We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Watamu, Kenya
2 reviews
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is my second visit to Nairobi and Safari Park. This time around we are coming back from a Safari trip. Safari Park is well secured and recommended by the embassy. The lobby is impressive as always. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautifully furnished, had everything that I needed, really.. no complaints here. The one thing that made me come back to this place is the African restaurant. If you're a meat lover like myself then this is meat heaven. The show comes on about 9 pm, an enthralling display of traditional African dance and acrobatics. Also this time around, there were 3 wedding receptions and a couple of conferences in the hotel. This made some places inaccessible. If you like to relax by the pool without any disturbances, then this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    150
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
28
87
23
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went to Safari Park for one of my best friends wedding, and I must say, I was totally impressed. It's a huge beautiful place, with great staff and a nice breeze of fresh air. The fact that it's away from the Nairobi city centre made me love it even more!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Very different from other Nairobi hotels - as it is on the outskirts of town it is set in large grounds and exudes space and tranquility. Public facilities are good and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are quite dark and traditional but very clean, spacious and comfortable. Beds are massively comfortable.

Breakfast is fab, evening buffet average.

The new Thika Highway is amazing... Shaves a huge amount of time off transfers from JKIA.

Not for one night NBO stays but for 2+ or pre-safari, its perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Safari Park Hotel impresses from the moment you enter Reception. A large, spacious resort with well-kept grounds and accommodation lodges spread throughout. Lots of sculptures, water features and places to walk around. This is also a good base to explore further afield. There is good security, especially at night.

The spa centre is well worth a visit - make use of the facilities, sauna, steam room, ice-plunge.... you'll be totally relaxed when you're done.

Room furnishings are good, and the room is clean and comfortable. Not surprisingly, many of the buildings are designed and built to reflect a safari feel but you have the comfort of a 4/5* hotel.

The Safari Park Hotel is some way outside of Nairobi city centre, but anywhere is reachable and can be arranged by the Hotel. It's well worth staying at if you want to relax part-way through a longer trip through Kenya.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was our first visit to Africa. We were booked into the Safari Park Hotel in Nairobi, where our Safari tour was to begin. We had no expectations. But the warmth and friendliness of the staff and the hotel's ambiance amazed us. It was truly a memorable experience.

In the hotel lobby was a huge model of an African Bull elephant - so much bigger than their counterpart in India. This put us into the 'safari' mood!

We had a pleasant surprise waiting for us. We had asked for a twin and a single room, but the management decided to put us into a 2 bed-roomed VIP suite! The suite was like an apartment, well equipped and beautifully furnished. Unfortunately we had only one night to enjoy the lovely quarters as our safari tour started the very next day.

Both staff and service were superb. Dinner was Ala carte as the hotel's policy was to lay a buffet only when they had a huge group staying there. Food was served elegantly and promptly. Breakfast was buffet style and there were both local and Western dishes.

We were thrilled to learn that we would be staying one more night at the end of our 14 day Safari tour. This time we had our twin and single rooms, which were also very well maintained and comfortably furnished. We had just enough time to walk up the stairs to the Hemingway Bar which was another wonderful part of the huge hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good stay in Nairobi. One point to note is that it seemed to be quite far from the airport and so may not be suitable for some.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony - if you have the time to stand and admire the luscious gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I arrived by a early morning flight and decided to spend a night in Nairobi before driving down to samburu. This place is a 5 star property . The rooms are excellent , the layout is well planned . The moment you step into the reception you get. The feel of a wildlife lodge, albeit a luxury one.
In the evening there is a excellent African dance and acrobatic show along with a barbeque dinner. Don't miss the show . It's very well presented with excellent ambience. For those wanting to lose some money there is a small casino :) It is slightly away from the town .
All together it was a very relaxing stay. Will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I did not stay at this hotel. I did come here to enjoy a wonderful dinner and show. The food is served in style similar to Fogo Deo Chao. The food was great. Besides the norm, I ate crocodile and ostrich. Of all the meats, I think the crocodile was the best.

This next point is extremely important. The African Cultural show starts at 9 p.m. (at least it did this particular night). You should arrive around 8 -- 8:15 so you can enjoy the food and then sit back and watch a marvelous show. I was truly impressed! If you come too early, you might miss the show. Try to sit towards the middle the tables near the front. If you sit at the front tables, you are not able to see all that is happening towards the back of the stage.

We visited this place, this past July (which is Kenya's cool season) so sitting outside was extremely pleasant. The trip to get to this restaurant is worth it.

Don't leave immediately, when it is over. Stay around to have your picture taken with the dancers. The dancers invite the guests to come up on the stage to sit on a bench while the dancers sit and/or stand around you while the picture is taken.

There are few places that I would revisit in Nairobi, however, next year, when I return, I will bring my friends to this place. It is really that good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.