We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Safari Park !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Safari Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We loved Safari Park !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We can't believe the last review of this hotel. The room, grounds, and choice of restaurants were all amazing. We stayed there our first night before a two week safari, and loved it just as much as any of the fine resorts and luxury tented accommodations on safari. We came in very early in the morning, and they were kind enough to let us have a room to sleep off our jet lag plus the next night -- no charge. The shopping arcade at the back of the property had better deals and merchandise than any of the pottie stop shops along the safari. In fact, I saw a selection at the hotel that I never saw duplicated anywhere else. I'm sorry I didn't buy more. Just a stroll around the property was a wonderful, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    123
    54
    18
    9
See reviews for
23
75
19
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

After a 4 week safari in Kenya and Tanzania, we returned to the Safari Park Hotel for a week long International Conference. We were dirty, dusty and probably had a certain eau de Afrique! The spacious, clean room was a welcome sight, especially the shower and tub...somewhat dated but entirely usable, clean and with plentiful hot water! Laundry service was a welcome treat, since we had very little clean! Evenings were spent sampling the many restaurants in the compound,perusing the many little gift and souvenier shops and then relaxing on our private balcony. There are several swimming areas with little connecting 'rivers' to swim along. The Hotel is out from the downtown business district, but well worth the taxi ride (the hotel desk will arrange a clean, reliable taxi for you). WiFi was available in the room and public areas, and a business center for copying and faxing etc. This hotel was a lovely little oasis in Nairobi in a secure compound, but readily available to the city life if that's what you wished!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Beatifull Hotel in Nairobi! Not close to the city but you don't need to go to the city since theres not much to see there. Nairobi is beautifull because of his country side and wild life and of course, his people. The hotel surroundings are really wonderfull with great swimming pools, restaurants with very good food and the best stores in Nairobi are in the hotel!! Not the one in the Looby, please!! Walk to the main restaurant and in the back of it, there is a small shopping village that is very nice!! Don't miss the second store in the right hand side!! They have lovely items and the Nairobi owners of the store are very nice and helpful!!! Enjoy your stay and enjoy your safari!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are big and quiet, specially the 2nd floor. Don't expect air conditioning!!All rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyndi63
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The grounds at this hotel are beautiful. The breakfast is great and the Brazilian restaurant is good. The best part of the Brazilian restaurant was the nightly show. Worth attending. The alacarte menu at the 24 hr restaurant was mediocre. The gift shops are fairly priced with the discount they give you.

The rooms are a bit dated. The beds beautiful!! We stayed 2 nights and the walking from the room to the restaurant, gift shop etc was long especially after taxing international flights.

There was music playing until 2am.

The concierge was awesome and extremely accommodating

Room Tip: work out ahead of time to get a room close to the reception area other wise you will be hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Good from Far but Very Far from Good.

I came in for dinner yesterday and was living at around 2230 hours. I can’t really complain about the food it was good, but when i was living the G4S security guard at the main entrance started talking badly. Apparently just because i dint have a CAR the guard started talking to me in an uncouth and disrespectful way. He was misjudging me of being a hooker and to make matters worse he was trying to rip me off money to let me out and no apologies were made by him. The hotel security manager had to come in and intervene and confirm i was there for dinner. It just made my day horrible. I had actually heard of such complaints from my lady friend but i didn’t know it was that serious. A little customer care doesn't cost a thing. In short train your security guards to be professional and respect all guest despite their color or class. A hotel is not a prison.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This lovely retreat right outside of Nairobi has some clear advantages over the upscale hotels in the center of the city, including a lovely garden, and its overall peaceful and tranquil setting. Depending on traffic, it can easily take up to an hour to get to the center of the city, and even longer to the airport. It is not nearly as luxurious as the fine hotels in Nairobi, such as the Intercontinental or the Norfolk. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. Other facilities, such as the fitness center, are dated and the equipment needs to be replaced. It is nonetheless an acceptable option for a day stopover in Nairobi before or after safari, or for a business meeting or conference. The staff are all very nice and the overall atmosphere is very pleasant and hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

July 2010...... Travelling with 3 other ladies, we had our last night of 2 weeks in Kenya here and were made so welcome. We had met many of the managers out west at Lake Boringo when they were on a team bonding weekend and we were also there for the weekend. We thought they would have forgotten us by the following weekend when we were to stay at Safari Park but no...we were treated like family and received complimentry fruit baskets to our room etc. Will always remember this place fondly.
We ate at the African restaurant (Nyama Choma) and watched the Safari Cats stage show which was fantastic.
When planning the trip my agant had suggested staying here and I was keen to stay in the city of Nairobi. This place sounded way more expensive from description but was actually cost less than city hotels. AND way more peaceful and quiet.
If you have a good travel agent who knows Africa...my advice is listen to them...mine knows her stuff.
Would definately recommend and we found this a great place for the last night, when we were tired, had to sort and repack for the trip home. The rooms were beautifully decorated and roomy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi
Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.