We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average place with excellent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An average place with excellent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel need badly need a refurbishment, as the bedroom and bathroom seems old. Compared to other Sarova's this is a little let down.
However staff were very friendly, good location and good security. Food was good, a little expensive but very generous portion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.
We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on the need to refurbish. We are in the planning stages of upgrading our rooms and we trust that the new rooms shall please you. Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    228
    133
    22
    17
See reviews for
51
132
60
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were not staying at the hotel so only used the restaurant facilities as non residents. Unlike other hotel restaurants, this is often used by Kenyans as well as foreign tourists. This gives it a much better ambience. The part open part enclosed outdoor area of the restaurant cannot be beaten for pleasant al fresco dining. The menu is a good mix of Kenyan and western dishes and all of the staff are amazingly courteous, friendly and attentive. Credit cards are accepted for meals. There is a rear access from Bishops Road as well as the front in Kenyatta Avenue. Very highly recommended for the food, atmosphere and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Gordon,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance as well as the wide variety of food.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Extremely friendly and flexible staff makes you feel at home.
Location is nice for those who like to be walking distance from city center as walking is much faster way to get there than car. (Although pedestrians should be very careful as driving culture is grazy.)

Room Tip: I liked to watch city skyline and incredible traffic from my balcony. Those who do not want to hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you found our hotel and its location wonderful. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and it is good to note that only have a good report on all the staff you met.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Theis is a luxury african themed hotel. My room was on the groud floor and had a garden terrace. The room was nicely styled but a bit dated. Everything wprked thought. The restaurants are good. The service is very good. The hoptel is popular with non residents. Businesstypes lunch and meet there. I will stay again with pleasure.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay with us. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed on and off at the Panafric for five nights between our Safari's.The whole experience was very good. All staff were attentive and ever so eager to help you. Over this 2 week stay period, Benson the ever so happy and helpful head porter and Dennis, new to his role, would welcome our return with name greetings. Panafric was our Nairobi base and we used in house facilities frequently. I must comment on the beds. Best nights sleep we experienced over the entire trip. My wife just loved the beauty treatments offered by Monica in the Beauty Salon - Just the thing after being in the African bush. Breakfast was included in our tariff and offered plenty of choices. In fact the food quality was only surpassed by the service delivered by Wait staff. Same can be said about the Flame Tree Restaurant. Variety of choices, quality food - the Pizzas tasty and around $10. Finally, the security in and around the hotel is so reassuring. Guards on duty 24/7 on each floor. Keep it up Panafric, you offer a great overall accommodation package and we enjoyed or stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and I will personally pass on your kind words to Benson, Dennis and Monica.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed all the in house facilities as well as the wide variety of food.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stay at Sarova every time I am in Nairobi for business. Apart from warm and friendly staff, the hotel has very tight security, it is neat, and their wifi is amazing. Upon arrival, the friendly staff bring you some hot refreshing towels. I know sounds petty, but after a loooong flight that can be oh so heavenly..lol

Room Tip: They might forget to ask you if you need non-smoking. So please make sure they know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you found our hotel wonderful. From the security to the WiFi to even the welcome experience. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and the staff will be happy with the good report of their warmth and friendliness.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sarova Panafric, either side of our wonderful Masai Mara safari. We loved it. Perfect situation, easy to get into Nairobi and to the airports. Nice outlook of trees and gardens not buildings. Lovely colonial feel and the room was very nice and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. and were always interested in what youhad been doing. Why wouldn't you want to stay there.

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floors had nicer views across the trees and not so much traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you found our hotel wonderful. From the prime location to the comfortable rooms as well as the gardens. We are wholly commited to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and it is good to note that only have a good report on all the staff you met.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.