We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Hilton, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly service, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a really pleasant stay at Sarova Panafric in Nairobi. I was there for work, and not for pleasure. It didn't strike me as somewhere I would want to go on holiday - but the hotel was very clean, and the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. I imagine it would work well as a base to travel to other parts of Nairobi.
Our conference venue was also well equipped and the staff were efficient and helpful, although we were downgraded into a smaller venue which was not ideal.
I was especially impressed with the connectivity and the staff at the Business Centre.
The only downside was how expensive the restaurant was and how much noise from the kitchens travelled up to the rooms, seemingly all night!
My porter Kevin was especially awesome and helpful! I would have had a disaster on my hands, as I had no adaptor to fit the plug - and he sorted out a new room for me that had the right plus, so I was really grateful!

Room Tip: I would say that staying on a higher floor might be a good idea, to avoid the noise from the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Hayley,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great and we're happy to hear Kevin was of great help. Thank you for your feedback on the noise from the kitchen. We greatly apologize for that and I have personally taken up the issue in order to ensure it doesn't recur. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    228
    134
    22
    17
See reviews for
51
132
61
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I came from South Sudan. Yet I had been to many other cities in Asia and Europe before that.
The management is so good in following to the procedures for security, e.g. no place is unattended without specially appointed sentry, entrance security check is serious, not a show.
Mess Hall service is prompt and timely and friendly. When I ask for any help, they are very attentive and helpful. RM 427

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide friendly, warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your feedback on the security. We strive to provide top security measures to ensure our guests' stay is flawless. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beeing norwegian, the first thing that stroke me at Sarova was how many people who worked there to provide good service for the guests. The hotel`s location is nice and central. The security at the hotel seemed good, yet the guard were friendly and didn`t appear scary at all to the guests. When we arrived we were lucky to get upgraded to a junior suite, due to a mix up in the booking. The suite was nice and big, well decorated and seemed clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your feedback on the security. We do take our guest safety very seriously and always strive to provide a safe haven through continuous security developments. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krk, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on two single nights, before and after visiting the Masai Mara. We were absolutely satisfied with this hotel as a city hotel between excoursions. The rooms were clean, the staff was allover friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was extraordinary. We would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Panafric at Nairobi earlier this month. We stayed in a standard room which had a huge balcony, even if it faced a busy road, but it gave the room a lot of space. The wifi was free so that was a huge boon as one could work freely without worrying about charges. As we were traveling with our 10 month old son they had provided a baby cot which was a plus. The room was modern and had the usual fitments including a safe. The ensuite facilities were neat and clean. The hot water in the Nairobi cold was rejuvenating! We had no problem anywhere, anytime. The staff, incl the security officer on each floor, were extremely polite and helpful. The hotel was buzzing with guests and functions, and yet there was no issue with service at any time. The hotel is exceptionally child friendly, so if you have kids this is one place they are very well cared for! The meals at the Flame Tree restaurant, especially the breakfast, was always good, and the staff were always at hand to make you feel at home. We stayed for 5 nights and got to know all the staff by their first names and since they were all so good, its not right to single out people. Given Nairobi's traffic jams, the hotel is ideally situated, just off the main highway, and easy to reach from any part of the city. We understand that one set of rooms faces the Israeli consulate and no photography is allowed on that side - luckily we had no issues with photography on our side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try rooms on upper floors in case sound bothers you as there are times when a band could be playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that we were of great assistance and were able to meet your family's needs throughout your stay. This is definitely a top priority for all our guests. Its great to hear that our Flame Tree Restaurant food was amazing as we thrive to offer our guests with unmatched dining experiences. We hope that next time you will get time to enjoy our succulent Ribs & Chops during our Wednesday Jazz Live and steak Fridays to a broader dinning experience..

Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Restaurant service was great and food very good quality, top notch spot in Nairobi and walking distance from ACK lodgings. Generous portions for mains, highly recommend pizza and pasta dishes. Desserts were also top quality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your meal at the Flame Tree Restaurant but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed the pizza, pasta dishes and dessert specifically. Its great to hear that our food is top notch as we thrive to offer our guests with unmatched dining experiences. We hope that next time you will swing by for some succulent Ribs & Chops during our Wednesday Jazz Live.

Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your experience better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

In view of a business location for meetings, i think Panafric stands out. Very hospitable and great service . I would like to appreciate the conference organisational team led by Mr. Kimondo and Mr. Buluma who work tirelessly to ensure that guests are comfortable and have their items safe.The team is very ready to assist and are very flexible and courteous.

The food provides a variety and the rooms are good but could be better. The hotel also provides a good ambience for guests.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Betut,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that our highly skilled team, Joseph Kimondo and Joseph Buluma, was of great assistance and were able to enhance your conference experience with us. This is definitely a top priority for all our guests. Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.