We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Two Nights in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Excellent Two Nights in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for two nights in January 2014 encounter to climbing Kilimanjaro.

Much better than the "budget" hotel booked by our agent. Excellent room with everything one would expect in a four star hotel.

Dinner at Flametree was outstanding. Great choice of food and great red wines. Check wines prices though as I miscalculated the exchange rate and paid $100 more than I expected. Staff are excellent.

I was in Nairobi in May 14 but staying up the road. Went there for two dinners and spent a day at Flametree on Ma 1 Public Holiday to do some work. Best WiFi in Africa.

Nothing but praise and it will be my choice of hotels when in Nairobi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Eddie,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our hotel wonderful and that we are now your choice of hotel! I'm elated to read that you found the food wine list exceptional. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    228
    133
    22
    17
See reviews for
51
132
60
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were welcomed to the hotel with many smiles. The staff are extremely friendly. Unfortunately had issues with our online booking however the manager Patrick rectified the situation - thanks Patrick.
Room was pleasant with a balcony and a view looking back into the city. Beds weren't to our liking being very hard but everyone has different tastes, this may suit you. The shower was awesome! House keeping also clean.
Resturant; good selection of food and drinks including cocktails. Bar menu/snacks also if you don't want a big meal.
Taxis readily available, negotiate price before starting.
Surroundings; can walk into the city with generally no hassles. Keep your personal items close to you.
Found there wasnt much variety of food places so we ate both nights at the hotel.
Hotel is located near main road and can be noisy but if you keep the balcony door closed its not too bad!
Overall we recommend the Sarova

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Kylie,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! I'm elated to read that you found the food and wine list exceptional. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to make your stay with us great.

We look forward to hosting you again and please let me know when you'll be coming back to visit.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great experience. Right next to the road yet very quiet. Very friendly staff and room standards were high compared to the last time I was there. It is evident they are working hard to raise the standards of the hotel. The food had a good variety. Well done Sarova!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days in April 2014. The room was excellent, the restaurant had a good ambience and the food was very good. Friendly & hospitable staff. Good location with hardly any noise despite the busy Valley Road. Great atmosphere, comfortable accommodation!

Room Tip: Try Room 401, value for your money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff excellent and without exception, you found everyone welcoming.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I chose the Hotel for a conference for our organisation that is based in Brussels.
The airport reception blew them off, thy really appreciated the welcome with a refreshing towel and cool water, and the good transfer cars.
For the first time in 4 years there were no complaints
The Hotel is very clean and great. The staff are very friendly and efficient.
Any issues we had during the conference sorted swiftly.
The food is great, I really loved the fruit smoothies and fresh juices... plus there is a great choice at the flame tree restaurant.
It is also near the CBD so most of the participants could walk there in the evenings and back before dusk.
In all we had a great stay, I bet my name on them and I was not let down.. I am happy!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear, Ati

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

I am happy that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our hotel wonderful! I'm elated to read that the airport receptions was appreciated by you and your team.

Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. I will pass on your warm words to them personally. We definitely look forward to hosting you again and please do let me know when you'll be coming back to visit.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Nice room, if a little dated. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar had a good ambience and the food was very good. There was a live singer and band one night. The breakfast was good quality and varied. The location was good: near, but not in, the downtown business district. No noise problem, despite the busy main road outside. Easy transfer to and from the airport, as well as the UN complex, though the traffic can be a nightmare. I would recommend it for the price.

Room Tip: Higher the better, I guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and entertainment . Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. We definitely look forward to hosting you again and please do let me know when you'll be coming back to visit.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Sarova Panafric is a hotel that is easy fir your pocket. Average in most but comfortable and accommodating in many respects. Its mostly used for conferences and workshops therefore brace yourself for crowded meals at the pool side, The flame tree, though is fairly good especially in the evenings. It's close to the CBD but a walk there is not very advisable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Kim,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am glad that you had a chance to dine at our flagship Flame Tree restaurant, which is usually where guests are seated if the pool bar restaurant is crowded.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.