We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial style, great entertainment!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Colonial style, great entertainment!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night as we were transfering between a safari and the Seychelles. The hotel is surrounded by great grounds, and when we arrived we were told we'd been given a suite as we were on honeymoon. This suite was great, with wooden floors and four-poster bed, plus a balcony to sit on and look out over the lovely gardens!! Food for lunch wasn't cheap, and the pool was to be avoided, but for a brief stop off it was good.
The highlight of the stay was the evening entertainment, which involved a sort of musical, which turned into a great display of gymnastics!! (we're not going to say any more, as we wouldn't want to give away what happens!!). Food during this evening was fantastic, as it was BBQed in front of you on a huge fire, and then cut off huge spits directly onto your plate.
Overall, if we were staying in Nairobi again, we would consider this hotel, and one point to note - always get a taxi (its too dangerous to travel any other way, and finding your way around would be pretty impossible). And if you find someone like our taxi driver, he'll turn up when and where you need to get you from A to B.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    157
    66
    21
    12
See reviews for
29
89
24
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, NY
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed here after a long flight from the US and then Europe. This is a huge facility with multiple buildings. (To send an email I had to walk to another building a few minutes away.)
Being out of downtown Nairobi was, I think, safer than being in town.
I would have never found the place without a knowledgeable driver from the airport.

Food and accommodations were excellent. I felt very safe there and would certainly return should I return to Nairobi as a tourist. Probably not very convenient for businesspeople doing business in the city.
The grounds were very spacious. Beautiful plantings, trees, lawns abound. Lots of beautiful birds.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

We were here three times on our trip to Kenya. Each room was clean and nicely furnished and the bathrooms were large and adequate. Only one of the three rooms had a screened window that opened. In the other two getting fresh air was not feasible if you're concerned about mosquitoes.

The hotel provides only two small bottles of water. If you want more you have to buy it and it's a bit pricey. It is not recommended to drink the tap water.

The grounds of this place are lovely and extensive. It is a huge place with a casino, swimming pools, ponds, tennis courts, fitness center, etc. There are several restaurants and the included breakfast was quite good. Staff were efficient and friendly.

It was a great place to crash after the flight from the US and after two long drives on the harrowing Kenyan roads. It is located near the outskirts of Nairobi, so the worst of the traffic can be avoided, unless you're going to the airport. If you are, leave lots of time to get there.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse,Yukon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on two occasions during the month of October. Though the surroundings are idealic, I am not sure that we could classify the plumbing in the same vain. If they truly want to advertise the resort as 5* then they should invest in some retrofitting.
We found the staff affable and conscientious and the food equally as enjoyable.

  • Liked — Flowers, plants, foliage
  • Disliked — PLUMBING
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIGERIA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

This is perfect combination of modernity, culture and style. The rooms are clean, spacious, and quiet.
The ancient city-like appearance of the hotel and the serene environment adds to the pure joy of staying in this hotel.
The workers are friendly and courteous... I love the water fall..the restaurants and a whole lot more.
Make use of the in-house travel agent to obtain significant discount on the hotel rate...upto 40% off.

  • Liked — SPACIOUS ROOMS
  • Disliked — COST
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassala
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

just returned from a workshop held in Safari hotel - can say only - horrible !!!!!!!!!!!!! for 5 star hotel? give me a break - lost most the stars. I was also impressed when we arrived with the set up and the reception BUT

The bathrooms are in need of proper cleaning the same as the rooms. The towels were of such grey colour and stank - sure it was of white colour some 10-15 years ago...

In general staff was veryyyyyy slow - it was taking ages to do something - seems like every staff was the brother of the manager - was quite disturbed with the requests.
I kept coming to the reception every day of my 5 day stay, asking to fix safe box - I was every day told - Sorry, we will fix it now... of course nothing happened.

Food. It was surprisingly bad pastries for desserts for such a hotel - fruits did a good job, but cakes and mousses were dreadful. Forget about coffee- breaks - they used to bring the stuff which was rarely looking good.

The famous roasted meat was often not chewable ...

Chinese or something that was named Chinese food was just a joke...

The only decent place to eat was Japanese - though first time in my life I was provided microwaved green tea - the tea which I get initially was just warm and seemed not to be fresh. When I asked for a better tea - my tea pot went to microwave to be heated up - but of course it did not improve its taste .

Do not eat tiramisu in Italian - not worth those money , the same stands for pizza.
And do not go for performance at Kenyan restaurant - seems that just took some people from the streets who were dancing in African masks the ballet.
Sauna was another dreadful experience - first of all, you have to pay additional fee for fitness club. The floor in sauna was carpeted !!!!??? Who was that genius? What about toxic fumes? Then benches were covered with 2 layers of towels - and of course dirty towels - nice a??? Everywhere there were sign please do not put you clothe for drying - and of course it was there!!!!!

The taxi driver from hotel tried to cheat instead of 1000 shillings for town fees he was asking 1500 per person.

My only positive experience of the hotel was salmon fish for breakfast (though not quickly refilled), fresh pine apple and garden.

In general, it is not worth those money you pay ... quite disappointing...

  • Liked — garden
  • Disliked — towels
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We used this hotel as a base for a week, I was very impressed on arrival, after a hectic journey from the airport it was like an oasis. It's very green and lush, lots of lovely gardens and plants and the rooms are spread over a large area so it's not at all high rise. The reception is impressive with a large elephant statue and a big roaring fire (it got quite chilly at night). The rooms were very nice, big bed and a balcony with a view over the gardens and pond. The rooms were a little tired around the edges but overall just fine. I liked Hemmingways bar the most, a very nice setting for a pre dinner (and after dinner!) drink with low lighting and a great piano player and a good view from the balcony where you can see the grounds and even onto the reception. Caffe Kigwa is okay, a little basic for lunch but the breakfast was very good. We ended up in the Italian most nights, food a little bland but the pizza's freshly cooked.

The swimming pools were very nice (water is cold though!) and there are plenty of food choices. It did sometimes feel like I was at a theme park and some areas of the hotel could do with a makeover (the carpet on the stairs leading from cafe Kigwa to the Japanese and Chinese reseraunt was filthy and put me off eating there).

  • Liked — Hemmingways bar
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.