We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Middle Class City Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Promotion $167
Ranked #20 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Nyeri, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Middle Class City Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Over the last 10 years I probably stayed at least once a year in The Panafric and it was a sometimes a mixed experience but the last 3 years they have done a lot of renovations, new bathrooms, nee reception, very good conference and meeting facilities etc. This time I stayed just for 1 night on a business trip and I noticed that since my visit last year they improved the handling in the reception and everything including the credit card processing went very quick and smooth. The rooms are just fine, quite big good bed , good shower with lots of hot water and a new and pleasant surprise was the free WiFi and although some people complain a bit about the noise, I had a room on the 5th floor and love the view of the Nairobi Central business district . What I find very important in a hotel is the breakfast and the buffet in Panafric is simply excellent. The cooks prepare for you any type of eggs and omelettes, there is plenty of choice of fresh juices, Mango, Passion, Pineapple , Orange etc lots of hot food dishes, tomatoes, vegetables several variations of hot potatoes, indian curries etc, but also nice croissants, fruits muesli . The location is also very nice, the hotel has a good feeling, Friendly and professional staff and because of the meeting facilities they have a lot of conferences and if you keep your eyes open you will always see one or more politicians or other local celebrities around. The Panafric is simply one of the better places to stay in Nairobi especially if your not ready to pay for a 5* hotel but still want to stay in a hotel that gives you a big city feeling

Room Tip: My Advise : ask for a hotel on the front side on one of the top floors 4 and up and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Eugene,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional friendly and professional customer service, great room and conferencing facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi and excellent breakfast spread. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    197
    121
    21
    16
See reviews for
40
121
51
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a really pleasant stay at Sarova Panafric in Nairobi. I was there for work, and not for pleasure. It didn't strike me as somewhere I would want to go on holiday - but the hotel was very clean, and the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. I imagine it would work well as a base to travel to other parts of Nairobi.
Our conference venue was also well equipped and the staff were efficient and helpful, although we were downgraded into a smaller venue which was not ideal.
I was especially impressed with the connectivity and the staff at the Business Centre.
The only downside was how expensive the restaurant was and how much noise from the kitchens travelled up to the rooms, seemingly all night!
My porter Kevin was especially awesome and helpful! I would have had a disaster on my hands, as I had no adaptor to fit the plug - and he sorted out a new room for me that had the right plus, so I was really grateful!

Room Tip: I would say that staying on a higher floor might be a good idea, to avoid the noise from the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Hayley,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great and we're happy to hear Kevin was of great help. Thank you for your feedback on the noise from the kitchen. We greatly apologize for that and I have personally taken up the issue in order to ensure it doesn't recur. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I came from South Sudan. Yet I had been to many other cities in Asia and Europe before that.
The management is so good in following to the procedures for security, e.g. no place is unattended without specially appointed sentry, entrance security check is serious, not a show.
Mess Hall service is prompt and timely and friendly. When I ask for any help, they are very attentive and helpful. RM 427

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide friendly, warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your feedback on the security. We strive to provide top security measures to ensure our guests' stay is flawless. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beeing norwegian, the first thing that stroke me at Sarova was how many people who worked there to provide good service for the guests. The hotel`s location is nice and central. The security at the hotel seemed good, yet the guard were friendly and didn`t appear scary at all to the guests. When we arrived we were lucky to get upgraded to a junior suite, due to a mix up in the booking. The suite was nice and big, well decorated and seemed clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your feedback on the security. We do take our guest safety very seriously and always strive to provide a safe haven through continuous security developments. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krk, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on two single nights, before and after visiting the Masai Mara. We were absolutely satisfied with this hotel as a city hotel between excoursions. The rooms were clean, the staff was allover friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was extraordinary. We would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Panafric at Nairobi earlier this month. We stayed in a standard room which had a huge balcony, even if it faced a busy road, but it gave the room a lot of space. The wifi was free so that was a huge boon as one could work freely without worrying about charges. As we were traveling with our 10 month old son they had provided a baby cot which was a plus. The room was modern and had the usual fitments including a safe. The ensuite facilities were neat and clean. The hot water in the Nairobi cold was rejuvenating! We had no problem anywhere, anytime. The staff, incl the security officer on each floor, were extremely polite and helpful. The hotel was buzzing with guests and functions, and yet there was no issue with service at any time. The hotel is exceptionally child friendly, so if you have kids this is one place they are very well cared for! The meals at the Flame Tree restaurant, especially the breakfast, was always good, and the staff were always at hand to make you feel at home. We stayed for 5 nights and got to know all the staff by their first names and since they were all so good, its not right to single out people. Given Nairobi's traffic jams, the hotel is ideally situated, just off the main highway, and easy to reach from any part of the city. We understand that one set of rooms faces the Israeli consulate and no photography is allowed on that side - luckily we had no issues with photography on our side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try rooms on upper floors in case sound bothers you as there are times when a band could be playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that we were of great assistance and were able to meet your family's needs throughout your stay. This is definitely a top priority for all our guests. Its great to hear that our Flame Tree Restaurant food was amazing as we thrive to offer our guests with unmatched dining experiences. We hope that next time you will get time to enjoy our succulent Ribs & Chops during our Wednesday Jazz Live and steak Fridays to a broader dinning experience..

Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Restaurant service was great and food very good quality, top notch spot in Nairobi and walking distance from ACK lodgings. Generous portions for mains, highly recommend pizza and pasta dishes. Desserts were also top quality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your meal at the Flame Tree Restaurant but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed the pizza, pasta dishes and dessert specifically. Its great to hear that our food is top notch as we thrive to offer our guests with unmatched dining experiences. We hope that next time you will swing by for some succulent Ribs & Chops during our Wednesday Jazz Live.

Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your experience better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.