We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay after Safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special offer from $150
Ranked #20 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Queensland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay after Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We only stayed here for 1 night but enjoyed it. Was a great place to end a month camping safari. The rooms were nothing special but very comfortable and clean. Staff, service and free buffet brekky were all great. Probably wouldn't like to stay for a holiday as such but for a stop over it served the purpose well.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    172
    113
    19
    16
See reviews for
38
106
45
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Average because you get what you expect from this hotel standard - no less, no more. It is not bad, it is not excellent, it is ok.
The hotel is located out of the city centre, expect to need a cab for any move.
I had a superior bedroom, quite comfortable, but noisy if onto the main road (window is not soundproof at all). Internet connection in room was good.
Friendly staff - I much appreciated when they gave me my bed room right upon my arrival at 7:30 am after my night flight to Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was a great place. I went for business meeting. The staff were incredibly pleasant, friendly, helpful, always went the extra mile to be helpful. Rooms were fine, quiet. Pool nice. Food great. Would come back anytime. One minor problem, gift/sundry shop was very small and the current shop owner is closing his shop, hopefully there will be a larger better one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

hotel very well located that it allows you to go to the city center by foot. A bit noisy during the night. Excellent breakfast. This is a plus. Average rooms with a strange window from where you can see into from outside...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed in the Panafric three times in a few weeks as the base for a safari tour. While it is definitely a 3 star hotel (do not expect bells and whistles) and is even a bit tired, it does do its job well. It is clean, the staff are genuinely friendly (not just fishing for a tip), the food is very good and basics like internet and laundry all work well. The patio restaurant is a lovely setting for breakfast but you do need mossie repellant after dark! We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We recently stayed at the Panafric as a one night stop over in Nairobi. It was pricey enough but it is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel. It's about a 20min taxi ride from the airport. We arrived a bit late in the evening but the restaurant serves food up until last orders at 10.30pm and the food was lovely. All the staff were very friendly too. Although it was expensive I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed here for one night mid overland safari, we found the staff accommodating and friendly.
The rooms were clean if a little tired looking but did the job.
We came back through Panafric for about 6 hours in between flights and the staff were extremely helpful with taxis and recommendations for shops etc
They also provided us with towels/soaps etc so that we could shower before our flight in the pool change rooms ... which we found generous as we did not have a booking
The Breakfast was great, so varied and tasty...dinner we all really enjoyed as well particularly the pizzas!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Panafric Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.