We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Extremely friendly and flexible staff makes you feel at home.
Location is nice for those who like to be walking distance from city center as walking is much faster way to get there than car. (Although pedestrians should be very careful as driving culture is grazy.)

Room Tip: I liked to watch city skyline and incredible traffic from my balcony. Those who do not want to hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you found our hotel and its location wonderful. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and it is good to note that only have a good report on all the staff you met.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    204
    126
    22
    16
See reviews for
42
126
54
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Theis is a luxury african themed hotel. My room was on the groud floor and had a garden terrace. The room was nicely styled but a bit dated. Everything wprked thought. The restaurants are good. The service is very good. The hoptel is popular with non residents. Businesstypes lunch and meet there. I will stay again with pleasure.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay with us. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed on and off at the Panafric for five nights between our Safari's.The whole experience was very good. All staff were attentive and ever so eager to help you. Over this 2 week stay period, Benson the ever so happy and helpful head porter and Dennis, new to his role, would welcome our return with name greetings. Panafric was our Nairobi base and we used in house facilities frequently. I must comment on the beds. Best nights sleep we experienced over the entire trip. My wife just loved the beauty treatments offered by Monica in the Beauty Salon - Just the thing after being in the African bush. Breakfast was included in our tariff and offered plenty of choices. In fact the food quality was only surpassed by the service delivered by Wait staff. Same can be said about the Flame Tree Restaurant. Variety of choices, quality food - the Pizzas tasty and around $10. Finally, the security in and around the hotel is so reassuring. Guards on duty 24/7 on each floor. Keep it up Panafric, you offer a great overall accommodation package and we enjoyed or stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and I will personally pass on your kind words to Benson, Dennis and Monica.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed all the in house facilities as well as the wide variety of food.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stay at Sarova every time I am in Nairobi for business. Apart from warm and friendly staff, the hotel has very tight security, it is neat, and their wifi is amazing. Upon arrival, the friendly staff bring you some hot refreshing towels. I know sounds petty, but after a loooong flight that can be oh so heavenly..lol

Room Tip: They might forget to ask you if you need non-smoking. So please make sure they know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you found our hotel wonderful. From the security to the WiFi to even the welcome experience. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and the staff will be happy with the good report of their warmth and friendliness.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sarova Panafric, either side of our wonderful Masai Mara safari. We loved it. Perfect situation, easy to get into Nairobi and to the airports. Nice outlook of trees and gardens not buildings. Lovely colonial feel and the room was very nice and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. and were always interested in what youhad been doing. Why wouldn't you want to stay there.

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floors had nicer views across the trees and not so much traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you found our hotel wonderful. From the prime location to the comfortable rooms as well as the gardens. We are wholly commited to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and it is good to note that only have a good report on all the staff you met.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We recently stayed two nights at the Pan afric. This was our second visit. I had totally forgotten how hard the beds were. I can honestly say we had sore ribs from the hard bed. Apart from that the hotel is ok - not the best but not the worst. Staff are very good. Food is ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on the firmness of the beds. We are happy to provide guests with a bed that suits their comfort level as all guests have differing needs. Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

We hope this initial experience will not deter you from staying with us again.

Warm Regards,


General Manager

Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spent one night in between our safaris and at the end of our safari. Where the foyer and restaurant looked first class. Unfortunately our rooms were a different matter. The rooms we stayed in were outdated with sliding doors not closing properly and bathrooms in desperate need of repair. No screens on bathroom slated glass windows which let in the mozzies. Shower was grotty. Very noisy - coming from the street and guests coming and going. Could hear guests next door. One was actually sick, which was not very pleasant. The staff were friendly and the restaurant food was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Marilyn,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We note your frank and honest feedback on the state of the room that you stayed in. We have reviewed the issues raised and have addressed them to ensure that our customers will enjoy the luxury of Sarova Panafric as they have always done.

Sarova Panafric is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their stay is exceeding and it’s great to note that you found our staff friendly and the food good.

Kindly let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

We hope this initial experience will not deter you from staying with us again.

Warm Regards,


General Manager

Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.