We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Promotion $167
Ranked #20 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

To arrive in Nairobi and be greeted so warmly, from the taxi driver, to the security people at the hotel and then at reception - it really makes such a difference as a first time traveller to Kenya. The hotel was fine as a stopover, the rooms were clean with a king bed, the bathroom is dated but fine for overnight. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate and a great choice for all. The staff really make the hotel and if this is the kind of hospitality we will get throughout Kenya and Tanzania we look forward to the rest of our holiday!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    195
    121
    21
    16
See reviews for
40
120
51
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this was just too much. and the nice service of the hotel staff could not make up for this. I had no hot water on two of the three nights I stayed in the hotel.
if this is not enough, the internet connection is so awful that I don't understand how they dare to tell that they have free wifi. it crashes 50 times an hour - not only in the room, also in the lobby, where it supposedly should work best.
absolutely unacceptable for a hotel at this price range.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I attend a breakfast meeting on the 12th of August. The food was great and the service excellent! Anne and her colleagues in Baraza room were exceptional; helpful and warm at all times and always smiling! Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second stop in Kenya was in that fantastic hotel, actually the whole team is finely selected to perform with an excellent professional attitude to make the lives of their guests so easy, no wonder that SAROVA Stanley is catching these successive yearly awards!,,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Alkonsol A,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected us and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and I am glad to read that our staff have an excellent professional attitude.

Thank you once again for taking your time to review us and for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group arrived at approximately 2:30 a.m. In spite of the late hour the hotel helped us (all 50) get registered and situated in our rooms. They provided a small reception for us which included tea, coffee, and cookies. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was quiet and we slept well. The following morning the hotel provided a elaborate breakfast for our entire group of 150 people. The food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Paula V,

Thank you for taking your time to review Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected us and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to providing excellent customer service regardless of the hour and are pleased to note you enjoyed the tea and cookies at 2:30 am and that you found the beds clean and comfortable.

We look forward to hosting you and your group once again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although we only spent one night at this hotel, it was a terrific experience. From the moment we stepped onto the property, we felt very well looked after. The security was fantastic, as was the great attention to detail at every step -- from warm towels at check in, to friendly bellmen to help with luggage, to quick and orderly check out. Also, the buffet breakfast was absolutely delicious!! Our stay was short, but the staff definitely went out of their way to help us feel welcome. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ms. Marsha T,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected us and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay from the security to the check in to the staff and food. We are committed to exceeding our guest’s expectations and I am glad to read that you appreciated our great attention to detail.

Thank you once again for taking your time to review us and we look forward to hosting you and your group once again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is well located just outside the city center. clean rooms but furniture is very old. staff is very friendly but restaurant menu is very limited.Internet is OK. They really need to re-look at the furniture in the room. rest all is fine with this hotel I guess.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr, Ashdeep,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Sarova Panafric, your comments are very much valued.

We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on the need to refurbish. We are currently taking steps to upgrade our rooms and we trust this shall exceed your expectations.

We note your concern of the limited restaurant menu and you shall be happy to know that we are just about to open a new Kitchen area that will undoubtedly serve differing guests tastes.

Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,



David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.