We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari Park Hotel - A Graceful Old Lady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Safari Park Hotel - A Graceful Old Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My family (x5) have recently returned from a trip to Kenya (awesome)! We flew into Nairobi and stayed 1 night at Safari Park Hotel, then did a safari and stay at Watamu, returning to Nairobi via the train from Mombassa and staying for our last night at Safari Park. This hotel is beautiful with showing it's old colonial style with its architecture, many lovely gardens, it's colonial pool and many different restaurants. The staff are smart and extremely helpful, always willing to lend a hand. The bedrooms are large and extremely comfortable; though on the first night the put up bed for our younger daughter managed to make a sandwich of me, so she slept with us in a four poster so large we didn't know she was there! Good coffee/tea making facilities within the room. It's such an attractive and large venue that on our last day there we noticed there were 3 wedding receptions taking place, all of which had their own private venues and no crossovers! - I don't think there are many hotels in the UK with that facilility. The bathrooms, marble interiors are definitely jaded, but we the grace of this lovely building overcame that. We had room service, as we simply were too tired from our safariing to choose which restaurant all of us wanted to go to! Beware on this score, the hike in price for delivery of chips and pizza was really rather cheeky and given we were at the end of our holiday we were looking to watch out for every shilling! The hotel will change monies for you, at a fair price. Though it wasn't as good as our contact in Watamu - thank you Abul!

One big challenge is that the Safari Park is on the far side of Nairobi, which given the state of the roads at the moment is MORE than challenging! It's ok if you going out by jeep to safari in the Aberdares/Samburu etc, but the trip back, at night, in heavy rain, to the airport was one we won't forget in a hurry - in fact we've called it "an adventure" - driving round the M25 in the wrong direction, no lights, heavy rain and potholes, with people milling around is a calm description! The breakfast was more than continental,with a lot of Koreans visiting, we experienced their foodstuffs as well as good old English breakfasts and a continental fare of which we were more accustomed to.

Room Tip: We had two rooms in the 600+ on the ground floor, upon our return, these didn't get the disco no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    146
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
27
86
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel needs to have better trained staff, very slow, very inefficient service & expensive, rooms were very confortable

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel was our over night stop before heading to the masi mara and was top of all the hotels we went to. nice welcome with a wet towel and fruit drink which was lovely. We were took to our room and it mas a large room with two double beds a mosquito net around each one. We had a bath and shower, nice towels and complimentry soap, shampoo, shower gel and wash caps. There were also packet with nail file cotton buds tooth pick. There was a mini bar in the room and snacks which were not of a high charge. Our balcony looked out on to the beautiful gardens.
There was alot to explore here the gardens are big with lots of different birds and butterflies. The staff are friendly and helpful. there are a number of restaurants to choose from here though we only had one day and ate the the main restaurant which was lovely. the fruit is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swords
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

they need to be friendly and clean the pool was terrible if you had young kids they would not be able to swim because the water was so cold it caught your breath it was too deep about 8ft maybe 9ft deep and it was too dirty. and the other pool was empty and when we asked about when it would be filled they kept saying tomorrow, but it was never filled .the staff i found was not very helpfully and it was to far out of town no shops were near.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We arrive at the Safaria Park after a long flight from NY via London. We were part of a 22 person tour group with Smartours. The hotel is on the outskirts of Nairobi so if you want to see the city; this is not the place to stay. We were greeted warmly with wet towels and fruit juice. We were given our room assignments and the porters whisked us and our bags to our room. The rooms were nice; we were in the 500 building--quiet. The room was clean; it had the typical amenities and the beds were comfortable. The grounds are really beautiful and a great place for a walk. The food was typical for a tour group; buffet for breakfast had a good variety including a omelett bar and we could eat all the fruits and vegetables without fear of illness. The dinner we had the next night was just like at the Carnivore Restaurant--all types of meat on skewers (goat, camel, crocodile, beef, chicken, lamb etc.) and a variety of side dishes--exotic but all right. We were also treated to a great show. We also spent one night here again on our way to Tanzania. This time dinner was on our own and we tried the Italian restaurant at the hotel. It was absolutely awesome. It is owned by a expat Italian who we watched make the pasta for the night. Fabulous meal at a very reasonable price. Also the shops at the back of the hotel had the best prices on souvenirs. They have an impressive variety of goods and will baragain on the price. Much better prices than the curio shops we stopped at during our safari in Kenya. All in all it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed our first night in Kenya as part of our safari. Absolutely wonderful introduction to Kenya. Greeted at reception with chilled glasses of delicious fruit juice and then shown to our really comfortable room. The gardens are beautiful & there are 5 restaurants to choose from for meals. We tried the African restaurant & were not disappointed. The food was great and there was a show after dinner. Recommended for a stay for couples or a family.
During our stay the spa & one of the swimming pools were closed for maintenance but this can be excused as it is winter in Kenya.

Room Tip: Stay more than 1 night to make best use of the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in July 2011 while on tour with Smartours.
Hotel is excellent. Nice clean rooms. Nothing to complain about.

The only thing I would like to point are few tips for people staying there.
1. Do not buy anything is lobby gift shop.
They are 10+ gift shops at the back of hotel behind restaurants. Better deals.
Just go through main buffet area and you will see them.
Especially I can recommend store NR. 9. Very friendly owner and he offered us great
discounts.
2. Buffet breakfast or dinner is not a good deal + food is the same every day.
They have excellent regular menu food 1/2 price of buffet.
3. Every day they have dancers show + meet only, rodizio style dinner. We did not like the meets since most of them were chewy.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.