We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Africa & honeymoon & 50th birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 131 Hotels in Nairobi
Westerlo (Belgium)
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First trip to Africa & honeymoon & 50th birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

As we had a lot of things to celebrate we decided to go for the first time to Africa. Kenya was a good choice to start with, and the safari Park hotel was recommended.
We stayed for 5 days - doing safaris in between - and came back after our trip to Zanzibar before going home.
The hotel has great accomodation : different restaurants,nice shops, a wonderful garden, a nice swimming pool, and very friendly people working there.
It is really a good place to stay.
The only remark is that the bed is really hard to sleep on :-(

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    173
    71
    24
    14
See reviews for
33
91
25
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very touristy place in the heart of Nairobi, crowded with people coming and going, not a pleasant place to relax. From some rooms the traffic noise can be heard. Room furbishing is simple, but not bad. Bathrooms ok. No nice panorama from the terraces, garden could be better. Breakfast: except for ony type of bread, wide choice, but bad quality. Drinks overpriced. Dinner: we tried the Nyama Choma restaurant - same type as Carnivore, so no surprise, I wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Its a beautiful setting, very atmospheric. The staff are friendly and helpful and the italian and chinese restaurants are really good; curries in the main restaurant are also very good. Furnishings are a bit tired and not everything works in every room, and no aircon - mosquito nets. Tennis courts and equipment have seen better days but overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The hotel has a big garden and a nice pool area. We stayed there 2 times, first time before the safari and then after. The first room was not so nice, I guess it was in the block with the roomnr. 6xx, when we came back for our second stay we to a upgrade as we asked to have late check out, we got charged for it, but as our flight left around midnight this was ok. They organised the cab so we payed the cabe for both rides from and to airport to the hotel. So not bargaining with drivers. There are different restaurants, the italien is quite good. I went also to the hairdresser, and for 7$ I really can't complain, here it costs 5x more...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had our wedding here and they give arranged to come back for our complementary honeymoon and an extra day (18th and 19th December, 2011). Jared Isanda pulled all stops to make sure that our fabulous stay was even more fantastic, I even learned that he was already off and he came back to make sure that we were comfortable (where do you get such committed employees). He arranged for dinner at the African restaurant....we were met by a team who were prepared to help us enjoy our night...The service was great..we even had a surprise song from the entertainers( and it was my favorite song "You are still the one"). Thanks so much. Mr. Isanda even arranged for a surprise cake...we had a good time. Thank you so much and thank you so so much Mr. Isanda. My husband now has decided to have all our anniversary back in Kenya each year, am looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Incase you are unsure ask for Mr. Isanda
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed one night in this hotel in October 2011. Very nice hotel on outskirts of Nairobi, gated and secure, set in beautiful floral gardens with lots of bird life. There were several levels with steps within the hotel grounds, but ramps had been provided alongside the steps. Bedroom very large with a 4-poster bed with mosquito net. Large bathroom with bath. Mosquito killer spray provided; safe in room, laundry done in 24 hrs. Wonderful foyer area with life size elephant statue. Numerous swimming pools and 5 restaurants. We can highly recommend the evening African barbecue – an excellent value meal, a chance to try unusual meats such as camel, crocodile and ostrich. The food and service was excellent.

The African dance troupe who gave a one-hour show were very professional, vibrant and well costumed – quite amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This hotel was a staggering $180 per night for a single room. The room was nice, but there were little things like no air-con, chipped enamle on the bathroom suit, Tv remote didn't work, hot water tap initially didn't work(?) - it turned but no water.

The dancers/acrobats in the evening caberet were good, but the accompanying Safari BBQ was just OK and the 'Italian' restuarant was disappointing.

However, the worse part was the lack of interest in customer support - for this sort of money you'd think the service at reception would be sensational - its not. They know there is little choice in this area, so they charge what they want and don't seem to care.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel LaMada
#64 of 131 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 131 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.