurant in the premises and nice African shows and bands in the evening. Gym facilities poor, no air conditioning.

Conference facilities where good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.