We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Very Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Service and Very Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at the Sarova Panafric recently. While this is an older hotel, the room was just perfect for my needs. I liked the way the hotel group goes to great pains to ensure all the creature comforts are available to their guests. The breakfast is amazing and very fresh and tasty. Superb service from all the staff in the restaurant - well done.
The reception staff were exceedinly well trained. They are very responsive to all the needs and wants of their guests and extremely patient when dealing with tired, jet lagged, grumpy guests in all the odd hours of the day and night - speaking for myself here. Collins was always very patient with all my questions.
Now you have the other staff - porters and door man - this was another Collins who is a giant of a man but again with superb customer service skills. I did not feel like leaving.
Overall a very good visit to the Sarova Panafric and looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Jerry,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

I am happy that you selected Sarova Panafric as your preferred hotel in Nairobi and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure that their stay is enjoyable and it’s great to note that you only have a good report on all the staff you encountered. I will personally pass on your commendation to the entire team and to both the Collins’.

We look forward to hosting you again
Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    250
    141
    23
    18
See reviews for
55
137
67
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just finished up 4 nights at the Panafric. My wife was sick and we traveled from another country to go to the hospital for several days in a row. 15 min walk/5 min cab ride. Room was well appointed, albeit tight on space. The low point was that the bed and pillows are ridiculously firm. On the plus side, all of the staff is exceedingly nice and eager to please. They even had a get well fruit basket put in the room for us when they learned why we were in Nairobi. The pool was large and clean and not too cold. The restaurant had a great menu, plus some solid meat dishes (pork chops were awesome). Gained several pounds from the breakfast buffet itself. Thumbs up, but bring your own pillow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric.

I am glad that you selected Sarova Panafric as your preferred hotel in Nairobi and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sarova Panafric is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their stay is exceeding and it’s great to note that you found our associates extremely nice and eager to please . I have passed on your commendation to them.

We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on your room experience. Guest comfort is at the top of our agenda and this cannot be compromised. We are happy to change the pillows as per a guests request and once again, please accept my apologies for the same. Kindly let me know the next time you’re in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

i dined, slumbered, and spad! all was wow! nothing less! keep up the good work and ambiance, the serenity mimicries the one of mara national park, birds noise only! congratulations team...see you again soon! Siele

Room Tip: pool facing are preferable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that we provided a great place for you to dine, slumber, and spad! As it should be. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel has beautiful landscape and outdoors. And clean, It is convenient in its proximity to the busy Nairobi CBD yet once you get in the chaos of this very busy town is forgotten.
But what stuck for me was the pleasant people who served and helped while I was staying there, it is true what they say you may not remember what people say or do but you forever remember how they made you feel.............and for the team at Sarova Panafric they made me feel at home away from home in the 5 months I spent there and I am forever grateful to all of them. For the kind words,the great service, the smiles and the nice chats that made me feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Vickie,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our hotel landscape beautiful, clean and conveniently located. I'm also excited to note that you found our staff very accommodating and that they made you feel at home away from home. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

hotel is a bit aged, so is furniture. other than that i though it was a great hotel.
staff very accommodating and helpful we were met at the airport on arrival and they managed all land transfer, all punctual and good. flame tree restaurant is great good food and great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our staff very accommodating and helpful and the restaurant great with good food and great service. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, room was large and bed was comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean.
We loved it here and would be back in a heart beat, brilliant views of the city through the huge windows. Really well placed a 5 minute walk into the heart of Nairobi and the staff were always happy to give you directions or help you find the right matatu.
Breakfast was amazing huge buffet with something different on offer every morning, and the chef making the omelettes was always happy to have a chat

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Beth,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast selection amazing. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau Province, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed there on a business trip not to bad no gym and the pool was so cold the penguins got out!

The staff was friendly and the food great, breakfast was a treat nice and fresh and well presented.

The room was OK clean and big enough.

Handy for the Central Park for nice walks

Room Tip: Facing the pool is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our staff friendly and food great particularly the breakfast selection. Our friendly and helpful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 131 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#29 of 131 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.