We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Stop in Kenya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our First Stop in Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our group arrived at approximately 2:30 a.m. In spite of the late hour the hotel helped us (all 50) get registered and situated in our rooms. They provided a small reception for us which included tea, coffee, and cookies. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was quiet and we slept well. The following morning the hotel provided a elaborate breakfast for our entire group of 150 people. The food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Paula V,

Thank you for taking your time to review Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected us and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to providing excellent customer service regardless of the hour and are pleased to note you enjoyed the tea and cookies at 2:30 am and that you found the beds clean and comfortable.

We look forward to hosting you and your group once again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    208
    126
    22
    16
See reviews for
43
128
54
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Although we only spent one night at this hotel, it was a terrific experience. From the moment we stepped onto the property, we felt very well looked after. The security was fantastic, as was the great attention to detail at every step -- from warm towels at check in, to friendly bellmen to help with luggage, to quick and orderly check out. Also, the buffet breakfast was absolutely delicious!! Our stay was short, but the staff definitely went out of their way to help us feel welcome. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Ms. Marsha T,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected us and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay from the security to the check in to the staff and food. We are committed to exceeding our guest’s expectations and I am glad to read that you appreciated our great attention to detail.

Thank you once again for taking your time to review us and we look forward to hosting you and your group once again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hotel is well located just outside the city center. clean rooms but furniture is very old. staff is very friendly but restaurant menu is very limited.Internet is OK. They really need to re-look at the furniture in the room. rest all is fine with this hotel I guess.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mr, Ashdeep,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Sarova Panafric, your comments are very much valued.

We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on the need to refurbish. We are currently taking steps to upgrade our rooms and we trust this shall exceed your expectations.

We note your concern of the limited restaurant menu and you shall be happy to know that we are just about to open a new Kitchen area that will undoubtedly serve differing guests tastes.

Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,



David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel about 5 times over the past few years. It has become quite expensive for what it is but with a good deal on booking.com I went back for a one night stay.
The security is great as is the restaurant food.
Only complaint is that I was given a room overlooking the pool and after a long day traveling it would have been nice to relax but with a loud party on at the pool it was impossible to stay in the room. The party was finished by 10pm but having to stay in the bar until that time was disappointing.
Wifi was not working in either rooms or public areas...something that is important if it is marketed as being free wifi.
Rates are high as are all in Nairobi but with a discount it is a safe hotel to stay in away from the centre of the city.
Ask for a quiet room when checking in.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Southaussiegirl,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome guests feedback.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric as your hotel of choice. We believe we offer great value for our pricing but your concern on the rate has been noted. We note with concern the disruption caused by the party and will be happy to provide you with a different room in the event that one of our in house guests wish to have a late night event.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and kindly let me know when next you will be in Nairobi so we may personally meet.

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,




David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I want to express my grateful stay at your Hotel. Things seems to be place perfect at this hotel. the rooms are excellent and ever clean with all the necessary things in place. Food at breakfast, Lunch and dinner all is perfect with various fruits in place.

I was attending the workshop but even the venue the training was very good and with all necessary things. Please let us show that Africa can do it with the hospitality I so during my Stay in this place of yours. Keep it up and continue to be at the best. Above all , I was so worried when I heard the workshop was in Nairobi due to the security but all my worries were gone when so that the security you provider at reception and in the passage of the rooms. Checks everytime at the reception.

I have nothing more to say but only to thank you. May God provide wise give the same hospitality all who are planing to stay this place.

ss-530

Room Tip: higer floor quiet particular floor 5 the eastern part
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mr, Shadreck S,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric and that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay. We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and I will personally share your kind words to all the staff.

We pride ourselves in providing Refreshing African Hospitality and guest comfort and safety is of utmost importance to us hence the top security that you noticed.

Thank you for your kind words and God Bless you.


Kind Regards,





David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We held our ELNET Ethical Leadership and Business Conference / Awards at this hotel from 24 - 25 July 2014. Right from the point of negotiating for the room with Daniel Mutheki to the personal welcome / interest in us by John Kimondo / General Manager David Gachuru to room attendant Eric's attention to detail throughout the event, we had a fantastic time.

The management / staff's pleasant demeanor and eagerness to be of assistance made our event easy to manage and execute. I would recommend this venue for conferences / other events any time!

Peter Mutua ELBUCA 2014

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mr, Peter M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric for your conference and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and I will personally share your kind words to all the staff that you have mentioned as well as the team at large.

We are proud to be associated with ELNET as an organization and look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,




David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I would like to appreciate afew of the employees at Sarova Panafric who gave us extremely good service during ELNET- ELBUCA conference held on 24th-25th July.
they are 1. Daniel 2. Ann 3. Evans 4. Rachel 5. Nelson. they are truly exceptional, being cautious and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Ms Diana M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric for your conference and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I will personally pass on your appreciation to all the employees you have mentioned in your feedback, We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and the staff will be pleased to hear your kind words.

We are proud to be associated with ELNET as an organization and look forward to hosting you again

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,




David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.