We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An 'OK' hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An 'OK' hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stayed in the hotel just one night but also spend a full day in the conference center.
The rooms are not more than ok.
The breakfast is great and so was dinner at the same restaurant.
The Pool Restaurant for lunch was just ok.
Wi-fi connection was free, but slow. It keeps disconnecting and you need to re-login.
Nice gift shop.
The staff of the hotel is GREAT and they are friendly and go to lenght to help.

Room Tip: Try to get a roon at the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear QTtravaler,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric even though your stay was short and are pleased that you enjoyed the variety of food and found the staff friendly, I will be sure to share your kind words.

We have noted your feedback on wifi and would like to reassure you that we are currently taking steps to upgrade this service and we trust this shall exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    214
    129
    22
    17
See reviews for
45
130
56
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Disclaimer: I visited the hotel but did not stay there.In my view, although the entrance to the hotel is top notch, as one approaches the rooms it feels like an apartment block was converted to a hotel. The facilities in the room e.g. CRT tv. Come on, in an age where big screen LCDs prevail, how can you put CRT in the room?Even the quality of the fittings and furnishings including the doors, etc. could be a notch higher. I am confident though that they can easily make this change to be a true 4 star establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Gontadu,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at The Sarova Panafric.

We note your feedback on the need to refurbish and are currently taking steps to upgrade our rooms and we trust that this shall indeed exceed your expectations.

We hope that you will get a chance to stay at Sarova Panafric the next time you are in Nairobi and experience our Refreshing African Hospitality.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were welcomed by a very friendly staff after Etihad Airways ruined our connection to our safari, and we were stranded one night in Nairobi. Knowing it was our honeymoon they even upgraded us to a beautiful suite with a view of the city. We had been so sad, but suddenly they made our day! Such a lovely room. And they had a very good restaurant and bar. We felt the facilities were of a very high standard. Happy and smiling staff everywhere you turn. They were so accomodating to our needs throughout our stay. Such a high standard of care for their guests. It gave us a very good impression of Nairobi, and overall a truly pleasant surprise. Next time, perhaps, we will plan on staying in Nairobi and make a point to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Jawaina,

We are glad that you took the time to share your experience at Sarova Panafric.

Thank you for sharing the beginning of your new life together with us. We are glad to hear you were pleased with the room and restaurant and for your kind words on the staff.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in Nairobi.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The best points of the hotel - the staff are lovely, the security is good, and the breakfast is fabulous. Fruit, cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, danish pastries, cake, muffins, fish, salad, pretty much you name it, they've got it. The charm of the staff, their smiles, their friendliness, cannot be overstated. Security is good too - essential in Nairobi, with one guard per two floors overnight, and two or more on the front doors 24/7. The doorman in black kofiya (cap) and red kanzu (robe) is a great touch too - complete with a cow's tail to wave around - it blesses the guests, apparently.

The rooms are very tired and could do with a bit of an update - if that isn't possible, a few things like bright cushions would help greatly. Hotel a bit overpriced for the quality of accommodation, but perhaps you are paying more for the service and the security, than you are for anything else...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel from the great food to the friendly staff. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.

We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on the need to refurbish. We are currently taking steps to upgrade our rooms and we trust this shall exceed your expectations. Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I enjoyed my stay while on business travel as the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was to a good standard. However I think the cost is quite expensive. If they could be say $20.00 less per night I think that would be more reasonable. It's a really nice place to stay for a few days if you wish to feel a bit pampered and breakfast was ace. I would go back again but I woudl need to save up for it first!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ms. Millerbakes,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome guests feedback.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric as your hotel of choice and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words. We believe we offer great value for our pricing but your concern on the rate has been noted.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and kindly let me know when next you will be in Nairobi so we may personally meet.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

To arrive in Nairobi and be greeted so warmly, from the taxi driver, to the security people at the hotel and then at reception - it really makes such a difference as a first time traveller to Kenya. The hotel was fine as a stopover, the rooms were clean with a king bed, the bathroom is dated but fine for overnight. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate and a great choice for all. The staff really make the hotel and if this is the kind of hospitality we will get throughout Kenya and Tanzania we look forward to the rest of our holiday!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ms. Sally,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate & welcome your feedback.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your hotel experience as a first time traveler to Kenya. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and we thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to hosting you again and trust you will enjoy the rest of your stay in East Africa.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

this was just too much. and the nice service of the hotel staff could not make up for this. I had no hot water on two of the three nights I stayed in the hotel.
if this is not enough, the internet connection is so awful that I don't understand how they dare to tell that they have free wifi. it crashes 50 times an hour - not only in the room, also in the lobby, where it supposedly should work best.
absolutely unacceptable for a hotel at this price range.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome your feedback.

First, we wish to most sincerely express our regret on your experience with the water and the wi-fi and the fact that the problem persisted is a major concern for us.

Secondly, please know that we have resolved these issues and do not expect a recurrence of the same. This has been a learning experience for us and we thank you once again for pointing out our short comings so that we may improve.

Please let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.