We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Promotion $167
Ranked #20 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

At around 25-30 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta Airport, the Sarova Panafric is a reasonably well situated hotel, suitable for a 24 hour stay when in transit (like mine), or an extended trip to the city. The cost per night (when booking in advance) is moderately inexpensive and I was welcomed at the door, after a long flight, by an extremely polite concierge who handed me warm face wipes and a cold apple twist.

The staff were friendly and attentive, both at check in and at the bar and the room was exceptionally clean offering free tea/coffee. The menu is considerably varied (although I did not eat in the restaurant the food looked good) and the relaxed bar offers an array of beers, wine and spirits including cold bottles of Tusker. A swimming pool, WiFi and various other mod-cons are available but the attraction of this accommodation is its cleanliness, location and helpful staff.

Airport tip: Remember to go to the taxi desk situated at the right hand side of the main exit after collecting luggage from the carousel. There, a representative should tell you the price of the taxi journey to your hotel and physically walk you to a registered cab. Nairobi airport can be edgy at night but being mugged or ripped off can be completely avoided by following this process, as I had a thoroughly pleasant experience befriending “Danson”, my trusted Kenyan taxi driver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you appreciated the personalized touch in our service. Our friendly and attentive staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. I'm excited to read that you enjoyed our prime location, the meal selection offered at the Flame Tree Restaurant as well as our relaxed bar. It is great that you had a thoroughly pleasant experience and we're happy you enjoyed the experience. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    189
    118
    20
    16
See reviews for
39
118
50
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Once you enter the Sarova Panafric Hotel, you get the sense like you are the only guest in the hotel because you are pampered by first being offered a glass of fresh juice as you check in! Once you open the room door, you are ushered into a well lit, well decorated room with beautiful wall hangings and an equally well made bed! The bedding are clean, the bathroom is executive looking and the shower curtain lacks the mold at the bottom that is a characteristic of most hotels. Everything seems new, from the towels, the sleeping gown, the cozy slippers and if not new, then well maintained. There at your disposal is the iron box, and a hot water kettle with an assortment of coffee and tea bags for those who fancy a night cup, and for the cold night, there is an air conditioner which you can set to the desired temperature. The restaurant has a vast menu which ranges from the good old fashioned steak to seafood. The staff are very friendly and warm and eager to assist in any way. Room service is 24hr and the security is impeccable, as there is a guard on every floor! If you are looking for a place to unwind and hide from the world, then The Sarova Panafric is the place to go! We found nothing there that was out of place and when we went down for breakfast, we found "a feast meant for Kings" in the breakfast buffet! One just has to try it out to get the full experience! Here, Sarova have outdone themselves!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you appreciated the personalized touch in our service. Our wonderful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. I'm excited to read that you enjoyed your room experience, and the meal selection offered at the Flame Tree Restaurant. We have passed on your feedback to the entire team and the chef especially is excited that you found our breakfast "a feast meant for Kings". Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Sarova Panafric the night before our safari and the night we returned. It was a nice touch that the staff at reception recognised us and welcomed us back from our safari. Our first night we stayed in the 'budget' part of the hotel which was a little worn and old - with no apparent lock on the balcony door. Our second night was in an executive suite which was much nicer and more comfortable. The restaurant has great food and wine (watch out because the wine is fairly pricey) and really friendly service. The hotel is about 20 mins away from the airport and about half that time into the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Cass & Paul,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you appreciated the personalized touch in our service. Our wonderful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, making your stay with us great. I'm excited to read that you enjoyed our prime location, and the meal selection offered at the Flame Tree Restaurant. We have noted your feedback on the rooms and these are projected to be renovated in the next phase. It is however great that you got to experience our new executive suite and we're happy you enjoyed the experience. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have visited Nairobi many times for work, but not stayed at the Panafric before. I stayed a week, and I was very pleasantly surprised. For such a big hotel in a major city, I found it very friendly and the staff warm and helpful, and responsive whenever I needed anything: food and drink, transport, help with the internet. The quality of the food was very good, and the setting is great: near the centre but far enough out to have a relaxed feel. Overall, a very warm, relaxed and well-resourced hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Dave,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our staff friendly, warm, helpful and responsive, as it should be. Our wonderful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. I'm excited to read that you enjoyed our prime location, and found Sarova Panafric to be warm, relaxed and well-resourced. Its great you were pleasantly surprised! Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is my second time here and I really enjoyed it this time as I was here to chill out prior to safari. I had the most amazingly wonderful massage at Tulia Wellness within the hotel. Highly recommended. Staff here are very good, attentive without being over the top. Food is superb in the Flame Tree in hotel Restaurant. The weather was cold (August) with some rain, but it was hot when I was here in January.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found our staff good and attentive and had the chance to enjoy an amazingly wonderful massage at our Tulia Spa. Our wonderful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. The Flame Tree Restaurant team are also elated to note that you found the food superb! We have passed on your commendation to our associates. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed this hotel in Feb 2012. I visited the city for business.

Its a nice hotel with clean room and friendly staff.

Staff was pleasant and nice to talk to. I stayed for more than a week and enjoyed my stay there.

Breakfast was good and fresh.

Nice stay over all and will visit again

Room Tip: Travelers can ask for room with bathtub overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Vicky,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that you found the hotel clean, breakfast good & fresh and our staff friendly and pleasant. Our wonderful staff strive to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and making your stay with us great. We have passed on your commendation to our associates. Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening by following us on Twitter @sarovapanafric and share your positive Sarova Panafric experiences with the rest of the world.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here in transit recently (late arrival, early departure) and were pleasantly surprised by the good night's sleep on the comfy and clean bed.

However this was let down by the fact that the front desk somehow forgot about us and our simple requests. Our luggage was lost by the airline, so we asked whether it would be possible to have a toothbrush. "We'll send one up right away", the gentleman said.
45 mins later it was past 11pm and we were still waiting - but it finally came after another reminder call to the front desk.

Due to our early departure we'd also requested a breakfast box, which the same gentleman said would be no problem, and would be ready when we left. It wasn't, and we spent another 20mins in the morning chasing reception and restaurant staff and it became unnecessarily complicated and we were running late.
We saw that another breakfast box was prepared for someone else and was already on the reception counter - so we'd been missed.

We're not demanding travellers, but we just like it when someone at a hotel agrees to do something "no problem" and it doesn't happen.

We also found that the shiny reception area was quite at odds with the room and building that our room was located in - it felt like it was in an apartment complex at the rear of the hotel.

On the plus side, the in-house transfer drivers were very courteous and welcoming - probably the highlight of our stay! But at approx $50 one way for a 15-20min trip you would expect a certain level of quality, and that was a discounted rate.

We'd stay again and recommend others to do the same - but just hope that our experience is not repeated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Brett,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our associates very efficient and welcoming. It's great that you selected Sarova Panafric and I am glad to read that we made your stay comfortable. Sarova Panafric is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their stay is exceeding. We do take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your experience in getting your requests. I am sad to hear about these two incidents and how it was handled. I greatly apologies for this inconvenience. We have stringent standards that are applied and well known by my team members. Please note that I have personally taken this up and put in place corrective measures to avoid such situations recurring.

We hope you can trust our sincerity, and we thank you again for sharing this feedback with us as it has prompted us to be more diligent than ever.

Thank you for the recommendation and we definitely look forward to having you back. Please do let me know when you plan on getting back.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.