We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable hotel but quite pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really comfortable hotel but quite pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I enjoyed my stay while on business travel as the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was to a good standard. However I think the cost is quite expensive. If they could be say $20.00 less per night I think that would be more reasonable. It's a really nice place to stay for a few days if you wish to feel a bit pampered and breakfast was ace. I would go back again but I woudl need to save up for it first!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ms. Millerbakes,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome guests feedback.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric as your hotel of choice and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words. We believe we offer great value for our pricing but your concern on the rate has been noted.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and kindly let me know when next you will be in Nairobi so we may personally meet.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    222
    130
    22
    17
See reviews for
49
130
56
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

To arrive in Nairobi and be greeted so warmly, from the taxi driver, to the security people at the hotel and then at reception - it really makes such a difference as a first time traveller to Kenya. The hotel was fine as a stopover, the rooms were clean with a king bed, the bathroom is dated but fine for overnight. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate and a great choice for all. The staff really make the hotel and if this is the kind of hospitality we will get throughout Kenya and Tanzania we look forward to the rest of our holiday!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ms. Sally,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate & welcome your feedback.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your hotel experience as a first time traveler to Kenya. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and we thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to hosting you again and trust you will enjoy the rest of your stay in East Africa.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

this was just too much. and the nice service of the hotel staff could not make up for this. I had no hot water on two of the three nights I stayed in the hotel.
if this is not enough, the internet connection is so awful that I don't understand how they dare to tell that they have free wifi. it crashes 50 times an hour - not only in the room, also in the lobby, where it supposedly should work best.
absolutely unacceptable for a hotel at this price range.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome your feedback.

First, we wish to most sincerely express our regret on your experience with the water and the wi-fi and the fact that the problem persisted is a major concern for us.

Secondly, please know that we have resolved these issues and do not expect a recurrence of the same. This has been a learning experience for us and we thank you once again for pointing out our short comings so that we may improve.

Please let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I attend a breakfast meeting on the 12th of August. The food was great and the service excellent! Anne and her colleagues in Baraza room were exceptional; helpful and warm at all times and always smiling! Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Nanyama W,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your breakfast meeting and will pass on your kind words to Anne and the staff.

We look forward to hosting you soon.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our second stop in Kenya was in that fantastic hotel, actually the whole team is finely selected to perform with an excellent professional attitude to make the lives of their guests so easy, no wonder that SAROVA Stanley is catching these successive yearly awards!,,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Alkonsol A,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected us and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and I am glad to read that our staff have an excellent professional attitude.

Thank you once again for taking your time to review us and for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our group arrived at approximately 2:30 a.m. In spite of the late hour the hotel helped us (all 50) get registered and situated in our rooms. They provided a small reception for us which included tea, coffee, and cookies. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was quiet and we slept well. The following morning the hotel provided a elaborate breakfast for our entire group of 150 people. The food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Paula V,

Thank you for taking your time to review Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected us and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to providing excellent customer service regardless of the hour and are pleased to note you enjoyed the tea and cookies at 2:30 am and that you found the beds clean and comfortable.

We look forward to hosting you and your group once again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Although we only spent one night at this hotel, it was a terrific experience. From the moment we stepped onto the property, we felt very well looked after. The security was fantastic, as was the great attention to detail at every step -- from warm towels at check in, to friendly bellmen to help with luggage, to quick and orderly check out. Also, the buffet breakfast was absolutely delicious!! Our stay was short, but the staff definitely went out of their way to help us feel welcome. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Ms. Marsha T,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected us and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay from the security to the check in to the staff and food. We are committed to exceeding our guest’s expectations and I am glad to read that you appreciated our great attention to detail.

Thank you once again for taking your time to review us and we look forward to hosting you and your group once again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.