We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Rijsbergen, Ne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Although a bit worn out still one of the ' best value for money' in Nairobi and easily accessible! Ample free parking and a good and well serviced restaurant. No time to check the pool! Ask a back side room because of Nairobi traffic noise starting early morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Tom,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am elated to read that you find it 'Best Value for Money'. Our friendly staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    251
    141
    23
    18
See reviews for
55
137
67
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here 27th July with my 3 kids in two rooms...and they were good value by Nairobi standards (about £170 total). The pool is pretty big and a great refreshing way to finish off a week's travelling around the Rift valley. We wanted to relax for a night before flying off to Zanzibar, and this was a good choice. The staff were dead friendly, mighty cheerful security staff on each floor (even if they all seem to support Man U) we had a good chow-up in the restaurant, and a big breakfast the next day. As we had a bit of time to kill before the afternoon flight, we walked into town through Uhuru park, which was full of families and church goers (it was indeed a Sunday...), and went into the market near the Law Courts. You'd be best advised to get a good idea of what things cost before you go there, as the start price for those lads is about 10* what is fair ! But hey...a spot of bartering is fine for all. I left a bag here to pick up a week later, and the chaps were fine with that...very helpful.
Watch out for the 'we can help you get a taxi' malarky..sure they can, and charge one time big prices...$60 USD to get to the airport...however, if I had been a bit more awake I could easily have dealt with that on our Sunday walk by getting some chap in town to come and pick us up to get to the airport...for about 1/2 that, methinks. Ah well...it was a good stay, and I'd recommend the hotel. We stayed in 3 (this one, Ole Sereni and Sarova Stanley...and this one came a near second (after the Stanley).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found the staff dead friendly, mighty cheerful. Our friendly staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. I'm excited to read that you enjoyed our prime location, rooms as well as the breakfast selection offered at the Flame Tree Restaurant. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

It's a great hotel with friendly people. I would recommend going here for your stay in Nairobi. The rooms are clean, however the bathroom looks dated but the shower is great! The meals are fine, don't expect michelin star food. You feel safe as there is enough security.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you appreciated the personalized touch in our service. Our friendly staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We used this hotel as a base before and after embarking on our Safari, rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, maybe a little dated but that did not really bother us too much, TV didn't work but we only attempted to try to use it on our last day there so didn't miss it much.
Showers were efficient and clean, our room faced the main road so was a little noisy and having to keep balcony doors shut meant the room got a bit stuffy at night although there was air con available.
Wi Fi wasn't very good, didn't work at all in room and only had limited signal downstairs in the reception area, again as we were on holiday we didn't need it so was OK for us.
Pool area was very pleasant, pool again a little dated but clean and useable, Hotel also holds other functions here so certain areas at certain times seem to be unavailable to rest of guests, a little annoying if you fancy a swim in the pool on a Saturday and there is a function on.

Food was very good in both the pool restaurant and the flame tree restaurant, pool food is slightly cheaper and more basic, a 3 course meal with a couple of cokes will cost you around £30 to £40 per head in the flame tree but the food is very good.
Beefburgers and sandwiches are excellent in both.

Breakfast is buffet style and most nationalities are catered for with a wide variety of choice, only one tiny negative here was that when we arrived later for breakfast one morning, the milk for the cereals was quite warm as it appeared to have been standing out for an hour or two.

House keeping in rooms good, towels changed regularily, overall service was very good, all staff are very pleasant, obliging and seem on the ball, security is good and place felt very safe.

Ideal place to start and end a safari, not too far from the airport, also seemed a popular place for business trips, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main road are fairly noisy, the use of car horns can be very consistent especially dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Lassie,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you appreciated our services. Our friendly staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. I'm excited to read that you enjoyed our prime location, rooms as well as the breakfast selection offered at the Flame Tree Restaurant. We do take guest feedback seriously and have noted your comments on the WIFI signals. We do understand the importance of technology in the current world and we have therefore taken steps ahead in improving the system so as to ensure higher broadband speeds and therefore provide efficiency to our guests accessing it. I’m certain the next time you visit, you’ll have no problem with the broadband connectivity & speeds. We have very stringent housekeeping procedures in terms of thorough inspection of rooms by the Executive Housekeeper and Supervisors. Accept my sincere apologies about the TV malfunctioning. This is definitely not in line with our brand standards and be assured that I have personally taken corrective action to rectify the situation and ensure it doesn't occur again. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second stay at the Panafric Hotel. It is lovely and welcoming! The lobby is beautifully decorated in a lightly but not overdone ethnic style. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. We arrived at 10:30 pm, and were very hungry. The restaurant was closed, but they reopened for our group. The food is the best I've had while in Africa...completely up to Western standards. Breakfast is especially fabulous.
My room was clean and very nice. The bathroom was wonderful, even by American standards. The bed is extremely comfortable and there is a large nice TV. It is interesting to watch the African business channel. The WiFi works well.
The hotel is very safe. There are guards at the entrance gate. I had to pass through a key card entrance to get to my room so I felt very secure as a woman in a room alone.
FYI...when I was at the Panafric last year, my room was just down an open corridor and the bathroom was older and not as nice. I don't know if the hotel is being renovated or if I lucked out and got a better room this year, but you should definitely ask about the rooms behind the key card doors.
A tiny complaint...when we arrived, the lobby was quite crowded so we did not get the hot towels and fresh juice. After a 10 hour flight we missed that!

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a room behind the glass front key card entry doors! More secure and newer bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Der Suzy,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found the staff very welcoming and helpful and the hotel lovely. Our friendly staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. I'm also excited to read that you enjoyed our clean and very nice rooms & wonderful bathrooms and got to indulge in the Business TV Channel. With our vast TV channel selection, we like to keep the guests up to speed with the happenings of the region & international arena while staying with us. Our flagship restaurant has top quality food and we're elated to note that you found our food up to the Western standards and enjoyed fabulous breakfast selection. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came late and during a chaotic time as the airport had just burned up. The Panafric was like a place of refuge. The staff was wonderful. The restaurant stayed open late and the food was excellent. The rooms were quite nice. We didn't stay long enough to experience all the amenities, but what we saw worked well for us. We had to meet people and conduct some business in the morning. The restaurant was very accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Roy,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you foudn our staff wonderful. Our friendly staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. I'm excited to read that you enjoyed our excellent food offered at the Flame Tree Restaurant. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Panafric was the starting place of our safari in Kenya. Relatively near the Airport, so no lenghty travels necessary after you arrive in Nairobi.

A nice entrance, friendly staff on reception. You get a welcomedrink and some wet towels to clean up. Checkin process was efficient

The rooms are simple but clean. A balcony is available if you prefer.

The restaurant is quite good, plenty of choices. Idem for breakfast.

Would definitely recommend to start your trip here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you appreciated the personalized touch in our service. Our friendly staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. I'm excited to read that you enjoyed our prime location, rooms as well as the breakfast selection offered at the Flame Tree Restaurant. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#30 of 133 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.