We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Value accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stay here fairly regularly for business and I am always very happy with the accommodation.

The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms clean and they all have nice bathrooms.

The restaurant food is really nice, breakfast is good for African hotels, with a huge choice available.

What really makes this place amazing though is the staff. They are simply wonderful. Always friendly, helpful and welcoming. I love coming back here and seeing friendly faces welcoming me, and it's always nice that they remember names and faces - makes it feel much more homely when travelling for business.

Whilst I use this hotel for business, there is a nice balance of business and holiday makers.

Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.
We are glad to read that you have selected us as your hotel of choice and even happier to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay here, from the beds to the variety of food.
We take pride in serving our guests exceptionally and I will share your feedback to the staff who will undoubtedly be happy to hear your kind words.
Thank you for recommendation and please let me know when you next visit so that we may meet and chat over a meal or drink.
Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    241
    136
    23
    18
See reviews for
52
135
67
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Arriving here late and exhausted after the day from hell (another story) the staff at the desk and elsewhere were helpful, kind and exactly what we needed. The room - allocated at short notice - was minus a few bits and pieces but these were provided within 10 minutes together with apologies. Comfortable, clean and safe - that's what we got and what we wanted. Breakfast next morning on the garden veranda was buffet-style, as usual, and excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want - they want to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are happy to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and I will personally share your feedback with the staff who will be happy to hear your kind words.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great Hotel clean and comfortable. Very convenient to the city and services. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food at Flame Tree Restaurant and Bar has a great choice of delicious food and drink. No one should go hungry Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Caron,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are happy to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and I will personally share your feedback with the staff who will be happy to hear your kind words.

I am glad that you found the food delicious at our flagship restaurant Flame Tree.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We arrived relatively late at night and didn't expect much when we arrived. How wrong could we be? The staff made us feel so welcome even though it was 11 at night. The porters were very helpful and made us feel at home. The room was very nice and they'd even put a few swans made from towels on the bed to make us feel even more special. Breakfast was excellent; it was a varied choice of African, European and American foods - something for everyone. If we were staying in Nairobi longer I'm sure we would have been happy. The pool looked lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear McBeller,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are happy to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and I will personally share your feedback with the staff who will be happy to hear your kind words.
I am glad you enjoyed the wide variety of the food as well.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again and trust that the next time you will be able to enjoy the pool.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Malling
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We did not stay at the horel, but used it as a place to spend most of our evenings. The atmosphere in the restuarant was wonderful, the staff were always welcoming, helpful and friendly, the menu is wide and the portions large and the open enclosed area is a real pleasure to sit within and enjoy our meals and drinks. Nothing was to much trouble. A place not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric and enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed the ambience wide variety of food as well as our generous portions. Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel need badly need a refurbishment, as the bedroom and bathroom seems old. Compared to other Sarova's this is a little let down.
However staff were very friendly, good location and good security. Food was good, a little expensive but very generous portion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.
We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on the need to refurbish. We are in the planning stages of upgrading our rooms and we trust that the new rooms shall please you. Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were not staying at the hotel so only used the restaurant facilities as non residents. Unlike other hotel restaurants, this is often used by Kenyans as well as foreign tourists. This gives it a much better ambience. The part open part enclosed outdoor area of the restaurant cannot be beaten for pleasant al fresco dining. The menu is a good mix of Kenyan and western dishes and all of the staff are amazingly courteous, friendly and attentive. Credit cards are accepted for meals. There is a rear access from Bishops Road as well as the front in Kenyatta Avenue. Very highly recommended for the food, atmosphere and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Gordon,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance as well as the wide variety of food.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.