We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

There was this wonderful wedding for the children of my family friends that took place on 26.03.2011 that i had been invited to attend. Since i like touring i decided to get there early in the morning to have ample time to tour the hotel and see most of the facilities before we started the wedding program. The compound is so big, i think it is approximately 25 acres. The land scaping is excellent and the grass cut and the flowers well trimmed. They have several swimming pools that looked very clean, they have several restaurant and several converence halls. The scenery inside is very attractive.

The staff is very nice and very co operative. I liked their food - very delicious served by a team of happy staff. I was told most of their clients are business people. The wedding was a garden type and the reception was hosted in one of the big halls near the gate. Photo session also took place within the hotel compound due to its beautiful scenery, it had all what it takes. It is a good hotel for weddings.Even the photos that i took can attest of that fact.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    155
    66
    20
    12
See reviews for
28
89
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thun, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Clean but a bit dark room. Unfortunatly no A/C, ok for winter but in summer I guess it will get very hot. I liked the birds "singing" into the night, some people may find this bothering. The hotel has several very good restaurants, pool and a casino all embedded between beautfiul flower arrangements and large green spots of lawn. I liked the path that goes around the hotel village, I used it for running in the morning. I recall WiFi to be slow and very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The checkin was fast and efficient. Staff were very friendly every in the resort. The Bar above the reception was very comforatble and relaxing - lovely coice of cocktails. Bitings with drinks very tastety. The beauty and hairdressing facility reasonably comprehensive and value for money. The pool temperature rather cold. Lighting in the rooms could have been better. Ideal place to relax after business if you do not want to travel to a safari lodge as this place feels like one. Excellent grounds. Fresh fruit juice - expensive.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed for a conference. The rooms were reasonable,although on Saturday night, a wedding went late into the night and kept us all awake. The other nights were very quiet. The staff are very friendly. There are multiple restaurants that were all quite nice. The grounds are beautiful. Unfortunately, the resort is far from center city, so don't expect to travel there often, and, with current road construction right around the resort, traffic is terrible. So plan on staying put once you get there. They charge outrageous rates for internet (1,000 KSh/day) and the fitness center (1,000 KSh/day).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I was robbed in my hotel room while I was in it. Someone knocked on the door, and when it was opened he came in and demanded money and cell phones. The thief took $100 US in cash and my iphone. Staff was nice in refunding goods and comping room, but I thought the safety here would be better considering the high level personnel who come to this hotel. My friend has lived in Kenya for 4 years and nothing has happened to her--I come for 10 days and I'm robbed in my hotel room by what the general manager said was an "inside job." Luckily I'm alive, but it was a very frightening experience. The man stayed in the room for 15 minutes looking for cash before ripping out the landline phone and threatening my life. The security manager and police came, but they did not find the guy.

However, the management comped the room for me and the 8 guests at the wedding party with me (this was the night before a wedding). I am thankful for that, but still--A very disturbing experience in what I thought was a safe place to be in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

As others have commented, the grounds are superb and all the buildings look great from the outside. The room I had was tired and in need of a revamp. The bathroom especially needed attention. The back of the bathroom door had not been washed or clean in months. On the last day, there was hardly any water for a shower.

Internet access is a rip off and very slow.

Here seems to be the problem. It seems the hotel is resting on its laurels. It may have been superb 10 years ago, but there are lot of things that need attention and upgrading.

Generally the staff were attentive and friendly. The Cafe Kigwa staff were always a bit slow. At breakfast I usually had to ask twice before getting coffee. In the evening, I cancelled a drinks order as it took so long. I also had to send back food which was really not up to par.

The Safari Cats show is really good (I'm comparing it with the Tropicana in Havana).

The Spa staff are great and I had a massage every day which was very good. Best person (IMHO) is Lucy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

nice resort - close to town - took ages to get there from the airport due to the heavy construction going on with the mega highway thru nairobi - great when finished but chaos at the moment. Rooms were clean and comfortable - a bit on the old side.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.