We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Krk, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on two single nights, before and after visiting the Masai Mara. We were absolutely satisfied with this hotel as a city hotel between excoursions. The rooms were clean, the staff was allover friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was extraordinary. We would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mumbai
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Panafric at Nairobi earlier this month. We stayed in a standard room which had a huge balcony, even if it faced a busy road, but it gave the room a lot of space. The wifi was free so that was a huge boon as one could work freely without worrying about charges. As we were traveling with our 10 month old son they had provided a baby cot which was a plus. The room was modern and had the usual fitments including a safe. The ensuite facilities were neat and clean. The hot water in the Nairobi cold was rejuvenating! We had no problem anywhere, anytime. The staff, incl the security officer on each floor, were extremely polite and helpful. The hotel was buzzing with guests and functions, and yet there was no issue with service at any time. The hotel is exceptionally child friendly, so if you have kids this is one place they are very well cared for! The meals at the Flame Tree restaurant, especially the breakfast, was always good, and the staff were always at hand to make you feel at home. We stayed for 5 nights and got to know all the staff by their first names and since they were all so good, its not right to single out people. Given Nairobi's traffic jams, the hotel is ideally situated, just off the main highway, and easy to reach from any part of the city. We understand that one set of rooms faces the Israeli consulate and no photography is allowed on that side - luckily we had no issues with photography on our side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try rooms on upper floors in case sound bothers you as there are times when a band could be playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that we were of great assistance and were able to meet your family's needs throughout your stay. This is definitely a top priority for all our guests. Its great to hear that our Flame Tree Restaurant food was amazing as we thrive to offer our guests with unmatched dining experiences. We hope that next time you will get time to enjoy our succulent Ribs & Chops during our Wednesday Jazz Live and steak Fridays to a broader dinning experience..

Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Restaurant service was great and food very good quality, top notch spot in Nairobi and walking distance from ACK lodgings. Generous portions for mains, highly recommend pizza and pasta dishes. Desserts were also top quality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJK92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your meal at the Flame Tree Restaurant but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed the pizza, pasta dishes and dessert specifically. Its great to hear that our food is top notch as we thrive to offer our guests with unmatched dining experiences. We hope that next time you will swing by for some succulent Ribs & Chops during our Wednesday Jazz Live.

Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your experience better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

In view of a business location for meetings, i think Panafric stands out. Very hospitable and great service . I would like to appreciate the conference organisational team led by Mr. Kimondo and Mr. Buluma who work tirelessly to ensure that guests are comfortable and have their items safe.The team is very ready to assist and are very flexible and courteous.

The food provides a variety and the rooms are good but could be better. The hotel also provides a good ambience for guests.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Betut,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that our highly skilled team, Joseph Kimondo and Joseph Buluma, was of great assistance and were able to enhance your conference experience with us. This is definitely a top priority for all our guests. Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is situated in a good location down-town Nairobi. I have been here several times but their service and pricing lacks consistency. Room designs are good but don't fall for the drinks in the room because they on a different tab which they don't disclose until you go to check out. Great breakfast arrangement, but we were disappointed by roaches crawling over the food.

Room Tip: Shop around for better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laikipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

Sarova Panafric is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their stay is exceeding. We're sad to hear about your stay with us. Indeed, we encourage our guests to give us feedback so that we’re able to take up corrective action. I am surprised to hear about the roaches in food as we have very stringent food and beverage standards that enable us offer our guests excellent, hygienic meals. Please be assured that I have personally taken corrective action to rectify the situation and ensure it doesn't occur again. Accept my sincere apologies. Please note that every room has a mini bar charge sheet placed right above the mini bar to advice guests on prices of items stocked. This is also mentioned by our Guest Relations Officers to all guests. I'm certain the next time you visit, you will not face the same issue.

I do hope the next time your travels bring you to Nairobi, you will return to Sarova Panafric and be sure to let me know. It’ll be a pleasure to meet with you and for you to enjoy our good facilities, excellent restaurant and amazing staff.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have had 2 excellent nights at the Sarova with no complaints. The room was of a good size and clean, the ground floor restaurant facilities are excellent. A special mention to my room attendant Joseph Muronto who always greeted me with a smile and was curtious at all times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Russell,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that our highly skilled Guest Room Attendant, Joseph, was of great assistance.

Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent only 2 days for business related work, Internet doesn't work properly reset it every 10-15 min. Food is average, I took a corner table for dinner...I am surprised there were cockroaches roaming around. No taste in food. Only breakfast is lil better. Television don't have clear picture...
Its an average hotel, if you want to save money then go for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkhilDwivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Akhil,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It is also notable that you appreciated the breakfast at our flagship restaurant, Flame Tree Restaurant. With the notable ever-changing client needs, we continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels. Thank you for your feedback on the TVs in our entry category rooms, the Superior rooms. Having new plasma TVs in the Superior rooms is no exception and be rest assured that this has been taken into consideration during the next renovation phase.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.2 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#19 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing