We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems. NIce hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special offer from $150
Ranked #20 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“No problems. NIce hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was a great place. I went for business meeting. The staff were incredibly pleasant, friendly, helpful, always went the extra mile to be helpful. Rooms were fine, quiet. Pool nice. Food great. Would come back anytime. One minor problem, gift/sundry shop was very small and the current shop owner is closing his shop, hopefully there will be a larger better one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    172
    113
    19
    16
See reviews for
38
106
45
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
naples
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

hotel very well located that it allows you to go to the city center by foot. A bit noisy during the night. Excellent breakfast. This is a plus. Average rooms with a strange window from where you can see into from outside...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed in the Panafric three times in a few weeks as the base for a safari tour. While it is definitely a 3 star hotel (do not expect bells and whistles) and is even a bit tired, it does do its job well. It is clean, the staff are genuinely friendly (not just fishing for a tip), the food is very good and basics like internet and laundry all work well. The patio restaurant is a lovely setting for breakfast but you do need mossie repellant after dark! We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We recently stayed at the Panafric as a one night stop over in Nairobi. It was pricey enough but it is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel. It's about a 20min taxi ride from the airport. We arrived a bit late in the evening but the restaurant serves food up until last orders at 10.30pm and the food was lovely. All the staff were very friendly too. Although it was expensive I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed here for one night mid overland safari, we found the staff accommodating and friendly.
The rooms were clean if a little tired looking but did the job.
We came back through Panafric for about 6 hours in between flights and the staff were extremely helpful with taxis and recommendations for shops etc
They also provided us with towels/soaps etc so that we could shower before our flight in the pool change rooms ... which we found generous as we did not have a booking
The Breakfast was great, so varied and tasty...dinner we all really enjoyed as well particularly the pizzas!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I was shocked when I saw the room and wanted to run away. The next day I was upgraded to superior after I emphasized that their picture of standard is completely far from what it is in real. The superior room was OK, but the standard room is like staying in a vandalised YMCA. I did not dare put out my clothes in the dirty closets.

I noticed that the restaurant beside the pool is full every lunch time. It was OK quality. There were security guards in every floor which made me wonder how safe I was really. The guard on my floor (Thomas) was very pleasant though. There is one room converted to a spa centre. One masseuse per time.

I have heard so many complaints from other guests about water, aircon, cleanliness, broken promises - that said, I am not being difficult. It seems like people become difficult when they do not get good service. Panafric is not exactly cheap so of course, people have expectations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

we stayed here for one night before, and two nights after a five day safari. It was expensive for what you got but compared to the other hotels we saw when dropping off other people from the safari it seemed good. The service was excellent and the restaurant and lobby area was really nice with a great atmosphere, the breakfast was AMAZING! but lunch and dinner restaurant food was very disappointing - but cheap. Overall it was okay, big room with comfy bed and good shower but the rooms just lacked any wow factor. I would recommend this hotel if you're just doing a stop over, it seems quite business-y as they do a lot of conferences. There was security on every floor and huge gates with guards which was reassuring considering some of the things we'd heard about Nairobi. We went to the spa which is not much of a spa... just one girl in an apartment, bit odd! Have plenty of small change for tipping EVERYONE!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Panafric Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.