We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Great Business Venue'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Promotion $167
Ranked #18 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“'Great Business Venue'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

In view of a business location for meetings, i think Panafric stands out. Very hospitable and great service . I would like to appreciate the conference organisational team led by Mr. Kimondo and Mr. Buluma who work tirelessly to ensure that guests are comfortable and have their items safe.The team is very ready to assist and are very flexible and courteous.

The food provides a variety and the rooms are good but could be better. The hotel also provides a good ambience for guests.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Betut,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that our highly skilled team, Joseph Kimondo and Joseph Buluma, was of great assistance and were able to enhance your conference experience with us. This is definitely a top priority for all our guests. Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    189
    118
    20
    16
See reviews for
39
118
50
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is situated in a good location down-town Nairobi. I have been here several times but their service and pricing lacks consistency. Room designs are good but don't fall for the drinks in the room because they on a different tab which they don't disclose until you go to check out. Great breakfast arrangement, but we were disappointed by roaches crawling over the food.

Room Tip: Shop around for better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

Sarova Panafric is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their stay is exceeding. We're sad to hear about your stay with us. Indeed, we encourage our guests to give us feedback so that we’re able to take up corrective action. I am surprised to hear about the roaches in food as we have very stringent food and beverage standards that enable us offer our guests excellent, hygienic meals. Please be assured that I have personally taken corrective action to rectify the situation and ensure it doesn't occur again. Accept my sincere apologies. Please note that every room has a mini bar charge sheet placed right above the mini bar to advice guests on prices of items stocked. This is also mentioned by our Guest Relations Officers to all guests. I'm certain the next time you visit, you will not face the same issue.

I do hope the next time your travels bring you to Nairobi, you will return to Sarova Panafric and be sure to let me know. It’ll be a pleasure to meet with you and for you to enjoy our good facilities, excellent restaurant and amazing staff.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have had 2 excellent nights at the Sarova with no complaints. The room was of a good size and clean, the ground floor restaurant facilities are excellent. A special mention to my room attendant Joseph Muronto who always greeted me with a smile and was curtious at all times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Russell,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that our highly skilled Guest Room Attendant, Joseph, was of great assistance.

Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent only 2 days for business related work, Internet doesn't work properly reset it every 10-15 min. Food is average, I took a corner table for dinner...I am surprised there were cockroaches roaming around. No taste in food. Only breakfast is lil better. Television don't have clear picture...
Its an average hotel, if you want to save money then go for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Akhil,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It is also notable that you appreciated the breakfast at our flagship restaurant, Flame Tree Restaurant. With the notable ever-changing client needs, we continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels. Thank you for your feedback on the TVs in our entry category rooms, the Superior rooms. Having new plasma TVs in the Superior rooms is no exception and be rest assured that this has been taken into consideration during the next renovation phase.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I spent some time in this hotel for work from October 2012 to January 2013.
The rooms are comfortable. Some of them - I think they are on the executive floor - are newly renovated so they should be recommended.
The personal at the hotel is very very friendly. Sure things are sometimes a little bit slow but this is Africa!
The breakfast buffet is good and the restaurant in general is quite fine.
However the menu is limited so when you stay a while like I did...at the end you eat always the same...
But all in all I felt very good in this hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that you found our newly renovated Executive Rooms comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast at the fine Flame Tree Restaurant. We do take guest feedback seriously and please note that we have noted your feedback on the menu spread and shared with the team. Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening on our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here a while ago now but the service I received during my stay has really stuck in my mind. I was a solo traveller staying at the Panafric for a couple of nights before I went on Safari. I hadn't planned anything for my time in Nairobi because it was the first time I had travelled by myself and I didn't feel comfortable venturing out on my own.
I was rather nervous about my whole trip actually but from the moment I arrived at Panafric I felt right at home everyone was so warm and welcoming. I would like to give a mention to Christopher the porter who looked after me from the moment I arrived he organised a few day trips for me to the giraffe park, elephant orphanage and the museum I was really grateful for this because I would have otherwise spent the time in my room doing nothing.
I would also like to give a special mention to the bar staff who made me some amazing cocktails I am pretty sure I almost had one of everything before I left.
The customer service at this hotel is the best I have experienced in a very long time, whenever I asked for something no matter how big or small the answer from the staff was "no problem". I would easily say staying at the Panafric was the one of the highlights of my trip.
If I had to say something negative about the hotel (which I am finding very hard to do) it would be that it needs a fitness centre but that is all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Joe,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. We are also pleased to note that our highly skilled concierge, Christopher, was of great assistance and was able to arrange for you interesting activities throughout your stay. This is definitely a top priority for all our guests. We're excited that you had a chance to try our mean cocktails! Our trained mixologists just completed an intense training on the same and I'm glad that you got the opportunity to enjoy their polished skills. Next time we hope you'll have time to try out our Steak Fridays, Wednesday Jazz and the Tulia Spa.

We do take guest feedback seriously and please note that we have taken into consideration your feedback on the fitness center. Do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us. You can also join our online Sarova panafric family and get to stay updated on what's happening through our Twitter profile @sarovapanafric.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hedland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is great, the service is good and the locality to CBD is good but they seriously need to have a fitness centre in the hotel or surrounding area. Customer service is excellent as well. Hotel needs a wider range or change restaurant menu as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're excited to note that you enjoyed your stay at Sarova Panafric, and enjoyed everything about the hotel from the excellent services. Most importantly, it’s great to note that you experienced excellent service during your stay. Thank you for your feedback on the fitness center and restaurant's menu. We take guest feedback seriously and please be assured that this has been taken into consideration especially for the next renovation phase. We strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests in order to make your stay with us great.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Please feel free to let me know about your next visit to Sarova Panafric. We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.