We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start a Kenyan Safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place to start a Kenyan Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Hotel is several miles from the center of town but all game park lodges are safe and secure,, in town you need to use a little care. Most travel guides recommended a dining excursion in town to Carnivore for dinner,, probably the most famous place to eat in East Africa. Our tour operator in Kenya, Private Safari, told us that a similar restaurant on the grounds of the Safari Park Hotel would provide just as good an experience and more than meeted our expectations with Masai sword cooking over a BBQ with all types of different meat on each sword. The swords are brought to your table and meat sliced until you can no longer breathe or move. Tried 2 new meats, Nile crocodile and camel,, but they also had all the regulars cooking too including turkey and Masai beef. After dinner you sit and watch a floor show and drink down the local beers,, Tuskers.

Room Tip: Rooms look out over lovely park set
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    161
    66
    23
    12
See reviews for
30
89
24
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is nice, the grounds are beautiful. The food was very good with a variety. The staff was very nice, but we had to ask repeatedly for basics like towels, toilet paper, etc. that should have been taken care of daily. This was more than a usual annoyance given that we were putting in long arduous days - did not want to come back and have to fight for basics like towels at the evening. The beds are very firm. Was fine at the beginning of the week, but by the end, my hips hurt - no padding!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I was very impressed by the natural beauty surrounding our rooms. I was equally impressed by the courteous staff, my room, and the view from my backyard. The buffet breakfast is very good. It is far from the central city, but that was not a problem for me as my group had its own driver. I would love to stay here again. It really does feel like a vacation in Africa when you stay in this oasis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've stayed at Safari Park several weeks over the last five years, and I like it a lot.

Location - it is a bit outside of Nairobi (Thika Road), which can be good or bad depending on what you need (but definitely bad if mist of your business is s downtown Nairobi). The road is being reconstructed, which is a pain right now but will help a lot once finished.

Safari Park is a mini city, self contained with five restaurants and several swimming pools, kind of exploring Africa Disney style (sorry...not completely fair...) but done in a nice and stylish way. But the main reason why I like the place is the staff....absolutely amazing African hospitality, and they recognise you already on your second stay :-))

The Nyama Choma (African all you can eat BBQ) is a must, and excellent value for money (forget Carnivore...this is better). The Safari Cat show is a delight, although a bit of a tourist trap. And the night club downstairs can be great fun....if you have the right attitude...

Overall, a great choice if you prefer to stay away from Nairobi city center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Good hardware and not obvious problems in the room condition. The taxi service was also very nice. We hired a taxi recommended by the hotel for Nairobi city center at evening, and received very heart-touched service as the driver advised us carefully on security and accompanied us for money exchange and shopping without claim for more fee (we paid more tip to him as reward to this enjoyable trip). The largest issues to this hotel are two: 1. The road conecting the hotel and Nairobi city center is under unstruction, resulting to dusty trips in and out of the hotel; 2. Internet access is toooo expensive, USD 10 per hour!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days/1 night. It was outside the city and was like a little city within itself. There are many buildings that housed rooms, casino, shops, restaurants, lobby and gym.

Pros:

1. Outside the city

2. Had things to do on property to stay entertained --- Cheetah Cat show (excellent!), Casino (okay not top of the line but passes the time), gym (good) and cafes to get drinks and meet up with friends.

3. Rooms where large and for the most part clean and modern.

4. Service of staff was great. Attentive and Friendly

Cons:

1. My room was right next to a wedding that started in the middle of the day and went into the wee hours of the morning. I could not get to sleep with all the music/noise.

2. The pool was disgusting. It had slime/sludge all over it and just was not a good idea to go into it.

3. The food for breakfast looked like it had been out for awhile and was not edible.

Overall for where it was it was not bad....average.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding and if so ask to be pla
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is my second time at this hotel and basically nothing has changed which is positive. The only thing that is annoying is the slow and expensive internet. No idea why this can not be improoved... But all in all still a very nice and quite expensive place to stay.

The hotel is surrounded with lots of nature. Accomodation is located in different houses. There are a couple of restaurant which serve excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.