We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing although business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing although business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good hotel, friendly staff. But over priced drinks. No local food in the restaurant. It was safe and the staff were very helpful They took care that we feel well and safe. The cabs near the hotel were reliable. It was good to ask the staff for prices of trips and fares.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more but go for an executive room. Confirm beforehand that the room is not on the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    233
    134
    22
    17
See reviews for
51
133
62
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's been a long time coming but finally I get to do this review...
Stayed here for our Christmas holidays in December 2013 and it was well worth the while. The hotel is close to Nairobi CBD. Has great facilities - pool, nice gardens, restaurants...room service, etc. The room is spacious and bed very big and comfy. Great view from the balcony as well.
There was both an overhead shower and bath tub which is a great plus.
Enjoyed our stay!

Been there for a couple of conferences too and their services are great.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not expect luxury as their reward says in the reception BUT they have excellent personell and good service. Breakfast standard and missing training equipment. Rooms standard and clean. Noise from the street at OK level.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was there for a whole week. Great and friendly service all round. The building is a bit old but well maintained. No gym at the time of visit they said that they were busy building one. The road facing rooms are a bit noisy because of traffic. Nice breakfast

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Panafric was a great place. Made to feel welcome and valued from the start.
My friend and I stayed one night and then a few more nights after a safari (more on that later). We had one issue-a non working room a/c. We were promptly moved to another room. The rooms are clean and cheerful and roomy enough for 2 guests. The beds and te bed linens were quite comfortable and cozy. The grounds are lovely as well. We only dined in (not to much close by) and each meal was delicious and there are some great cocktails as well. The breakfast buffet was a great start to our day's outings. I can't rave enough about the friendly staff. I live in a place, where people aren't too welcoming or friendly and it was great to see a smile and have a firm handshake! My friend and I frequented the gift shop. Decent prices after comparing all the other places.

Room Tip: Room 533 is at the end of a secured hallway, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a really pleasant stay! Nice Victorian room, extremely enchanting ambience and nice food. Very nice staff too - Fridah at the Front Desk and Irene in the restaurant were extremely helpful and unbelievably polite. All other staff just exuded pleasantness and willingness to help/please ALL the time.

Nicely located too - Downtown is even close enough to walk if one so desires.

Shower arrangement could do with some modernisation - a larger shower head with much more pressure would be nice.

I plan to stay here again for sure and recommend it highly. Very highly

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I keep on coming back to the Sarova Panafric because sincerely it is my home-from-home in Nairobi. From arrival at Jomo Kenyatta Airport to departure the underlying theme is exceptional, exceptional service and friendliness. I've stayed in a lot of hotels in a lot of places, but this is without doubt the best I stay at in Kenya.
To be fair its not the most modern, luxurious or aesthetically pleasing hotel in Nairobi. There's plenty more luxury elsewhere; there's new hotels; there's magnificent hotels, but what makes the difference to me is that the staff there are like an extended family. From the welcome at the airport, to the chauffeur, to the security staff, to check-in, in the restaurant and at the room, there all lovely people who know me by name. I always bet the biggest smile in Kenya when I'm in the PanAfric. The staff went above and beyond this time, and there are too many individuals to name personally, but the guys and gals in the restaurant were superb.
The food's good, varied and hearty, combining local and international fare.
The rooms are scrupulously clean and well serviced.
One of my bugbears has always been the WiFi, but that seemed to have been sorted out this time and was pretty good for Africa.
My one teeny criticism is the lack of an exercise room/gym, that would have iced the cake, but instead I went for swim every morning.
Thank you Sarova PanAfric and I'm looking forward to seeing you again in July hopefully.

Room Tip: Higher up the better, as the road can be noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.