We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Kenyan Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Promotion $167
Ranked #20 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Kenyan Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

From the very 1st Karibu (welcome in kiSwahili) we were made to feel at home with considerate service above my expectation. A welcoming apple&ginger drink, followed by welcoming fruit basket in the room, followed by some sweet treats were all unexpected extras. (this may be due to our conference having 60 delegates stay at the hotel).
Beautiful fresh flowers, changed 3 times in the week I stayed here. Morning papers, radio-alarm-clock, flat screen to catch up news (CNN,BBC,Aljazeera).

We were unfortunately too busy to try out some of the facilities like the pool and spa, but had a quick look and these appeared very nice.

The selection of food at the Flame Tree Restaurant was great and delicious. The freshly squeezed juices, vegetarian pizza, burgers, bar bites, were all delicious.

Service throughout was warm, welcoming and very friendly, although at times 'pole pole' in good Kenyan tradition (slowly slowly). For workaholic westerners hurry-hurry (haraka haraka) is more the style, but the wonderful Sarova-vibe allowed even us to relax within our busy schedules.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and hope to return for both business and family holiday purposes.

Asante sana Sarova Panafric! Córne Carolan - Association of African Business Schools - based in Johannesburg, RSA

Room Tip: Enjoyed my stay in room 526. Lovely view of greenery and sunrise view over the city. Consider req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff excellent and without exception, you found everyone friendly.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.. Next time I hope you get to enjoy the pool and spa.

Asante na Karibu tena,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    197
    123
    21
    16
See reviews for
40
122
52
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Recently we have started traveling to African countries and Sarova Panafrica has become a choice for stay. very good hotel, very friendly staff and location wise everything is near by.

Pro :
would recommend to business travelers. quite impressed that none of staff asked for any kind of tip. always greeted with smile and made things simple.
Cons:
Hotel said they have halal food , but restaurant had pork all over and none of menu had halal certification details , was not convinced ... would recommend Muslim travel to avoid Meat unless they get certified.

Room Tip: all rooms are okay to stay , the up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

It is great that you selected Sarova Panafric. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great.

Your concerns on the Halal certification has been noted with concern and is being looked into and we trust that next time when you join us, we will have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

From the moment I booked to my departure - just stunning. On arrival, a warm welcome from Benson and crew at the check-in desk with Catherine and Linda also really standing out as wonderful hosts.

The room was perfect and Linda and her colleagues kept it spotless throughout. When the TV went on the blip post a second long power cut (backed up by a generator) Benjamin came to sort it perfectly within minutes. The restaurant food was excellent and I was warmly welcomed by Monica and Stacy like a long lost friend - thanks.

Smiles all round from the crew. Alex and Emmanuel stood out at the bar as being caring and attentive. The food was excellent also especially the lamb chops.

The security team are thorough throughout and I felt very secure at the hotel and the road leading it it also has a 24 hour manned double barrier with road spikes. Not that I ever feel threatened but nevertheless it is a comfort for travellers to feel safe - well done

I spoke to various members of staff mostly when passing in the left and they all seem positive, courteous and most importantly proud of the establishment

Well done - you have secured my future business yet again and I hope that I will be back soon

Sante Sana my Rafiki's

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

I am happy that you selected Sarova Panafric as your preferred hotel in Nairobi and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and it’s great to note that you only have a good report on all the staff you encountered.

I will personally pass on your commendation to all the staff that you mentioned and they will be undoubtedly happy to hear your very kind words

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for two nights in January 2014 encounter to climbing Kilimanjaro.

Much better than the "budget" hotel booked by our agent. Excellent room with everything one would expect in a four star hotel.

Dinner at Flametree was outstanding. Great choice of food and great red wines. Check wines prices though as I miscalculated the exchange rate and paid $100 more than I expected. Staff are excellent.

I was in Nairobi in May 14 but staying up the road. Went there for two dinners and spent a day at Flametree on Ma 1 Public Holiday to do some work. Best WiFi in Africa.

Nothing but praise and it will be my choice of hotels when in Nairobi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Eddie,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our hotel wonderful and that we are now your choice of hotel! I'm elated to read that you found the food wine list exceptional. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were welcomed to the hotel with many smiles. The staff are extremely friendly. Unfortunately had issues with our online booking however the manager Patrick rectified the situation - thanks Patrick.
Room was pleasant with a balcony and a view looking back into the city. Beds weren't to our liking being very hard but everyone has different tastes, this may suit you. The shower was awesome! House keeping also clean.
Resturant; good selection of food and drinks including cocktails. Bar menu/snacks also if you don't want a big meal.
Taxis readily available, negotiate price before starting.
Surroundings; can walk into the city with generally no hassles. Keep your personal items close to you.
Found there wasnt much variety of food places so we ate both nights at the hotel.
Hotel is located near main road and can be noisy but if you keep the balcony door closed its not too bad!
Overall we recommend the Sarova

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Kylie,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! I'm elated to read that you found the food and wine list exceptional. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to make your stay with us great.

We look forward to hosting you again and please let me know when you'll be coming back to visit.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great experience. Right next to the road yet very quiet. Very friendly staff and room standards were high compared to the last time I was there. It is evident they are working hard to raise the standards of the hotel. The food had a good variety. Well done Sarova!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days in April 2014. The room was excellent, the restaurant had a good ambience and the food was very good. Friendly & hospitable staff. Good location with hardly any noise despite the busy Valley Road. Great atmosphere, comfortable accommodation!

Room Tip: Try Room 401, value for your money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff excellent and without exception, you found everyone welcoming.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.