We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and grounds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otel.com Travelocity
and 2 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 93 hotels in Nairobi
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and grounds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights, one at the beginning of our trip and the other at the end of the trip. One room was on the first floor and second stay we had a second story room. Both were similar. The room decor is very attractive and the beds were quite comfortable (somewhat firm as most in Africa were). The grounds are very large and landscaped beautifully. We ate at the buffet which was very good. We also ate from the same restaurant but off of a menu. One of us had a hamburger and the other a pasta dish. Both were very good. We were with a tour group (SmarTours) so didn't have too much contact with the staff. We did use the business center for the wireless internet which worked well. Watched the evening live entertainment which we were hoping would be authentic African, but it was kind of "cheesy". Overall, this was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    123
    54
    18
    9
See reviews for
23
75
19
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - my second visit to Nairobi. It took 2.5 hours to reach the hotel from the airport due to chaotic traffic. Roadworks everywhere. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens, rooms are great, bed very comfortable, staff very efficient and friendly. There are a few excellent restaurants in the hotel grounds, breakfast was an enormous buffet spread, excellent coffee. Not a good hotel if you have business in the city center - it will take way too long to get there and back.

Room Tip: Hotel complex is very big so ask if you would like to be close to pools, breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Good, friendly service although tended to get names on reservations mixed up quite often. Good restaurants

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Our airport transfer took 1 hr as it was raining and the traffic was terrible - there is major roadworks going on at the moment.
This is more of a resort with a huge pool spa area and lovely gardens to stroll through.
Our room was full of old world charm with a 4 post bed, lounge, writing desk and a balcony with table and chairs, the only modern addition being a large flat screen TV. The bathroom needed an update but was clean and tidy and had a bath and shower with plenty of pressure and hot water. My only real complaint would be the lighting - it always seemed dull.
There were plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from just be careful of the added VAT, service and training charges which add about 30% to your bill except for the main restaurant where it was included. Breakfast is a huge buffet affair to suit most tastes.
There is also a casino, curio shops and money exchange to spend more of your cash.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, just a little slow when you ask for something out of the ordinary as happens in most of Africa.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close as possible to the main reception building otherwise it can be a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My family (x5) have recently returned from a trip to Kenya (awesome)! We flew into Nairobi and stayed 1 night at Safari Park Hotel, then did a safari and stay at Watamu, returning to Nairobi via the train from Mombassa and staying for our last night at Safari Park. This hotel is beautiful with showing it's old colonial style with its architecture, many lovely gardens, it's colonial pool and many different restaurants. The staff are smart and extremely helpful, always willing to lend a hand. The bedrooms are large and extremely comfortable; though on the first night the put up bed for our younger daughter managed to make a sandwich of me, so she slept with us in a four poster so large we didn't know she was there! Good coffee/tea making facilities within the room. It's such an attractive and large venue that on our last day there we noticed there were 3 wedding receptions taking place, all of which had their own private venues and no crossovers! - I don't think there are many hotels in the UK with that facilility. The bathrooms, marble interiors are definitely jaded, but we the grace of this lovely building overcame that. We had room service, as we simply were too tired from our safariing to choose which restaurant all of us wanted to go to! Beware on this score, the hike in price for delivery of chips and pizza was really rather cheeky and given we were at the end of our holiday we were looking to watch out for every shilling! The hotel will change monies for you, at a fair price. Though it wasn't as good as our contact in Watamu - thank you Abul!

One big challenge is that the Safari Park is on the far side of Nairobi, which given the state of the roads at the moment is MORE than challenging! It's ok if you going out by jeep to safari in the Aberdares/Samburu etc, but the trip back, at night, in heavy rain, to the airport was one we won't forget in a hurry - in fact we've called it "an adventure" - driving round the M25 in the wrong direction, no lights, heavy rain and potholes, with people milling around is a calm description! The breakfast was more than continental,with a lot of Koreans visiting, we experienced their foodstuffs as well as good old English breakfasts and a continental fare of which we were more accustomed to.

Room Tip: We had two rooms in the 600+ on the ground floor, upon our return, these didn't get the disco no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel needs to have better trained staff, very slow, very inefficient service & expensive, rooms were very confortable

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel was our over night stop before heading to the masi mara and was top of all the hotels we went to. nice welcome with a wet towel and fruit drink which was lovely. We were took to our room and it mas a large room with two double beds a mosquito net around each one. We had a bath and shower, nice towels and complimentry soap, shampoo, shower gel and wash caps. There were also packet with nail file cotton buds tooth pick. There was a mini bar in the room and snacks which were not of a high charge. Our balcony looked out on to the beautiful gardens.
There was alot to explore here the gardens are big with lots of different birds and butterflies. The staff are friendly and helpful. there are a number of restaurants to choose from here though we only had one day and ate the the main restaurant which was lovely. the fruit is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi
Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list