We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice outside if Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Geneva
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A good choice outside if Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've stayed at Safari Park several weeks over the last five years, and I like it a lot.

Location - it is a bit outside of Nairobi (Thika Road), which can be good or bad depending on what you need (but definitely bad if mist of your business is s downtown Nairobi). The road is being reconstructed, which is a pain right now but will help a lot once finished.

Safari Park is a mini city, self contained with five restaurants and several swimming pools, kind of exploring Africa Disney style (sorry...not completely fair...) but done in a nice and stylish way. But the main reason why I like the place is the staff....absolutely amazing African hospitality, and they recognise you already on your second stay :-))

The Nyama Choma (African all you can eat BBQ) is a must, and excellent value for money (forget Carnivore...this is better). The Safari Cat show is a delight, although a bit of a tourist trap. And the night club downstairs can be great fun....if you have the right attitude...

Overall, a great choice if you prefer to stay away from Nairobi city center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    133
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
25
78
21
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Good hardware and not obvious problems in the room condition. The taxi service was also very nice. We hired a taxi recommended by the hotel for Nairobi city center at evening, and received very heart-touched service as the driver advised us carefully on security and accompanied us for money exchange and shopping without claim for more fee (we paid more tip to him as reward to this enjoyable trip). The largest issues to this hotel are two: 1. The road conecting the hotel and Nairobi city center is under unstruction, resulting to dusty trips in and out of the hotel; 2. Internet access is toooo expensive, USD 10 per hour!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days/1 night. It was outside the city and was like a little city within itself. There are many buildings that housed rooms, casino, shops, restaurants, lobby and gym.

Pros:

1. Outside the city

2. Had things to do on property to stay entertained --- Cheetah Cat show (excellent!), Casino (okay not top of the line but passes the time), gym (good) and cafes to get drinks and meet up with friends.

3. Rooms where large and for the most part clean and modern.

4. Service of staff was great. Attentive and Friendly

Cons:

1. My room was right next to a wedding that started in the middle of the day and went into the wee hours of the morning. I could not get to sleep with all the music/noise.

2. The pool was disgusting. It had slime/sludge all over it and just was not a good idea to go into it.

3. The food for breakfast looked like it had been out for awhile and was not edible.

Overall for where it was it was not bad....average.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding and if so ask to be pla
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is my second time at this hotel and basically nothing has changed which is positive. The only thing that is annoying is the slow and expensive internet. No idea why this can not be improoved... But all in all still a very nice and quite expensive place to stay.

The hotel is surrounded with lots of nature. Accomodation is located in different houses. There are a couple of restaurant which serve excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Arriving at this hotel, you get excited by the architecture, the porter waiting for you, cold towel and drink on arrival.

Then you check in... or at least you try to... Staff are perfunctory and not overly helpful.

Rooms at this hotel are dated and are definitely showing signs of wear and tear. The cupboards in my room wouldn't stay shut so I had to lean things against them. When the wardrobe stays open just a bit, it leaves a light on... not so great for sleeping.

Bathrooms need a complete overhaul. The shower heads haven't been cleaned in a long time and there was a significant amount of limescale build up on the one in my room. The water pressure is good but toiletries are not good - bring your own shampoo.. the one they provide had a foul chemical smell.

The rooms offer an insight into what is going in in neighboring rooms - what they are watching on television, when they're taking a bath upstairs etc. You can't see them, but you can certainly hear them.

The internet is painfully slow at this hotel and the connection per day is very overpriced for such terrible service.

Food at the all day cafe was poor and the service compliments the food. We ordered a vegetarian entree and it had meat but due to the dimly lit outdoor tables we couldn't see this in the dark. We also ordered a one type of soup but got another. The main dishes we ordered bordered on inedible. The staff don't seem to be fazed by this and they expect you to pay for your meal even if they make the mistake.

Room service is appalling. I asked for an iron and ironing board to be delivered to my room. When it didn't arrive in the evening, I asked for it to come in the morning so I could attend meetings. It didn't arrive in the morning either until 3 phone calls were made to get it.

Checking out was a disaster due to miscommunications between various staff members and discussion about the restaurant charges.

Order your taxi in advance and if they have none available from the pool, ask for one from outside or you could find yourself waiting up to an hour and they won't tell you this unless you ask. A better option is to take the number of a reliable driver you've used previously and call them instead.

Generally, the staff here didn't seem to care too much and for the rate being charged at this property you'd expect that the service would be impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed in Safari Park, Nairobi during my short visit to Nairobi.
The hotel provides an excellent tropical experience.
Luxurious Rooms, Fine Dining, Great landscapes...
Sure, we will be back there on my next trip to Masai-Mara...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Six months after my last visit (and review) I returned with my wife for business.

I still feel the hotel rooms could do with a bit of a revamp - but I had a better room (upstairs) in Block 6 with a pleasant view over the grounds. The grounds are what really make the hotel special + the wooden buildings.

Although we rarely eat Chinese food at home we ate there 6 days out of the 12. Two reasons for this. Our business lunches were very filling and we only needed a couple of starters (very good quality) in the evening. And, Kioko our waiter (and his boss Marilyn) were very friendly and helpful and made us most welcome out of the 5 restaurants.

Overall the staff are friendly and open. Again I (and my wife) enjoyed superb massages in the Spa with Lucy (in my opinion worth the money and a good tip on top). In Hemmingways Bar, Dennis knew what I wanted to drink after about day 3.

Our room was more than adequate and only let down by a very firm (too firm for my liking) mattress on the bed. We were glad for Doom as it rained a lot and there were plenty of bugs around. I only got bitten once in 12 days - so not bad really. Aircrew come and go at various times of the night - but earplugs solved that.

Having stayed in the city (Safari Club) two months ago I was glad to be out of the noise of the city. Although the Thika Road is not far away, the noise doen't really intrude.

I still think Internet Access should be free in a hotel like this, but would I go back? Definitely.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.