We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money. Just below five-star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great value for money. Just below five-star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at Sarova Panafric for 2 nights in July, and overall really enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely courteous, the rooms well maintained, and the restaurant had excellent food. I was given a complimentary upgrade after they realized that my room wasn't ready for check-in, which was also much appreciated.

The location is fairly ideal, with it being easy to get a cab to take me either downtown, or towards Junction. The extended driveway means you're removed from street traffic, and also feel extremely safe (given the crime issues in Nairobi).

The lobby and restaurant are definitely the best features of the hotel. Their morning buffet is excellent, and I enjoyed a mix of both continental and local cuisine with excellent variety. Their a-la-carte menu is also pretty solid.

The rooms are spacious, with good air-conditioning, decent wi-fi, good tv channel selection and a really nice shower. The only knock is that the hallways to access your rooms aren't sealed, and tiled with cheap tile, giving the hotel a slightly cheap feel (which it is decidedly not). It has the open hallway look that you expect of a motel, but the facilities and features are definitely top notch.

The only other issue is that I was hoping the hotel would have a gym, but I guess that isn't the norm in Nairobi. The pool area looking beautiful, but it was a bit too cold to swim in July.

Overall, I'd say this is a really good deal if you want a near five-star experience in Nairobi, without having to pay a five-star price. Also, given the alternatives, I'd be hard pressed to find as good a hotel at a comparable price point.

Room Tip: All floors have the same basic view, at the balcony is so-so. Wouldn't splurge on it if given an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Chiraj,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome your feedback.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel, from the location, rooms, dining options as well as our hotel security. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and we thank you for your kind words.

We have noted your feedback on sealed hallways and chiped tiles and would like to reassure you that we are currently taking steps to upgrade the hallways and we trust this shall exceed your expectations.

Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    204
    126
    22
    16
See reviews for
42
126
54
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was booked for me as part of a longer trip. I was very happy with the rooms (I stayed twice, first for two nights, and a week later for one night), and the reception staff, porters, doorman, etc., were all welcoming and professional on both occasions. The guests seemed to be mostly foreigners, but the hotel restaurant seemed to have a lot of Kenyan patrons, especially at breakfast -- I had the impression that local businessmen and -women like to meet there.

The room and bathroom were excellent. Wi-fi was free and decent.

The buffet breakfast was really great, with some Indian selections and nice pastries -- although the staff was a bit later than 6:30 a.m. (the official opening time) to get everything up and running.

For dinner in the evening, I found the menu to be overpriced. The setting is very nice, but the food at dinner does not warrant the high prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Sarova Panafric, your comments are very much valued.

We appreciate your comments regarding our facilities as well as our staff. We are wholly committed to exceeding our guests expectations. We take pride in being the first Pan African Hotel and have thus become the melting point for local business people as well as international travelers.

We are happy that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and restaurant setting. We note that our dinner pricing seems high and while this could be so, we believe we offer a lot more for the value that we charge. We will however evaluate with a view of balancing out. We thank you for this observation.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Nairobi!

Best Regards,

Mr. David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Both my wife and i have just returned after staying at the Sarova Panafric hotel in Nairobi.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the magic started!!

Augustine Kutoyi, in his traditional uniform, made us feel welcome with the biggest smile we have ever seen. He looked after us throughout our stay and must be complimented and promoted for his total professionalism!!

Juliett at the restaurant for her extreme kindness, care and constant good advice, She too must be complemented and promoted for her total dedication throughout!!

Jihan at the restaurant too for her total dedication. She too must be recognised for her performance!!

Joseph Kariuki, our room attendant, who took care of all our needs and nothing was too much trouble. Please promote this man and he has a long future at the hotel.

All the other members of staff and management for the superb work and dedication that they do to make everyone very welcome/

Please ignore all the negative comments made by other travellers as we both experienced true hospitality, nostalgia and above all, the warmth and genuiuness of our brothers & sisters.

Room Tip: Our room (310) was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Larry,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We take pride in serving our guests exceptionally and ensure they experience our Refreshing African Hospitality and I am glad that we made the entirety of your stay enjoyable. I am delighted to read your positive feedback and will personally share the same with the entire team who will be happy to hear your kind words.

Thank you for recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Sarova Panafric came to my rescue when I had to change the venue for an event I had planned for three months, three days to the event. They provided excellent support, accommodated my requests despite the short notice and were critical in making the event a success. I would go back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Harry,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

I am delighted to read your very kind words and will share the same with the entire team.

We take pride in serving our guests exceptionally and I am glad that we were able to make your event a success and you found our conferencing facilities to be excellent.

Thank you for recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again.
Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stay here fairly regularly for business and I am always very happy with the accommodation.

The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms clean and they all have nice bathrooms.

The restaurant food is really nice, breakfast is good for African hotels, with a huge choice available.

What really makes this place amazing though is the staff. They are simply wonderful. Always friendly, helpful and welcoming. I love coming back here and seeing friendly faces welcoming me, and it's always nice that they remember names and faces - makes it feel much more homely when travelling for business.

Whilst I use this hotel for business, there is a nice balance of business and holiday makers.

Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.
We are glad to read that you have selected us as your hotel of choice and even happier to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay here, from the beds to the variety of food.
We take pride in serving our guests exceptionally and I will share your feedback to the staff who will undoubtedly be happy to hear your kind words.
Thank you for recommendation and please let me know when you next visit so that we may meet and chat over a meal or drink.
Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Arriving here late and exhausted after the day from hell (another story) the staff at the desk and elsewhere were helpful, kind and exactly what we needed. The room - allocated at short notice - was minus a few bits and pieces but these were provided within 10 minutes together with apologies. Comfortable, clean and safe - that's what we got and what we wanted. Breakfast next morning on the garden veranda was buffet-style, as usual, and excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want - they want to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are happy to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and I will personally share your feedback with the staff who will be happy to hear your kind words.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great Hotel clean and comfortable. Very convenient to the city and services. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food at Flame Tree Restaurant and Bar has a great choice of delicious food and drink. No one should go hungry Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Caron,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are happy to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and I will personally share your feedback with the staff who will be happy to hear your kind words.

I am glad that you found the food delicious at our flagship restaurant Flame Tree.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.