We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice cozy Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for just a night, but it was a very cozy hotel. Not small and cozy... it is a big multi storey building a bit out of the city centre, but the rooms are very warm and cozy. Our room overlooked the road & to enjoy nairobi's crisp weather, I truly appreciated the big balconies the room had. On the right is a view of the city and on the left a view of the green hills. Room & bath were very clean with all the basic amenities. The breakfast spread was elaborate and would match that of any 5 star hotel. Service right from check in to check out was top notch. Would have surely given a full 5 had I stayed here for longer and they had given the same service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Akshay,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found your stay with us nice and cozy. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and the Sarova Panafric online community.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    241
    136
    23
    18
See reviews for
52
135
67
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed at Panafrica during 5 nigths in december. The hotel staff is very service minded and friendly. The room was located on the 5th floor with a big balcony, very clean and spacious! Free WiFi in the entire hotel even by the pool side. The breakfast buffet is great with lots of things to choose to eat. Had most of the dinners at the hotel, well cooked tasty dishes, very european menu but no Kenyan specialties. I will definitely stay at the Panafrica again when visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found us to be a great hotel in Nairobi. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and the Sarova Panafric online community.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel was nice, great view, staff was great always ready to help, the buffet for breakfast was amazing, there was everything there, It was set up like you were at a wedding, I had a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Juliette,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you had a great experience while staying with us and enjoyed the breakfast. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and the Sarova Panafric online community.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Booked through Kayak and, because of the rate, was expecting a run-down hotel with shoddy service. Quite the opposite. Some of the rooms need an update (but I quite like the retro feel) but I had an excellent stay and will stay again when passing through Nairobi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Luke,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you had an excellent stay with us. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and the Sarova Panafric online community.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed one night in DEcember prior to my Massai Mara safari. Already the first steps were welcoming and people were very nice and helpful. Rooms are really nice and clean, comfortable bed. The breakfast next morning was amazing and lots of choice. Since I new that I would return after my safari for a day-stop-over, I asked to leave some luggage in the hotel for a few days and it was not a problem at all. Returning after my safari I arrived early afternoon in the hotel and my flight was in the late evening. I asked to use the pool and when asking for a shower, they even offered me a room for short time to have shower and ready for my journey back home to Germany. After getting fresh, I had a manicure in the Spa, which was wonderful as well. Sheilla there did a great job and took her time without hurry!
A good hotel to relax and enjoy within a busy city!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Sara,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found us to be a great hotel in Nairobi. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and the Sarova Panafric online community.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Rooms need serious updating but staff make up for it .
Good food and facilities. Nice place for meetings as well.
Words words cxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxcxxccvbvbvvbvvvvv high Hcbs g h g h g g v h b. Be. B b b b BBC. H b h b h h bb bbbbhv b. Bbbbhv hvbb b. JHB BBC gvggg hvbb hbbbb hmmm hbbbb hvbb jbbbb jhbb bbbb jjjjb

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found us to be a great hotel in Nairobi. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and the Sarova Panafric online community.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was so grateful to relax at the Sarova Panafric after my long flight from the U.S. The service was impeccable, the room and bed were very comfortable, and I enjoyed a nice conversation with other guests at the bar by the pool. The breakfast in the morning was surprisingly beautiful and tasty! It was a great first stop in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room off of Kenyatta Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great to read that we provided a relaxed and pleasant stay for you. Our staff strives to provide impeccable service and making your stay with us great. The chef and his team are also elated to note that you enjoyed the tasty and beautiful breakfast and are most certainly looking forward to serving you up with the same and even better once your back.

Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and the Sarova Panafric online community.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.