We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed there at the beginning of our safari and at the end. It was fine for a short stay, nothing spectacular but more than adequate for staying pre and post safari. Given the prices of hotels in NBO, it is a "reasonable" value. Some rooms are bigger than others. There is no air conditioning at the hotel. They offered a fan. It was sort of "chilly" when we were there and didn't need the fan; however, I don't know how happy I would be with no AC if staying there during the hot season).

Service was good.

The food in the restaurant that we ate at ( main floor) was fine.Breakfast was NOT good and had a minimal selection of food choices.
Of note, there was a huge cockroach on the bar ( attached to restaurant) that we found, but, I think that can happen anywhere. Never saw one in the rooms though.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — roach in the bar area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    203
    126
    22
    16
See reviews for
42
126
53
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

we stayed there for a night before leaving for our safari
it was a good experience, the restaurant has an interesting menu and there was live music
the pool and the garden are quite pretty and the staff efficient and cheerful
breakfast was more than adequate catering to every taste

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This is a very modest hotel, with service being its saving grace. Like most hotels in Kenya, you can expect good security from the moment you enter the gates, with security guards present on every floor of the hotel as well. The lobby is quite small, but sufficient, with a small waiting area. The hotel is quite old in its appearance, with not too much character about it. This is not to say that it is not clean. The public areas are well maintained.

The rooms are the size you would expect a standard room to be. You even get a tiny balcony, but unfortunately not much of a view given the hotel’s location. The bathroom is adequate in size and reasonably clean. The toilet flushes only when you hold the handle down for the duration of the flush, otherwise you can expect a little present waiting for you the next morning. Decent Sarova branded toiletries are at your disposal and complimentary water bottles as well. The best part about my room was that this hotel recognises what a real king size bed is, rather than pushing two singles together. This made for a very comfortable sleep on my soft plush pillows. The only thing worth noting that was missing was an in-room safe. Instead, they recommend you use their safe deposit at reception for a fee.

The hotel facilities are quite basic. You have a restaurant and a bar. No gym facilities, but it does have a pool. A business centre is available if you wish to use their internet. They also offer wi-fi for a fee.

I only had breakfast at the hotel, so I can’t comment on the other meals they serve. Breakfast was a buffet with a spread you can be content with. They serve continental options, fruit and hot meal options such as bacon, sausages, baked beans and some African dishes.

The most outstanding aspect of this hotel is the service. As my experience with Kenyan hotels in general, all the staff are capable of offering good old-fashioned service. They smile whenever they talk to you, they go out of their way to help you and you are always greeted by them whenever you cross paths. Even more impressive is that you porter will always remember you and make his way to come up to you to make sure everything is ok (all without expecting a tip). Now that’s genuine care for your customer.

Overall, the hotel is decent for a short stay. Its location is ok, if you’re not expecting to wander around the city centre. But it’s a short 5 minute cab ride into town. It may not be flash or impressive, but it does cover all the basics. And the staff will be sure to make you feel at home.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The location was not the best for exploring Nairobi
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We ended up at the Panafric after a canceled flight.
The hotel offers affordable (although not cheap) rooms in a very quiet and almost scenic part of Nairobi. Only a short distance from downtown.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I had never been treated so nicely but then arrived to my room and was unable to rest because of a very uncomfortable beds and no air circulation in the rooms...

I would recommend to use this if its the last option of one night in Nairobi. If they change some of the room accomodations I would return in a heartbeat, because the people there are amazing. Everyone was incredible.

Ricardo

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

We only stayed at the hotel for an evening and a bit of sleep, prior to flying back to the UK in the morning. However, we found the hotel, having been described to us as budget, was very nice, with friendly staff, a complimentary bottle of wine as they'd found out we were on our honeymoon, and a great restaurant with BBQ to feed an army!!!
Overall, this hotel exceeded our expectations, and for people in a budget it is an ideal option.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Great staff, especially Joseph the driver that picked us up from the Airports and Askari the guard.
Hortencia in the restaurant is a an excellent hostess.
The hotel is clost to being refurbished, despite this we had a comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Conveneient for oour purpose
  • Disliked — needs an upgrade
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.