We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days/1 night. It was outside the city and was like a little city within itself. There are many buildings that housed rooms, casino, shops, restaurants, lobby and gym.

Pros:

1. Outside the city

2. Had things to do on property to stay entertained --- Cheetah Cat show (excellent!), Casino (okay not top of the line but passes the time), gym (good) and cafes to get drinks and meet up with friends.

3. Rooms where large and for the most part clean and modern.

4. Service of staff was great. Attentive and Friendly

Cons:

1. My room was right next to a wedding that started in the middle of the day and went into the wee hours of the morning. I could not get to sleep with all the music/noise.

2. The pool was disgusting. It had slime/sludge all over it and just was not a good idea to go into it.

3. The food for breakfast looked like it had been out for awhile and was not edible.

Overall for where it was it was not bad....average.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding and if so ask to be pla
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    142
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
26
85
22
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thun, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is my second time at this hotel and basically nothing has changed which is positive. The only thing that is annoying is the slow and expensive internet. No idea why this can not be improoved... But all in all still a very nice and quite expensive place to stay.

The hotel is surrounded with lots of nature. Accomodation is located in different houses. There are a couple of restaurant which serve excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Arriving at this hotel, you get excited by the architecture, the porter waiting for you, cold towel and drink on arrival.

Then you check in... or at least you try to... Staff are perfunctory and not overly helpful.

Rooms at this hotel are dated and are definitely showing signs of wear and tear. The cupboards in my room wouldn't stay shut so I had to lean things against them. When the wardrobe stays open just a bit, it leaves a light on... not so great for sleeping.

Bathrooms need a complete overhaul. The shower heads haven't been cleaned in a long time and there was a significant amount of limescale build up on the one in my room. The water pressure is good but toiletries are not good - bring your own shampoo.. the one they provide had a foul chemical smell.

The rooms offer an insight into what is going in in neighboring rooms - what they are watching on television, when they're taking a bath upstairs etc. You can't see them, but you can certainly hear them.

The internet is painfully slow at this hotel and the connection per day is very overpriced for such terrible service.

Food at the all day cafe was poor and the service compliments the food. We ordered a vegetarian entree and it had meat but due to the dimly lit outdoor tables we couldn't see this in the dark. We also ordered a one type of soup but got another. The main dishes we ordered bordered on inedible. The staff don't seem to be fazed by this and they expect you to pay for your meal even if they make the mistake.

Room service is appalling. I asked for an iron and ironing board to be delivered to my room. When it didn't arrive in the evening, I asked for it to come in the morning so I could attend meetings. It didn't arrive in the morning either until 3 phone calls were made to get it.

Checking out was a disaster due to miscommunications between various staff members and discussion about the restaurant charges.

Order your taxi in advance and if they have none available from the pool, ask for one from outside or you could find yourself waiting up to an hour and they won't tell you this unless you ask. A better option is to take the number of a reliable driver you've used previously and call them instead.

Generally, the staff here didn't seem to care too much and for the rate being charged at this property you'd expect that the service would be impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed in Safari Park, Nairobi during my short visit to Nairobi.
The hotel provides an excellent tropical experience.
Luxurious Rooms, Fine Dining, Great landscapes...
Sure, we will be back there on my next trip to Masai-Mara...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Six months after my last visit (and review) I returned with my wife for business.

I still feel the hotel rooms could do with a bit of a revamp - but I had a better room (upstairs) in Block 6 with a pleasant view over the grounds. The grounds are what really make the hotel special + the wooden buildings.

Although we rarely eat Chinese food at home we ate there 6 days out of the 12. Two reasons for this. Our business lunches were very filling and we only needed a couple of starters (very good quality) in the evening. And, Kioko our waiter (and his boss Marilyn) were very friendly and helpful and made us most welcome out of the 5 restaurants.

Overall the staff are friendly and open. Again I (and my wife) enjoyed superb massages in the Spa with Lucy (in my opinion worth the money and a good tip on top). In Hemmingways Bar, Dennis knew what I wanted to drink after about day 3.

Our room was more than adequate and only let down by a very firm (too firm for my liking) mattress on the bed. We were glad for Doom as it rained a lot and there were plenty of bugs around. I only got bitten once in 12 days - so not bad really. Aircrew come and go at various times of the night - but earplugs solved that.

Having stayed in the city (Safari Club) two months ago I was glad to be out of the noise of the city. Although the Thika Road is not far away, the noise doen't really intrude.

I still think Internet Access should be free in a hotel like this, but would I go back? Definitely.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

There was this wonderful wedding for the children of my family friends that took place on 26.03.2011 that i had been invited to attend. Since i like touring i decided to get there early in the morning to have ample time to tour the hotel and see most of the facilities before we started the wedding program. The compound is so big, i think it is approximately 25 acres. The land scaping is excellent and the grass cut and the flowers well trimmed. They have several swimming pools that looked very clean, they have several restaurant and several converence halls. The scenery inside is very attractive.

The staff is very nice and very co operative. I liked their food - very delicious served by a team of happy staff. I was told most of their clients are business people. The wedding was a garden type and the reception was hosted in one of the big halls near the gate. Photo session also took place within the hotel compound due to its beautiful scenery, it had all what it takes. It is a good hotel for weddings.Even the photos that i took can attest of that fact.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Clean but a bit dark room. Unfortunatly no A/C, ok for winter but in summer I guess it will get very hot. I liked the birds "singing" into the night, some people may find this bothering. The hotel has several very good restaurants, pool and a casino all embedded between beautfiul flower arrangements and large green spots of lawn. I liked the path that goes around the hotel village, I used it for running in the morning. I recall WiFi to be slow and very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.